We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bowen's by the Bays

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bowen\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
New Windsor NY
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We always feel as if we"ve come back home when we come to Bowen's. The management and their assistants are like family! The rooms are always fresh and clean and we love the grounds. We enjoy relaxing at the pool,which is meticulously clean. Sitting out on the grounds each morning at the tables provided sets the stage of a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dmg37
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Awful....old beds...sagging in middle. Concrete pillows. Shabby outdated room...not very clean....this place has seen better days...and needs total renovation. Incredibly expensive, for not very much in return. We were charged another $25 for our daughter as an additional guest, on top of the already outrageous cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helentoper
gobowens, Owner at Bowen's by the Bays, responded to this review

Hello Helen. I'm very sorry that you we not happy with your experience. I wish you had let us know of your dissatisfaction while you were here. All of our pricing is clearly represented on our site and all online markets as being for 2 guests, with an (industry standard) increase for additional guests. While I feel that $175 is...

Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewed 13 September 2016

needed a room for one night as we had our dog with us. Cabin did not smell like animals had been there. Old cabin but AC was left on and lights on when we arrived. Loved the candies for humans and biscuit for the dog. Outside is a bit dated. Putting green was in poor condition with leaves and sticks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank captew
gobowens, Owner at Bowen's by the Bays, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're very happy that you were comfortable. We do work hard to ensure that although we welcome pets in the cottages, folks without pets would be equally happy staying there. Unfortunately, our shade trees do contribute a steady supply of leaves and twigs on the putting green and tennis court....

Southwest Ranches, Florida
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This is a great place to stay. The rooms are very clean and the property is kept up beautifully. Lots of thing for families with kids to do on the property. I have stayed here the last two years when traveling to the Hamptons and have enjoyed my stays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daryl P
gobowens, Manager at Bowen's by the Bays, responded to this review

Hi Daryl, We are so happy that you visited again, and that you continue to enjoy Bowen's. We appreciate your kind comments.

cross river
Reviewed 2 September 2016

we stayed in the hyacinth - it was super clean, the owners very nice and just had a wonderful time. It is nice and quiet as well.Close to lots of things to do in Hampton bays and only 30 minutes to the Hamptons. I would highly recommend bowen's by the bay to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graciela008
gobowens, Owner at Bowen's by the Bays, responded to this review

Hi, Graciela. Thank you for taking the time to comment. We're very glad you and your family enjoyed your visit, and greatly appreciate that you recommend us. Situated halfway between Westhampton and Southampton, we like to think we are in the Hamptons, but understand that for many that designation actually means much further east. :) Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 2 September 2016

We decided to stay at the Bowen's by the Bays because we wanted to bring our little maltese with us and the hotel is pet friendly - for their cottages. The hotel is great, the staff very friendly and the rooms were impressive cleaned. We had a great stay, the location was perfect for us to explore different beaches and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andre S
gobowens, Owner at Bowen's by the Bays, responded to this review

Hi, Andre. Thank you for the kind words. We're not fancy, but we do always want our accommodations to be welcoming, and place great emphasis on proper cleaning. We do hope to see you again, and thank you for bringing the dog daycare info. My Ruby liked it too.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 August 2016

It's our second time staying at Bowen's. Great location and great facilities! specially for families with small kids. The playground and yard is just great for the little ones to run around. Friendly and helpful staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asbella78
gobowens, Owner at Bowen's by the Bays, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your visit. The best compliment is always when folks come back a 2nd (or more!) time. We hope to see you again.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My wife and I just returned from 5 glorious days at Bowens by the Bays. It's truly a secluded place. Quiet. A great pool and a tennis court. Located near numerous wonderful restaurants. A strip mall within walking distance lets you buy fruit and soft drinks, and a Panera's three minutes away provided coffee and scones. It was our first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dbgjtc2014
gobowens, Owner at Bowen's by the Bays, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay. It's great to hear you would like to visit again, that's always the best review!

Yonkers
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Small, quaint one- and two-bedroom cabins (and a few motel-like rooms) surrounding lawn with very nice pool, playground for kiddies, lawn chairs, and more. Still pricey, but at the lower end of similar Hampton properties we found. 10-minute ride to beach where car park is $25 for day pass.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ckcarlsn
gobowens, Owner at Bowen's by the Bays, responded to this review

Oasis! I like the sound of that, thank you. We do try to offer someplace where you can kick back and relax and take a break from the sometimes hectic pace of enjoyment in the Hamptons. We do hope you will visit again.

Delaware
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Many places after years get a bit lazy, miss the little things, and take clients and facilities for granted. That has usually been my experience. Nothing can be further from the truth with Bowens by the Bays! It is hard to believe this was my 10th year at Bowens by the Bays. Ten years ago my first outing was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babydaze92
gobowens, Owner at Bowen's by the Bays, responded to this review

It's always a pleasure seeing you and your "Goldens", and it's been a treat watching the boy grow these last couple of years. Thank you for taking to the time to comment, and for the very kind words. It's flattering to think anyone would consider us for their bucket list, but I know buckets come in all shapes and sizes...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
16.2 km away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
490 reviews
11.2 km away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
3.1 km away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
58 reviews
16.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
24.4 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small family oriented resort with rooms and cottages that have been described as quaint and charming. Each is individually decorated and has it's own personality. We have a pool, lighted tennis court, shuffleboard, small putting green and playground. The grounds are shady and flower filled. Pets are welcome in the cottages by prior arrangement, but never in the rooms. This offers a choice for those with allergies to stay where there have never been pets. All accommodations have flat screen cable tv and air conditioning. All rooms have refrigerators and coffeemakers with complimentary tea & coffee, and all cottages as well as the studio have compact but complete kitchens equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and microwave. We are approximately 3 miles from both ocean and bay beaches where all are welcome. Pets can be taken to the beach before 9 a.M. And after 6 p.M. Both North & South Forks can be easily accessed from here, and we are about halfway between Southampton and Westhampton Villages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bowen's by the Bays

Address: 177 West Montauk Highway, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Price Range: ₹ 15,325 - ₹ 29,151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen's by the Bays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bowen's by the Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen`s By The Bays Hotel Hampton Bays
Bowens By The Bays Hampton
Bowen's By The Bays Hampton Bays, NY - Hamptons
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bowen's by the Bays staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Forked River, New Jersey

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bowen's by the Bays staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“none of the rooms...just dont bother”
 of 5 bubbles helentoper, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“get a cabin.”
 of 5 bubbles captew, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We loved the 3 bedroom cottage for 5 people and our mid size dog.”
 of 5 bubbles trodman123, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There is a train that goes by there. Just a FYI”
 of 5 bubbles JimD270, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We also stayed in one of the rooms a few years ago and they were great too!”
 of 5 bubbles cogiecat, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay