We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons

Save
Share
120 S Aurora St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5712
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
Marriott Hotels
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (74)
Room & Suite (65)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 12/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Updated 12/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 24 in Ithaca
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Retreat to Finger Lakes at Ithaca Marriott Downtown. Nestled near a wonderland of wintry waterfalls and eclectic eateries, our Downtown Ithaca Commons hotel is near Cornell University, Ithaca College, local art galleries and boutique shopping. Thoughtful hotel amenities include an on-site American restaurant and bar with patio dining, a 24-hour fitness center and free Wi-Fi.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Patio
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Table tennis
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
200Reviews5Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 112
  • 51
  • 17
  • 9
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
carol p wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for several nights and the only friendly staff members were the valet personnel. The front desk was beyond rude. I was charged for parking two cars and the woman at the front desk did not believe we only had one car. She basically called me a liar. My husband is a lifetime titanium member and I have to say this was one of his worse experiences!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Barbara Caulkins, Other at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Good Morning adventure597028. I will pass your experience on to the guest service manager to ensure that this is an isolated incident and it doesn't happen again. My apologies as this is not how the staff should have handled the situation.
Read more
ladodgerone wrote a review Mar 2022
Los Angeles, California669 contributions438 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night with family. Navigating to it is a little difficult given the one-way streets, but what's worth is self-parking is FAR offsite and a little sketchy in the neighborhood. The hotel itself was pretty pedestrian, even for a Marriott. Check-in was very lengthy and slow. Our room had this crazy blue random streaks of paint on the wall, which I suppose was modern? Bathroom had a decent stand-up shower. Two queen beds were comfortable. The Commons area around the hotel was pretty noisy outside, from bars blaring music to street barkers hustling for money. I don't think I'd stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Barbara Caulkins, Other at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Responded 25 Mar 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I have shared your thoughts and concerns with management team.
Read more
NY Guest wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
The Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons is the kind of hotel, like the bland pictures on its walls, that no one would notice, or even recall, if it disappeared tomorrow. As a guest one senses that the staff works there because they couldn't find a better job anywhere else--don't expect to see the same faces if you return a few months, or a year, later. My family and I stayed overnight on a Monday in March. The valet attendant wasn't happy we didn't use his services. Instead we were given instructions on how to reach "our parking garage" (as we were told by the hotel staff) a couple blocks away. It turns out this is anything but the Marriott's parking garage. Did I lack an "elemental common sense" (as the staff person later suggested to me on the phone) for parking in one of the many empty spots with a small sign that apparently says something like, "Parking reserved for Hotel Guests of Hilton Garden"? It was nighttime, after a long day of driving -- fatigue reigns in a parking garage with reserved spots for a particular hotel. Signs are misread as "Parking reserved for Hotel Guests." Or maybe I parked in that space because I was told by Marriott staff that it was "our garage"? And wouldn't common sense today suggest Marriott and Hilton are owned by the same corporation that owns everything else? No, this was entirely this guest's fault: no "elemental common sense." And the price of this ticket: on top of the $12 a night parking fee, a $30 fine that the Marriott didn't think it worth offering to compensate. O, the inhumanity! The dry, stuffy air in the Marriott hotel room; the broken ice machine on our floor with a sign of apology (yes, they posted a sign instead of fixing it); their version of the Big Dig right next to the hotel so that guests can wake up to the relaxing sounds of a jackhammer. Fortunately, the room came with four complementary foam earplugs and a $10 voucher for the restaurant downstairs where you can buy a cup of lukewarm coffee, stroll outside and around the corner to one of the many vape shops, or take your kids on a field trip to the very adult gallery a two-minute walk away (next to the theater). To end on a positive note having nothing to do with the Marriott: Maru Ramen and The Milkstand are excellent restaurants and more than make up for any hotel hardly worth its overnight costs. Two stars as our children enjoyed meditating during the slow elevator ride to the tenth floor.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Barbara Caulkins, Other at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Thank you for your feed back. I have passed on your experience to the proper departments.
