We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ngala Lodge

Save
Traveller (427)
Room & Suite (88)
Pool & Beach (60)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good12%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“infinity pool”(24 reviews)
“the penthouse”(19 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Ngala Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
376
60
12
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
376
60
12
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgambia experiencethe penthouseboutique hotelatlantic suiteprivate gardendecking areahis brotherpiece of paradiseclay ovenbuilding workrestaurant stafffish marketspecial thanksgeneral managerlow tidelarge balcony
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
181 - 185 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2014

I have been a frequent visitor either as a tourist or a consultant in The Gambia for several years. I have seen hotels and restaurants come and go and some good places slowly go into decline. Ngala is an exception. It has consistently been the...More

1  Thank Andy W
Response from Jenny F, General Manager at Ngala LodgeResponded 31 October 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Peter Engels, the owner takes great pride in Ngala Lodge and decided to celebrate its 20th anniversary by extending the facilities. Its fabulous to see his hard work recognised in this manner and in such a...More

Reviewed 26 October 2014

We have just returned after a fantastic two weeks at Ngala Lodge. Having followed the foreign office advice to travellers and NOT the media re Ebola, The Gambia is safe. The hotel is lovely, large comfortable suites which are immaculately clean, and the gardens are...More

3  Thank Dayhelen
Response from Jenny F, General Manager at Ngala LodgeResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful, positive, review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Our staff are indeed our strength. Thanks again for taking the time to write in such positive terms when the country is...More

Reviewed 24 October 2014

This is a lovely peaceful haven to relax and indulge. THERE is NO Ebola in Gambia. Please if you are thinking of visiting Ngala DO go , it is a treat Not to be missed & you would regret doing so . The hotel is...More

2  Thank luabelle
Response from Jenny F, General Manager at Ngala LodgeResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review! it was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back! The dresses were definitely a success and Ramou enjoyed taking you shopping in Serrekunda market! Perhaps it's something...More

Reviewed 15 October 2014

We have just returned from our first holiday in The Gambia and were most definitely not disappointed. The people are friendly and forever smiling and genuinely wanting to talk to you. The Ngala Lodge, despite some non-intrusive building work going on to extend the bar/dining...More

1  Thank DJW01
Response from Jenny F, General Manager at Ngala LodgeResponded 18 October 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we are glad that you enjoyed the holiday as much as you did. As for Ebola, we have sadly been lumped in with the 18 countries which make up...More

Reviewed 3 October 2014

We returned from our second visit to Ngala on Saturday 27/09/2014 after a wonderful two week stay. We had been contacted by GE the day before our flight to say that there was building work ongoing and would we like an alternative. Our immediate answer...More

5  Thank Angela H
Response from Jenny F, General Manager at Ngala LodgeResponded 7 October 2014

Angela, thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you were not deterred by the building works and that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. (We are in any case striving to minimise the disruption). Thank you also for...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Fajara
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Outdoor pool
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (427)
Room & Suite (88)
Pool & Beach (60)
Dining (35)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
M and M
18 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Jonathan G | Property representative |
Dear M&M, You can pay in Sterling, US$, Euros or Dalasis. The banks charge 3.45% on credit card transactions. Regarding late check out-we always try to assist if possible and also FOC, however it depends on the time of... More
0
Votes
Crofthg
5 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jonathan G | Property representative |
Dear Croft, I am sure that we could accept them. It must be understood that our guests come to Ngala for the peace and tranquility. The majority of our guests are elderly or work in schools and colleges and want to escape... More
0
Votes
AlexofLymm
29 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jonathan G | Property representative |
Are ther wild animals in Jamaica? Dear Alex, There is plenty culture here. There is a wild life reserve just over the border in Senegal called Fathala, it can be done in a day or stay overnight. 6000 hectares of natural... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"14b was great....lovely views and spacious"
Read review
"Upper floor have better views"
Read review
"Some of the ground floor suites in the main building have poor views."
Read review
"We had ground floor suite 5 (Dogo). I would ask for a first floor room with a sea view if I go again."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing