We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
657 Elmira Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-8745
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 26/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grayhaven Motel
Updated 26/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Grayhaven Motel. A charming vintage motor lodge located in Ithaca, a small city in the beautiful Finger Lakes region of New York State. We offer 16 rooms year-round and one very cute 1964 Shasta camper during the summer months. Our lovingly restored motel has been hosting vacationers and travelers for more than 100 years. You’ll find classic and spacious mid-century rooms as well as fully equipped cottages and suites with kitchenettes. Rooms have been thoughtfully restored with period fixtures and modern amenities to ensure a comfortable, unique, and sustainable stay. Several of our rooms are dog friendly. We, Alexis and Mark, are the current stewards of this very sweet historic hotel and accompanying 11 acres. Four years into a major rehabilitation of the property, we hope you’ll join us for the adventure, and follow along as we work to preserve the history and charm of this local landmark.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Fishing
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Patio
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
44Reviews2Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 6
  • 0
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Annie T wrote a review 5 Aug
1 contribution
Totally 5 stars! Great for families and couples too! (I loved the products in the bathroom, quite honestly) Alexis and Mark are more then accommodating and friendly. It's as charming as the pictures! The fire pit was a big hit, because come on, s'mores. Tons of wild life, we saw a beaver, bunnies, chipmunks and all types of birds. It was really green and lush, a great nature getaway!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bflo Trvl wrote a review Oct 2021
Buffalo, New York3 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favourite Review
The owners put a lot of thought into updating this motel. Large room windows in the lodge look out at trees and birdfeeders, spacious grounds include fire pits, chairs/hammock, lawn games, and a dog run. A complimentary smores kit, nice to go breakfast with fresh baked goods, and a commitment to conservation make the experience unique. We will return!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wojciech J wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
We stayed at the carriage house. Spacious, clean and most of all pet friendly. Loved waking up in the morning to birds singing and sitting by fire pit at night. Perfect location, close to parks, waterfalls and hiking trails. We'll definitely be back. Thanks for making our stay blissful Agnieszka, Wojciech and Kropka
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
caseylalonde wrote a review Jul 2022
27 contributions4 helpful votes
We chose the Grayhaven for its close proximity to Robert Treman State Park, Buttermilk Falls State Park, not to mention Ithaca Brewing and South Hill Cider. We booked one of the cottages so we could have some extra room and a full kitchen. The motel was lovely with 11 acres of wetlands for bird watching, outdoor grills for BBQ-ing and all kinds of other outdoor amenities. The hosts were gracious and very helpful by providing a binder of local sights, restaurants, wineries, breweries and cider-makers. Great mid-century modern aesthetic, right in the middle of all the best that Ithaca has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The two cottages provide a full kitchen and more room to spread out.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sandra wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
First time staying at this incredible motel. It is totally unique, beautiful updated although still keeping their character rooms, fantastic basic style kitchen that had everything you needed. Huge window with bird feeders so we could watch the birds every day. The location is stunning, surrounded by beautiful countryside and wildlife. Cannot recommend this place enough. Not forgetting the amazing hosts Alex and Mark , you guys are awesome 😊
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I honestly have nothing to fault with this incredible place. A must if you are in to wildlife,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deborah G wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Excellent stay at the Grayhaven Motel for a hiking trip to see the waterfalls of Ithaca. Room was unique, loved the record player, clean bedding and towels and host Alexis was awesome. Special s’mores package in the room plus firewood for a campfire was perfect. The coffee and Ithaca Bakery rolls on the weekend was another added touch. Five star review!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paul G wrote a review May 2022
Acton, Massachusetts6 contributions
I’ve stayed at The Grayhaven four times now and it’s terrific in any season. Always clean, cozy, and reasonably priced, it just gets better and better. We took two rooms for my daughter’s graduation. The coffee, tea, yogurt, fruit, and breakfast rolls were fresh and delicious. We enjoyed hanging out at the patio, the view is gorgeous. If we had more time, we would have taken advantage of the fire pit and s’mores. It’s just past Buttermilk Falls, conveniently located away from the congestion of town. The owners are delightful. We’ll be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis Grimm, Owner at Grayhaven Motel
Responded 2 Jun 2022
It has been an honor and joy to host you and your family! Thank you for taking the time to write this thoughtful review. It means the world to us to play a small part in your visits to Ithaca.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leah S wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Highly recommend you book at this clean, charming and never disappointing beauty. Your hosts Alexis and Mark have worked tirelessly to turn this vintage motel into a pleasant experience that you will want to revisit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nan wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We were visiting our daughter who is attending college in Ithaca and stayed at the Grayhaven for two nights. This is a great place to stay if you're looking for a unique alternative to your standard hotel/motel chain. We stayed in the Treman Lodge Double Suite which has a cute, well stocked kitchen connecting the two rooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable with simple mid-century modern decor. There was a nice fire pit to sit around just outside our door (unfortunately it rained so we couldn't enjoy it). Support this locally owned, historic landmark by staying at the Grayhaven. You'll also get a good cup of coffee and a delicious sourdour/cherry roll from the Ithaca Bakery each morning!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
NM_Dreamer wrote a review Sep 2021
Cambridge, MA122 contributions96 helpful votes
I’d looked forward to our stay here based on glowing reviews, but now I regret ever booking this place. The staff is helpful and friendly, and there are lots of nice touches. The beds are comfortable. But that’s all the positive feedback I can give. Noise was a significant issue but that was driven by the location, which couldn’t be changed. The road on which the motel is situated happens to be one of the major routes into Ithaca and gets a lot of truck traffic in addition to car and motorcycle traffic. The noise never really let up all night. The bigger issue is a serious mold problem in the rooms. We could smell it the minute we walked in. My husband sneezed and sniffled during our stay and for days afterwards. Every single fabric item that we took into our room reeked of mildew even after laundering with vinegar and then with baking soda. Our backpacks and luggage may never release the mildew smell. I doubt we’ll be back in the area in the future but I would never again stay at this motel if we did.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis Grimm, Owner at Grayhaven Motel
Responded 29 Sep 2021
We are so sorry to read that you had a bad experience staying with us. We always hope that guests will bring any issue to our attention so it can immediately be addressed. Had we know you were not comfortable or had an issue with your room we would be happy to help in anyway possible, by either remedying the issue at hand or moving you to a different room or building. We want to be sure to note that there is not a "serious mold problem". There has been SO MUCH rain in our area this summer which has caused a lot of flooding and other issues that we haven't experienced on the property before, musty-ness in a few rooms being one of them. To resolve this we had a professional assessment and installed recommended fans and dehumidifiers in the Treman Lodge basement to remedy any dampness issues. We are conscientiously restoring a very old historic property and doing our best to proactively and immediately address any issues with buildings as they arise. Protecting the integrity of this historic landmark and providing the most comfortable experience possible for guests going forward is our driving ambition.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$145 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grayhaven hotel ithaca
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkFinger LakesIthaca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grayhaven Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Grayhaven Motel?
Nearby attractions include Robert Treman State Park (0.8 km), Cornell University (7.4 km), and Cascadilla Gorge Trail (5.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grayhaven Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Grayhaven Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Grayhaven Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Grayhaven Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grayhaven Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Purity Ice Cream Co, MIX Kitchen and Bar, and Just a Taste.
Are pets allowed at Grayhaven Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.