Read more
TheAvster wrote a review Dec 2021
Westport, Connecticut109 contributions91 helpful votes
I generally do not go out of my way to write negative reviews, but this deserves one. We booked a couple of pre-paid rooms to attend our son’s Cornell graduation. When graduation was cancelled due to a major covid outbreak, we called Marriott and asked if we could cancel or move the dates for a later time. The answer was no. We decided to drive up anyway to help him pack up to go home. Upon arrival, the valet parking attendant asked if we wanted to have the car valet parked, included in the room rate. We agreed. We then discovered it’s a $20 charge. The front desk’s response was “he must be a new employee” instead of making good on it. But that’s ok. Here is what really got to me. As Titanium Elite members we get breakfast included. Although we reserved two rooms they only agreed to give us breakfast for one room, with two slips of paper with dates on it - Saturday and Sunday. We decided to use them on Sunday so the four of us can enjoy breakfast together. On Sunday, the front desk told us we cannot do that. Two of us must eat breakfast on Saturday, and two of us must eat breakfast on Sunday. The four of us are not permitted to use the vouchers on one day. This is both irrational and against any customer service expected at any hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Do not book prepaid rates.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Matt V wrote a review Nov 2021
Lumberton, New Jersey88 contributions91 helpful votes
First time visiting Ithaca, and was very happy with our stay at the Marriott. The hotel is in a great location and walkable to many restaurants, and bars. Seems as though the hotel is newer or recently remodeled. Our king room was very clean and modern, upgraded bathroom, shower and tile. Only cons of the room were the smaller size and the bed for some reason was extremely low to the ground. It needed a box spring or something to raise it higher than a foot off the floor. The Monks restaurant was closed outside of breakfast which was fairly odd. The breakfast however was delicious, good variety, fresh hot food and as a platinum member a great complimentary option for members. Service was on the slower side for low volume but all were very friendly. One complaint was that after requesting the room be serviced at 12pm, we were told that we should have read the sign posted in the room and request this by midnight the night prior. As there were over 5 working hours left in the day and the hotel was not near sold out, found it odd that the housekeeping service (who was on our floor when we left at 12pm and requested it to be cleaned at the front desk) were not able to clean the room. Also, after requesting towels and bathroom amenities they completely forgot and we had to re-request after the front desk said in the app that it was delivered. Outside of the housekeeping service issues, it was a very pleasant stay and would definitely return while traveling in the area. Nearby recommend the Ale House and the Taughannock Falls.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking garage located 2 blocks from hotel use GPS for that on arrival
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Simon S wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Lost personal belongs while staying at the hotel. The hotel tried to shirk responsibility by lying left and right. No integrity. Every time I was told the assistant manager Barb would call me back and she never did. This kind of thing never happened to me at any hotel. The staff seemed to be so arrogant by saying I was abrasive when they could not locate my belongs. They just do not care how much inconvenience this incurred to me. Speaking of customer service 101., this has to rank lower than lowest. How can you trust the hotel when your belongs got lost and they refused to do anything to compensate for all the inconveniences. They questioned my integrity after I explain time and again my stuff was gone.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
NinaL wrote a review Nov 2021
41 contributions9 helpful votes
We love being downtown, within easy walking distance to restaurants & shops. We weren't disappointed. The hotel was immaculate, great check in procedure, and helpful valet. Our room looked over a construction site (which makes driving up and checking in a little bit of an issue - suggest use valet!!!) Our room was large, very comfortable bed, and luxuious bathroom because of the holiday weekend in October, our room was expensive - thus the luxury rating below.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
stlmotraveler77 wrote a review Sep 2021
St. Louis41 contributions44 helpful votes
Hotel was in a great location near plenty of restaurants and dining facilities. The room we had contained two queen size beds that sat on wooden platforms. My only complaint would be that the bed platforms stuck out enough that I ran into the corner of the frame and had a nasty bruise on my shin as a result. The bathroom was small, but clean. The restaurant at the hotel, Monks on the Commons, offered an outstanding breakfast buffet.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
h s wrote a review Sep 2021
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan6 contributions11 helpful votes
While each stay and experience is different I can’t understand the negative staff reviews of this hotel. Unless there was a complete staff turn over in the past couple months we found the employees throughout the hotel to be nothing short of amazing. The valet was staffed and extremely prompt (you have to give 30 minutes notice to get your car but our car was always ready early). The front desk and bell service were very kind and welcoming and always willing to help. We needed additional towels and toiletries during our stay and within 30 minutes an ample supply was delivered. The bartender at the restaurant was incredibly kind and engaging not to mention going above and beyond for my daughter’s order. From our limited observations every guest was treated equally and with respect. Throughout our stay the staff did the small things which we greatly appreciated. We really enjoyed our stay and no question we will be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ithaca Marriott Downtown Management , Sales at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Responded 20 Oct 2021
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. I will definitely relay this review to our team as this is how we strive to treat each guest every time. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Read more
LuxeFamilyFun wrote a review Aug 2021
United States1251 contributions730 helpful votes
This is a perfect hotel in terms of location - next to the beginning of the pedestrian walkway of the Ithaca Commons. You couldn't have a better home base. Valet Parking is key - it's a busy street and one of the parking structures is being worked on. There is a nice restaurant and bar in the lobby - big windows allow lots of natural light. There is an outdoor patio for dinner. The rooms are decent. Clean and roomy. The property is newer, so things are still pretty clean and modern. Overall - it's not the Four Seasons - but you won't find that in Ithaca. If you are visiting your Cornellian, this is a great home base from which to operate.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ithaca Marriott Downtown Management , Sales at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Responded 20 Oct 2021
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting your Cornellian. Looking forward to hosting you at our property again in the future!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$190 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkFinger LakesIthaca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
159
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Which popular attractions are close to Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons?
Nearby attractions include Cascadilla Gorge Trail (0.5 km), Cinemapolis movie theater (0.2 km), and Downtown Ithaca (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons?
Conveniently located restaurants include Just a Taste, Mahogany Grill, and Le Cafe Cent-Dix.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Ithaca.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.