We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino Camp

    Palmwag Concession - South, Namibia
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/201730/10/2017
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in DamaralandSee available hotels in Damaraland
    Traveller (147)
    Room & Suite (17)
    Dining (12)
    Aloegrove Safari Lodge
    78 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Otjiwarongo
     
    Weaver`s Rock Guest Farm
    53 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Otjiwarongo
     
    Out of Africa Town Lodge
    54 reviews
    #3 of 5 hotels in Otjiwarongo
     
    Capricorn Guesthouse
    1 review
    #1 of 2 hotels in Okahandja
     
    Overview
    • Excellent79%
    • Very good16%
    • Average3%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “on foot” (22 reviews)
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Paid Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Room Service
    Suites
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Aloegrove Safari Lodge
    78 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Otjiwarongo
     
    Weaver`s Rock Guest Farm
    53 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Otjiwarongo
     
    Out of Africa Town Lodge
    54 reviews
    #3 of 5 hotels in Otjiwarongo
     
    Capricorn Guesthouse
    1 review
    #1 of 2 hotels in Okahandja
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    Reviews (152)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 118 reviews

    Reviewed 2 days ago

    So the title of this review is a nod to the chef at the camp, Willie, who was there when we visited. A nicer man and competent chef you couldn't find. He, Winnie, Lovisa, Simon, Bons, Liberty, Nicole, Adam, Liliana and Esther along with the...More

    Thank MarkfromtheIsland
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    We spent three nights at Desert Rhino Camp and from start to finish it was one of the best safari stays we have ever had. Staff were super-friendly and very efficient and our guide Bons was brilliant. Camp layout is typical Wilderness style, with comfortable...More

    Thank simonA50
    Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded 6 days ago

    Thank you simonA50 for your beautiful review, we are thrilled to see that you had a successful time tracking the rhino even though it was a long day it sounds like it was all worth it. Desert Rhino Camp works in partnership with the Save...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    If you like rhinos, this is the place to visit. We saw 5 rhino over 2 days of trekking, the brilliantly named Don't Worry, about 70m away, and a mother and calf, and a big bull, Harry, all at about 100m. As these are completely...More

    Thank KandEtravel
    Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded 6 days ago

    Dear KandEtravel, We are glad to hear the chef and kitchen staff were able to accommodate your dietary requirements, we will be sure to pass along your thanks to everyone in the kitchen. Set in a wide valley, Desert Rhino Camp is the perfect setting...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    We had an overall good experience here for 3 days. Johannes, our guide, was the go-to guide for all of the other guides - he was outstanding. We were lucky to be the first group ever to see a leopard there, due to Johannes (the...More

    1  Thank CharlesA
    Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded 1 week ago

    Dear CharlesA, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you had so many worthwhile experiences with Johannes. We appreciate your comments regarding the rooms and the food and will be sure...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    I was there a little over a week ago. We were assigned a guide named Liberty, born the year Namibia gained independence. Liberty is smart, quick, funny and most knowledgeable. With the help of trackers we were able to see five black rhino, including a...More

    2  Thank Golftraveler123
    Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you Golftraveler123 for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to pass on your kind words to Liberty and all the staff in camp. We hope you will come visit us...More

    Aloegrove Safari Lodge
    78 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Otjiwarongo
     
    Weaver`s Rock Guest Farm
    53 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Otjiwarongo
     
    Out of Africa Town Lodge
    54 reviews
    #3 of 5 hotels in Otjiwarongo
     
    Capricorn Guesthouse
    1 review
    #1 of 2 hotels in Okahandja
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Hotel class
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Location
    • Namibia >
    • Otjozondjupa Region >
    • Damaraland
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (147)
    Room & Suite (17)
    Dining (12)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (152)
    Bathroom (2)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Aloegrove Safari Lodge
    78 reviews
    323.31 km away
     
    Out of Africa Town Lodge
    54 reviews
    296.42 km away
     
    Weaver`s Rock Guest Farm
    53 reviews
    321.67 km away
     
    Capricorn Guesthouse
    1 review
    .00 km away
     
    Nearby Attractions
    Experience Darama Culture Museum
    5 reviews
    31.66 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    redberryphoto
    17 May 2016|
    Answer
    Response from WildernessSafaris | Property representative |
    Dear Redberryphoto, Thank you for your question. unfortunately, no matter the type of vehicle you are driving you would need to park at the designated pick up and drop off point at Twee Palms. Due to Private concession... More
    0
    Votes
    Barbara H
    12 May 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from WildernessSafaris | Property representative |
    Thank you Barbara for your question, Malaria is present in some of the areas in which we operate in Namibia and precautions should be taken. Malaria transmission is at its highest during the warmer and wetter months of... More
    0
    Votes
    Landri L
    27 March 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Ted J | Reviewed this property |
    No. The camp does not have wifi, either, They do have a computer in the office that has internet that we were permitted to use to check email, etc, but the connection is super slow so I would only ask to use it in an... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Tents 1, 2 and 7 are furthest from the main dining area, so best avoided if you have mobility problems."
    Read review
    "All are great"
    Read review
    "All tents are of the same quality and have similar views."
    Read review
    "all the "tents" are excellent"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing