We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 5 hotels in Hunter

Scribner's Catskill Lodge

84 reviews
Save
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (21)
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good21%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“lounge area”(4 reviews)
“outdoor fire”(4 reviews)
“banana bread”(4 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Outdoor pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (84)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
There are newer reviews for Scribner's Catskill Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
41
18
13
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
41
18
13
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge areaoutdoor firebanana breadminor thingshunter mountaingreat placesrainfall showermodern designroom fireplacehotel restaurantprivate terraceate hereapple pickingromantic getawaydrinking winerenovated hotelbucatini
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

My husband and I came here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, lured in by the gorgeous photos and Catskills setting. The common areas of the hotel did not disappoint -- the lounge, the library, outdoor fire pit, and deck are all lovely. However, the...More

1  Thank megancF339VS
Response from GlennonTravis, Manager at Scribner's Catskill LodgeResponded 17 October 2017

Dear MegancF339VS - Thank you for sharing your review. We are very sorry to hear about your disappointing visit. We care deeply about all our guests and we regret that we didn't have an opportunity to make it right while you were staying with us....More

Reviewed 15 October 2017

The view, the location is great - seeing and being in the mountains make this hotel so special. The overall design is really nice, without being overpowering - it catched the "mountain" vibe and feels still modern. Loved the pool and the fire in the...More

Thank Globallife
Response from GlennonTravis, Manager at Scribner's Catskill LodgeResponded 17 October 2017

Hello - Thank you for sharing your review online, your kind words are appreciated. We will look into larger bottles of lotion and to placing slippers in our rooms; with winter approaching our wood floors can feel cold on bare feet. We do provide filtered...More

Reviewed 9 October 2017

I don't write reviews so the fact I have done one on Scribners shows my depth of feeling. In reading the property's website, one is given the impression that Scribner's is a chic, stylish boutique style property. This is a misrepresentation based on our experience....More

3  Thank Russell B
Response from GlennonTravis, Manager at Scribner's Catskill LodgeResponded 11 October 2017

Russel - Thank you for your review, of course we are extremely sorry for any of the shortcomings on our part. We certainly will update the website to reflect that the Cabin Queen rooms have views onto a small planted area before the parking lot....More

Reviewed 6 October 2017

The people who work here say Glenn is one of the owners. The worst experience in my life at a hotel. I concur with what happened to the other couple a week ago at this place. They must have been there the same weekend we...More

2  Thank JBert5050
Response from GlennonTravis, Manager at Scribner's Catskill LodgeResponded 11 October 2017

JBERT5050 - Thank you for sharing your review and, of course, we are extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We completely understand and respect every viewpoint that is offered. We acknowledge that some aspects of the community weekend with Design Hotels and...More

Reviewed 4 October 2017

We come here quite often from NY and every time we go i hope that they have sorted out the issues that they have, but sadly it is the same every time. It is such a beautiful property, but the service (specifically at the bar...More

Thank Lizziebo
Response from GlennonTravis, Manager at Scribner's Catskill LodgeResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Lizziebo, Thank you for your feedback. We are, of course, very sorry you did not enjoy the service in our restaurant. Please do call or email us so that we can know more about how we can improve. Glennon Travis glennon@scribnerslodge.com 518-628-5130

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345617
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$ 227 - US$ 339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 227 - US$ 339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (21)
Pool & Beach (4)
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Bathroom (5)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Perezcm
27 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ashleigh S | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they actually do have an outdoor pool in the front of the lodge which they keep covered in winter. For more info you can call them at 518-628-5130
0
Votes
Juliancannonvale
16 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kate L | Property representative |
Albany International is definitely the closest airport to us. It is about an hour or so from our hotel. Hope this answers your question!
0
Votes
May S
4 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kate L | Property representative |
Hi May! We have one taxi service in the Hunter area: Smiley's Taxi. They are able to transport you to and from the nearest Amtrak train station in Hudson, about 45 minutes away. The Trailways Bus line also stops directly in... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ofcourse rooms with a view are better, but a bit pricey during off season."
Read review
"Bare rooms - horrible hotel"
Read review
"Get a room with mountain views, so nice to sit on the balcony and enjoy looking out."
Read review
"The setting is quite pretty, provided you are not in one of the rooms with a view of the parking lot."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite