We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dugong Beach Lodge

Hotels.comUS$ 451*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 465*
US$ 451*
US$ 465*
US$ 451*
US$ 465*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Dugong Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 53: English reviews
Start your review of Dugong Beach Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We went there as part of our honeymoon in Jan 2017 expecting to stay for 6 nights... Our experience was not great (an unfortunate combination of weather and the characteristics of the hotel) and we ended up leaving after 3 nights. Awkwardly, we were the ONLY guests at the moment, which made it look almost like a ghost hotel. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victoriagarcia23
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Victoriagarcia23, It is with disappointment that we read your review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We strive to create a truly Legendary experience for all our guests and apologise that this was not the case for you. We however can advise that while we welcome constructive comments, we take all complaints extremely seriously and can assure you that a proper...

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We cannot recommend Dugong beach lodge high enough! We are a couple in our 30's who went there for our honeymoon. We were worried about it being so remote, but soon came to realise that's the beauty of it! The food was outstanding! The chef Roberto, cooked anything you desired, and the seafood is out of this world! The portions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matt s
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Matt s Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We are delighted to hear about your stay with us and would like to also thank you for the details you included. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Dugong Team and look forward to welcoming you back in...

Reviewed 6 December 2016

Just a short thank you for the brilliant lunch under your grass roof on the jetti with a beautiful view. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief time at your stunning resort and very much appreciate the warm and friendly manner in which your staff received and treated us. Keep up the good work !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morne K
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Morne K Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your perfect lunch at Dugong Beach Lodge. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed it and we will be sure to pass on your compliments to the Dugong Team. We hope to welcome you back to Dugong in the not too distant...

Roodepoort, South Africa
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Your flight in to Vilanculous have a choice of 3 airline operators from OR. Tambo,1. 5hours airport exit takes 30 minutes with a shuttle waiting for you, 25 minutes drive and you are on the beach where a boat is moored ready to take you to the resort, Your suitcases gets taken from the vehicle onto the boat. The boat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hermandl
MichelleBouic, Company Liaison at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hermandl, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for such lovely comments about your sat at our property; from your departure from OR Tambo till your arrival at the Resort, we only hear good things from you and we are so happy to see that you got too experience the uniqueness of Dugong Beach Lodge. Your...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2016

It seems its all been said before but I am going to repeat and endorse all of the previous reviews anyway. We cannot believe what an amazing time we had in this very special place. Away from it all, it's the ideal place to relax and unwind. The scenery is stunning with turquoise sea and endless white sand. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley S
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lesley S Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our "slice of paradise". Thank you for also sharing details on the activities you did, the food, accommodation, friendly service as well as your whole experience. We...

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Our family of 4 (2 teenage girls) enjoyed such a relaxing and fun filled holiday at Dugong Beach Lodge. The management was outstanding, the staff were friendly and helpful. The Self Catering Lodge was well equipped, clean, had air-conditioning, house keeping and was set in luscious, tropical gardens with a beautiful view. A trip to Paradise Island is a MUST....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon S
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Leon S Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for sharing you experience at Dugong Beach Lodge with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the friendly service and that you had a wonderful holiday. We will be sure to pass on your message to the Dugong Team and look forward...

Newcastle, UK
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Stayed 4 nights at Dugong and the service from first to last was outstanding, from the lodge manager to the barman and waiters. Food was SERIOUSLY GOOD - especially the seafood. The lodge is on a quiet peninsula, about 45 minutes from Benguerra and Bazaurto, which makes a great day trip (including the two mile reef for snorkelling), however there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juno101
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Juno101 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We are delighted to hear about your stay with us and would like to also thank you for the details you included. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Dugong Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

The staff was so friendly! Food was amazing and fresh. Staff was beyond helpful . We were spoiled from beginning to end. Would highly recommend this destination for anyone to have best of both worlds - the wild African bush with the beauty of island lifestyle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauljessiman
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear pauljessiman Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We are delighted to hear about your experience and that the food, accommodation and service was amazing. We will be sure to pass on your message to the Dugong Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Vilanculos, Mozambique
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Dugong Beach Lodge is an incredible Lodge with very professional management Team second to none!!. It's also located in the Vilanculos Coastal and Wildlife Reserve so its a protected area so the Marine and Wildlife is just amazing!! Seriously a place like no other!!. Also the sunsets are awesome!!. Thanks Brian, Ernest and team for accommodating us so well !!....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank J100R
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear J100R Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Dugong Beach Lodge and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that your overall experience was second to none and that you enjoyed the food, beautiful scenery and appreciated the friendly service. We will be sure to pass on your message...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Dugong exceeded our every expectation! It was our first venture into Mozambique - and what a fabulous venture it turned out to be! We are already planning our next trip. As we went in June, we shared the entire lodge with one couple for two days, and thereafter had the whole luxury lodge to ourselves. Why is June considered "out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky H
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nicky H We are absolutely delighted to hear about your spectacular time at Dugong Beach Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and including your experience of the island excursion. We will be sure to pass on your message about the friendly service, delicious food and fabulous accommodation to the Dugong Team. We...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
21.4 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
21.9 km away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#2 of 7 in Vilanculos
84 reviews
20.8 km away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#3 of 7 in Vilanculos
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
31.1 km away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
405 reviews
22.4 km away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 30 000 hectares of pristine Marine and Wildlife territory, it provides a unique Beach & Wilderness Experience in a hidden corner of sub-tropical Africa. This diverse eco-system of wilderness and wetland, with its powder white beaches and crystal clear water is host to a magnificent array of fish, dolphin and most importantly, the nearly extinct "Atlantic Dugong" (which resembles a sea lion). Shallow and deep water reefs reveal beautiful creatures such as the great leatherback turtles, sailfish and manta ray. Deep-sea fishing of marlin and barracuda is truly spectacular and the large flocks of flamingos and pelicans are a sight to behold. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dugong Beach Lodge

Address: Vilanculos Coastal Wildlife Sanctuary | San Sebastian Peninsula, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Price Range: ₹ 27,690 - ₹ 67,716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dugong Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dugong Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dugong Beach Hotel Vilanculos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dugong Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Port Alfred

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dugong Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Splash out more and take one of the corner units with the private pools, worth it.”
Hermandl, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are on the waters edge with direct access to the beach. We had a double room, very spacious with bath, shower, + outside shower”
  • Huge Bed with great Mosquito nets
621lesleys, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Book the more expensive self catering lodges. The 'dormitory' style self catering lodges are cheaper but not great.”
  • Loge
888leons, 21 Dec 2015 | Read review
“We had a "standard room", and I can't imagine anything being better.”
402nickyh, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“They have two inter-leading family rooms with their own private pools. These are great for families or if you want to be private.”
  • Great rooms on the beach
renierf, 2 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 451* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 451
Booking.comUS$ 465
TravelocityUS$ 451
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates