We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1020 Ellis Hollow Rd East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
BestWestern.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (139)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 24 in Ithaca
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in Ithaca,NY, the Best Western University Inn is sure to provide a peaceful and comforting home away from home for any traveler. Each Best Western hotel provides free internet access, giving guests the opportunity to check emails and surf the web, all from the comforts of their room or the business center. With cleanliness and value being our top priority, we ensure a restful and productive stay. On top of that, our superior customer service will ensure that we meet all your needs and go beyond your expectations.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
654Reviews7Q+A61Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 195
  • 199
  • 143
  • 66
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
DitaEE wrote a review Apr 2022
Hedgesville, West Virginia33 contributions6 helpful votes
Room was clean and appeared newly renovated. Bedding was sparse, no blankets offered in the closet. Very disappointed in the water temperature, water never got above lukewarm, was unable to use the beautiful soaking tub due to water temperature. Breakfast was average, not a fan of powdered scramble eggs. Staff were friendly and efficient in cleaning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Inn, Sales at Best Western University Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear DitaEE, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Best Western University Inn - Ithaca, NY. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be comfortable, clean and the staff to be friendly. Our staff takes great pride in providing superior service to every guest every time. However, we are disappointed to hear that you did not care for our complimentary breakfast buffet like most of our guests. Our complimentary breakfast buffet includes a make your own waffle station that has assorted toppings to add to your waffle, scrambled eggs, breakfast meat (bacon or sausage), assorted muffins and breads, assorted cereals and oatmeal, fresh fruits, and yogurt. Plus, we serve coffee, tea, three types of juices, whole, 2% and almond milk. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are traveling to our area. Sincerely, The Staff and Management of the Best Western University Inn
Read more
Katherine M wrote a review Jun 2021
Clinton120 contributions54 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed here for three days and were pleasantly surprised from the minute we opened the door. Our room was spotless and more spacious than we expected with a fireplace and comfortable beds. The bathroom was quite large with plenty of hot water and fluffy towels and we each had our own sink. This would be a perfect room for a family or two couples rooming together. This location was on one of the many hills above Cornell University (the university owns the land the hotel is on) and a bit hard to find by gps late at night. The wifi was adequate for our needs and there were plenty of plugs for electronics. Breakfast was a typical BW "to go" bag during the end of covid restrictions in NY. The staff were all very pleasant and professional. The location is a bit isolated from the center of Ithaca but there are a few restaurant choices in the shopping center nearby if you don't want to fight for parking in Ithaca. There was plenty of parking and the hotel was laid out with a few separate banks of rooms. Our bank of rooms was the furthest from the lobby but was very secluded and quiet. This was the largest room we every stayed in without a large price tag. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Inn, Sales at Best Western University Inn
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your recent stay with us at the Best Western University Inn - Ithaca, NY. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes great pride in providing superior service to every guest every time. We hope you will stay with us again.
Read more
Estefania wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York2 contributions
My room was very large, easy access from the parking area, staff was extra nice, accommodating, big window with nice view, clean. Not renovated, 80s style but totally fine. Stephanie was especially nice, thank you will come back yet again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Inn, Sales at Best Western University Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear estefaniab365, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Best Western University Inn - Ithaca, NY. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be comfortable, clean and the staff to be friendly. Our staff takes great pride in providing superior service to every guest every time. We hope you will stay with us again, soon. Sincerely, The Staff and Management of the Best Western University Inn
Read more
lifeisgoodpd wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Upon arrival to check in the lobby smelled like sewer. There was quiet a bit of actively growing mold in the shower and rust on the bottom of the tub. Very dusty and overall not clean. I chose this hotel one it was close to Cornell University and two every other hotel close by wanted 75 to 100 dollars non refundable pet fee. I'm sorry I chose to be cheep. Take my advice and stay someplace else.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Inn, Sales at Best Western University Inn
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear lifeisgoodpd, Thank you for providing us with your distinct perception of the hotel and the service that you received during your stay. It does allow us to take stock in our strengths and identify any perceived weakness. It is unfortunate that the day you arrived we were having plumbing working done to fix a water main break that also effected one of our sewer lines. We did everything that we could to mask the smell but regrettably there is only so much you can do to mask that smell. We strive to provide a clean, friendly, and welcoming environment here at the Best Western University Inn. Our friendly housekeeping staff does a great job at keeping our guestrooms and the hotel, clean and fresh. A majority of our guests have told us that they found our hotel to be clean, comfortable, spacious and in great condition. Our entire team would like to apologize for not meeting those same goals for you and exceeding your expectations. The service you experienced is not typical of the service we provide here. Our guest’s satisfaction is important to us. We hope that you will consider staying with us again and letting us provide the superior service that you expect. Sincerely, The Staff and Management of the Best Western University Inn
Read more
drcarls0n wrote a review Mar 2022
Holliston, Massachusetts1 contribution
While this hotel is not the fanciest, it was a very convenient option for us to stay so we could attend a function at Cornell University. We were also able to request a pet friendly room so our dog could stay with us. In my opinion this made the Best Western a great value for the price. It was quiet and the staff were very polite. The hotel breakfast was fully stocked and kept clean. The hotel is also right next to a plaza with everything you might need (grocery, gas, restaurant, liquor store). We will stay again when in town.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Inn, Sales at Best Western University Inn
Responded 29 Mar 2022
Dear drcarlsOn, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Best Western University Inn - Ithaca, NY. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be comfortable, very clean and well located to meet all your needs. Many of our guests agree that our location right next to Cornell University makes us very convenient for those guests visiting Cornell. Still, what is often overlooked is that we are right on a TCAT bus route, which allows guest without cars the ability to get to anywhere in Ithaca. Furthermore, our location is just minutes from the Ithaca Commons (downtown), several state parks that have beautiful waterfalls to explore, and the start NYS Finger Lake Wine Trail. Our guests are overjoyed that our complimentary breakfast buffet is back, which includes a make your own waffle station that has assorted toppings to add to your waffle, scrambled eggs, breakfast meat (bacon or sausage), assorted muffins and breads, assorted cereals and oatmeal, fresh fruits, and yogurt. Plus, we serve coffee, tea, three types of juices, whole, 2% and almond milk. We hope you and your four legged family member will stay with us again, soon. Sincerely, The Staff and Management of the Best Western University Inn
Read more
Kimberly W wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
They hit the important points. Clean. No bedspreads that leave you wondering. Great water pressure. Quiet location. Plenty of towels. Nice complementary do-it-yourself breakfast with lots of selection.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Inn, Sales at Best Western University Inn
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Dear Kimberly, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Best Western University Inn - Ithaca, NY. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be comfortable, clean and staff to be friendly. Our staff takes great pride in providing superior service to every guest every time. Guests are overjoyed that our complimentary breakfast buffet is back, which includes a make your own waffle station that has assorted toppings to add to your waffle, scrambled eggs, breakfast meat (bacon or sausage), assorted muffins and breads, assorted cereals and oatmeal, fresh fruits, and yogurt. Plus, we serve coffee, tea, three types of juices, whole, 2% and almond milk. We hope you will stay with us again, soon. Sincerely, The Staff and Management of the Best Western University Inn
Read more
plakshman wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
The hotel is close to Cornell University. There is bust stop next to the Hotel. Staff are very friendly and caring. They also have arranged transfer to the University and to downtown to my Return Bus to New York.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Inn, Sales at Best Western University Inn
Responded 19 Mar 2022
Dear plakshman, Thank you for taking a quick moment to tell us about your recent stay at the Best Western University Inn - Ithaca, NY. We are delighted to hear that you found our location to be great! Many of our guests agree that our location right next to Cornell University makes us very convenient for those guests visiting Cornell. Plus, we are right on a TCAT bus route, which allows guest without cars the ability to get to anywhere in Ithaca. Furthermore, our location is just minutes from the Ithaca Commons (downtown), several state parks that have beautiful waterfalls to explore, and the start NYS Finger Lake Wine Trail. We hope you will stay with us again, soon. Sincerely, The Management and Staff of the Best Western University Inn
Read more
Essieb wrote a review Jan 2022
Pompano Beach, Florida8 contributions
Definitely an ok place to stay.. nothing stands out to be too bad but nothing too good either. Rooms have a slight smoky smell and the signs to find buildings were a little hard to spot. The reception area is not really impressive, just a functional thing. Safe to stay, ok food and ok area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Inn, Sales at Best Western University Inn
Responded 3 Jan 2022
Dear Esuvat B, Thank you for taking a moment to write a quick review of your recent stay with us at the Best Western University Inn - Ithaca, NY. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes great pride in providing superior service to every guest every time. We hope you will stay with us again. Sincerely, The Staff and Management of the Best Western University Inn
Read more
tabby21330 wrote a review Dec 2021
Boston, Massachusetts1 contribution
I had a wonderful stay. The room was much more modern and beautiful than I expected. Most of the pictures I seen online must've been prior to a renovation or update. All of the staff was friendly, pleasant, beyond helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was great with a wide variety of options. The complimentary shuttle was a great perk and the driver was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Inn, Sales at Best Western University Inn
Responded 30 Dec 2021
Dear Tabby21330, Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us at the Best Western University Inn - Ithaca, NY. It sounds like had a great stay. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly. Our staff takes great pride in providing superior service to every guest every time. Many of our guests are overjoyed that our complimentary breakfast buffet is back, which includes a make your own waffle station that has assorted toppings to add to your waffle, scrambled eggs, breakfast meat (bacon or sausage), assorted muffins and breads, assorted cereals and oatmeal, fresh fruits and yogurt. Plus, we serve coffee, tea, three types of juices, whole, 2% and almond milk. We hope you will stay with us again. Sincerely, The Staff and Management of the Best Western University Inn
Read more
Z8979FKanna wrote a review Oct 2021
Boston, Massachusetts2 contributions
We were disappointed with the quality of this hotel. The first room we were given had a very strong smell of smoke, like someone had recently been in the room smoking (it was a non smoking room). In the second room, one of the double beds in our room was broken and fell to the floor when we sat on it. The mattress also had no springs left, so we slept on the second bed which was better. The tub floor was filthy and there was dust and hair on the soap shelf in the shower which made the bathroom feel very gross. The remote for the tv had no batteries and when we went to the front desk to get some, no one came in the 20 minutes we were there. It was an overall negative experience and for the $280 per night it definitely was way overpriced.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Best Western Inn, Sales at Best Western University Inn
Responded 16 Oct 2021
Dear Z8979FKanna, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not meeting and exceeding your expectations. The service you experienced is not typical of the service we provide here. Our guest’s satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your comments to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future for all our guests. I hope that you will consider staying with us again. Sincerely, The Staff and Management of the Best Western University Inn
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$113 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western university hotel ithaca, best western ithaca, ithaca best western
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkFinger LakesIthaca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western University Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western University Inn?
Nearby attractions include Cornell University (2.0 km), Ithaca Falls Natural Area (3.2 km), and Cascadilla Gorge Trail (2.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western University Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western University Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western University Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western University Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western University Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Purity Ice Cream Co, MIX Kitchen and Bar, and Wegmans.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western University Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Best Western University Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Best Western University Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Best Western University Inn have airport transportation?
Yes, Best Western University Inn offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western University Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western University Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.