We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Puku Pan Safari Lodge

  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Start your review of Puku Pan Safari Lodge
 Click to rate
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great place to get away from the touristy places like Victoria Falls or Lusaka. We were there by ourselves and the only others there were the staff. Our guide gave us a great walking and driving tour: we saw elephants, pukus, impalas, monkeys, hippos, wild dogs. Booking was a little hard as they have a small office in Lusaka that's...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank astroJason
Baarlo
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Wow, that was the first thing I said when I arrived. We travelled by car and dropped at the river, where the picked us up with a small boat to cross it and to go to the lodge. We had a great time there, one of the reasons was the wonderfull, nice and lovely staff at Puku Pan. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
15Thank Jennifer1601
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Puka Pan takes some getting to, it is remote and definitely worth the effort. The 30 kms bush track from the (terrible) Iteshe road is a fascinating drive and to discover the camp on the river a great relief :-) Manager and chief guide, Martin and staff were most welcoming. We had a lovely family rondavel overlooking the river. We...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Don C
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We had a wonderful stay at pukupan for our 2012 Christmas holidays and what better way to spend the day with the wonderfull staff, they were not only friendly but went out of their way to help us when we were stranded with our 4x4. They are well trained and well manered. My compliments to the chef gladys, our guide...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tabrez M
Aalst, Belgium
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We didn't prebook this campsite, just left mayukuyuku hoping we could find a spot over here, we took the riverside drive, you certainly need your 4x4, quite challenging, don't open your window, or your car will be full of tse tse flies in a few seconds... the drive is about 50 to 60 km and will take you about 2...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank yvakat
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Our party of 8 (4 adults, 4 children) spent 3 fantastic days at Puku Pan in August. The lodge is on the east side of the Kafue River, outside the national park. It takes a bit of getting to but is unquestionably worth the journey. We pretty much had the lodge and the river to ourselves, and got dedicated attention...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Barney W
Spencer, New York
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I had the great fortune to find Puku Pan through a friend of mine and I can't believe how wonderful our stay was! The staff are amazing and we felt very well looked after. Martin is the greatest guide I can imagine! He really cared about what we found in the bush and I swear he made a leopard appear...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AlanHeiman
harrismith
Reviewed 1 May 2012

amaaazing place!!! ...especially to have found a lodge open during the 'closed' season in the Kafue... it was great to have had the camp for ourselves...we were there during march and had the best evening on the riverbank in our tent...wish you well... joggie and mia

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mia p
Henk R, Manager at Puku Pan Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Wow, thanks for such an enthusiastic and positive review, hope to see you soon again. We've just trimmed the riverbank at the campsite, so the view is even wider!

LUSAKA
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at Puku Pan and it was excellent and our host Henk was always at service, of course an excellent personality. The staff were very friendly and helped us use their freezer. The view from the veranda was the best part, we did couple of activities but unfortunately we couldn't see much of the game as we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ali G
Henk R, Manager at Puku Pan Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the enormous load of compliments! We always try our best to give you your best time, even if that means offering you our precious freezer space, haha! And don't worry, the TseTse flies bothered Henk more than you did. Hope to see you again!

Ndola, Central, Zambia
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpfull they make you feel at home. The room was very good I liked the African style and it was neat and clean. The view from our room was beautiful,it was nice to wake up in the mornings looking out on the river and the smell of the fresh air. There is a variety...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maurine_12
Henk R, Manager at Puku Pan Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Yeah, the sundowner on the river was great indeed! Glad you had such a good time with us and thank you for the great review. The food is something we've been working on lately and we're proud that you liked it so much! Hope to see you next year again, you were a great guest.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kafue National Park hotels
0.0 km away
Bongwe Kafue Camp
Bongwe Kafue Camp
#21 of 28 in Kafue National Park
12 reviews
0.0 km away
Mu-Fungata Safaris
Mu-Fungata Safaris
#25 of 28 in Kafue National Park
7 reviews
0.0 km away
Konkamoya Lodge
Konkamoya Lodge
#8 of 28 in Kafue National Park
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mukambi Safari Lodge
Mukambi Safari Lodge
#3 of 28 in Kafue National Park
162 reviews
0.0 km away
Mawimbi Bush Camp
Mawimbi Bush Camp
#11 of 28 in Kafue National Park
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On the banks of the mighty Kafue river lies this rustic and comfortable Safari Lodge that blends in naturally with the pristine wilderness that surrounds it. Here you will experience true wildlife with excellent game viewing, birding and fishing in the Kafue National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Puku Pan Safari Lodge

Address: Mumbwa West Game Management Area, Kafue National Park 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Kafue National Park
Price Range: ₹ 11,031 - ₹ 15,042 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Puku Pan Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Puku Pan Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring a flashlight!”
 of 5 bubbles AlanHeiman, 24 Jul 2012 | Read review
“All houses have view on the river. Close to the restaurant is handy at night,”
 of 5 bubbles PeterK260, 15 Nov 2011 | Read review
2 of 2