We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wendt University Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wendt University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 December 2014

This is the only hotel in Hamilton. It is a very basic hotel. It is clean, but the beds are not comfortable, and the sheets looks like they are 50 years old. The continental breakfast is minimal. Since it is the only show in town, they charge too much. Therefore the value received for amount you pay to too low.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Steven S
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry your bed and linen were not acceptable to you. You may always notify a staff member, and they can change your room to one that is more acceptable to you. Our linens are brand new; however, a staff member will be glad to exchange them also. We are sorry you did not enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast,...

New Jersey
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Mediocre best describes the Wendt. Service, rooms, amenities, etc. Yes, the price is better than the Colgate Inn. Coffee was ok, breakfast was stale and terrible. Bathroom toilet was dirty upon check in. All that being said, there are not many choices in the immediate area and the property is is safe with plenty of rooms.They do not accept AAA.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Merlin V
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you perceived our service, rooms and amenities as mediocre. We are sorry your room was not acceptable upon check-in. Please always notify a staff member, so that you can be assigned a room that is acceptable to you. We are sorry you felt the complimentary continental breakfast was stale. We set out fresh bagels, English muffins, doughnuts,...

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 September 2014

The person answering the phone needs an attitude adjustment. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE whatsoever. Not nice, not curteous, and even unpleasant. She is doing you a favor by even taking your call. Very curt and poor attitude.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank geez88
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you felt you received poor customer service over the phone. If you feel you have received poor service, or been treated unfairly in any way, you may always call the owner directly at 800-218-5449, or send an email to Meetings@dreamscape.com. Management is always available for any concerns. Thank you for your business. We hope to be of...

Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at the Wendt for a recent Colgate University visit. Was concerned before arriving because I prefer the national chains, but with an early morning appointment at Colgate, we wanted to stay close to campus. The Wendt was $100 less than the Colgate Inn, so we booked a room. Rooms are basic -- yes, bedspreads are old style, but they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Loretta K
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are sorry you had a room where you could hear your neighbor's plumbing. Please remember, you can always ask a staff member to change your room to a quieter area of the hotel. We are sorry also that your room only had four outlets. The rooms are built to comply with local code,...

Davis, California
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Perhaps we were spoiled by staying at the Hyatt Place in Mulford CT( near New Haven) the night before, and we realize Hamilton is a different town in a different state, but the hotel is a plain, ordinary, and only a cut above a motel. While clean, it had large rooms only because they cut out the closet (there's a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mbs543
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not find us to be as good a value as Hyatt Place in New Haven. Thank you for praising our large rooms, cleanliness and friendly staff. Please remember to always speak with a staff member, who will help you with any needs such as extra clothes hangers, coffee, or a room in a quieter section...

Rockville
Reviewed 3 August 2014

While the bathrooms were clean, the bedspreads were from the early 70s, mattresses felt just as old, linens so uncomfortable and scratchy that my husband was miserable! Rooms feel very old (outdated box TV) and in need of an renovation. I asked if I could stay in a renovated section that I had read about in another review and was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JACKSPAP
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Please remember, if you are uncomfortable in any way, to speak with a staff member. They will be glad to help you by changing your room, linen, or television. We are sorry you did not enjoy our continental breakfast, which includes toasted bagels, toasted English muffins, fruit, juices, hot cocoa, coffee...

California
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is clean and well run - nothing fancy, but the owner is due an Excellent rating for honesty and integrity. I don't usually bother to write reviews, but the hotel owner was very honest in crediting us with $50 after we left the hotel to make up for having to listen to 5 hours of someone's dog crying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoCalKings
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just spent July 11-13th at the Wendt University Inn, we were in town from the Philadelphia area for a graduation party. After reading the others negative reviews we were scared thinking we would be staying in a dump but as soon as we pulled up to the property we could tell it is well maintained. Our check in process...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank allsmiles8
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

After an unfortunate incident made me cancel my room management handled it with care. I'm extremely grateful for their understanding and hospitality. Great service at an affordable price. I strongly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colgate13
Hampden, Maine
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent 2 separate nights at the Wendt University Inn over a weeks period. We were disappointed with the first night because of a hard bed and old style room with minimal amenities. At check out we requested a room in the new wing of the hotel on our return. We were told that they would take care of it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samuel N

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
30.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
33.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
32.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 km away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
31.7 km away
No photo provided
32.3 km away
Super 8 Norwich
Super 8 Norwich
#1 of 2 in Norwich
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Wendt University Inn

Address: 175 Utica St, NY, Hamilton, NY 13346-2001
Region: United States > New York > Hamilton
Price Range: ₹ 4,510 - ₹ 7,124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Wendt University Hotel Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wendt University Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Newburyport, Massachusetts, Usa
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Wendt University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevators, request the first floor if that is something you need”
 of 5 bubbles paulaC266QC, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay on 2nd floor so you don't hear the folks above you.”
 of 5 bubbles carlas120, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No elevator so if you do not do stairs ask for first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 262debbier, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“book early since there aren't that many hotels around”
 of 5 bubbles dandiane2, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator to the 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles LibraryLady, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5