We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bomani Tented Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange National Park
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Bomani Tented Lodge
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of Bomani Tented Lodge
 Click to rate
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

From the greeting with a cooling towel and a refreshing drink, excellent rooms (can't really call it a tent), great food, excellent services. We enjoyed our stay. We saw a family of cheetahs, two male and one female lions, zebra, elephants, hippos, painted dogs and many many more. Our guide Aubrey, was great with the right mix of tracking skills...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgewP3869IA
Management response:

Dear georgewP3869IA Thank you for such a wonderful 5* Review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Bomani! Sounds like you had a fantastic game viewing experience and very happy to hear Aubery was an excellent guide we will make sure he knows that he had such a positive impact on your trip. We...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to Africa 4 times and have stayed in varying levels of luxury in many different lodges in several countries throughout eastern and southern Africa, but never have I been treated as well as I was while at Bomani in October of 2015 (I know it says that I was here in October of 2016, but the site...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
Management response:

Dear Jeff, Thank you so much for an awesome 5 star review! Its always better late than never and we feel so privileged that your trip back in 2015 is still fresh in your mind - We definitely think you should come back for a visit! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed our Lodge and all the staff that...

Townsville
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing time at bomani lodge, starting with the elephant express every minute was fantastic. Eric our guide was awesome and created the highlights and memories of our trip. The staff were excellent and friendly and the accommodation was beautiful and comfortable. Absolutely love every minute :) thank you bomani!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne D
Management response:

Dear Roxanne D , Thank you so much for the awesome 5 star rating we are thrilled you enjoyed your trip! I do hope you come back again soon! We will pass your kind words back to everyone at camp who will be so happy to hear you had a fantastic time! We wish you all the very best! Kind...

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Having been only in drier months it was a remarkable delight to see the impact a little rain had been n surroundings. No elephant or buffalo like one sees in drier months but birds and calving animals were flourishing. The camp is well maintained and staff thoughtful about all that guests do. The Tram in and out is a delight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KayBeeZim
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this review

Dear KayBeeZim, Thank you for your lovely 5 star review and for visiting us in the green season. It is indeed a beautiful time of the year on the Ngamo plains - amazing birding, babies, beautiful scenery and the predators are normally out and about too! It is fascinating coming and experiencing Hwange in the different seasons to see and...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We caught the elephant express from Dete town - what a fun ride! Stunning views of the plains from the tents, but in the rainy season be aware that the frogs will serenade you all night. Guides were superb, took us on game drives with sensational and up close animal sightings but we always felt safe. Their knowledge of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Just_lion_around
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Just_lion_around, Thank you so much for choosing Bomani for your safari destination! We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay and thank you for the 5 star rating! We will pass on your lovely comments to the team at camp who will be so happy to read that you enjoyed their food, hospitality and guiding. We hope...

Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Imvelo Safaris have two camps on the spectacular Ngamo Plains in Hwange National Park. Last November I was invited to experience the birding and other wildlife opportunities at both Camelthorn Lodge and Bomani Tented Lodge but unfortunately time was limited so could only pay a quick visit to Bomani.. The Ngamo Plains are renowned for the spectacular birding opportunities during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kuyimba
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Derek, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Bomani! We agree it is a little piece of paradise on the Ngamo Plains and we are thrilled to hear you loved the environs, the people, the activities and that you got some great bird sightings! It is because of wonderful guests like yourself that help spread the...

Hermanus
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Bomani Lodge is situated on the edge of Hwange NP in it's own concession. We stayed in the Spurwing Tents which we very comfortable and spacious. Good hot water and all facilities in the bathroom. We had 2 x double beds with mosquito nets, settee and table. Close to the waterhole. Food was very good although Brunch only alternated between...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MikeGrahamHermanus Thanks so much for your feedback - it sounds like you had a wonderful safari with excellent animal sightings, particularly the birds! We are glad to hear you enjoyed travelling on our Elephant Express rail car - its a really fun way of transferring between camps and also allows for some great game viewing! Thanks once again for...

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

I visited in November as part of a Saga tour. We arrived by the Elephant Express (that was an interesting experience). I can't praise Bomani enough. The camp is set next to a waterhole...can you imagine sitting round the campfire while a herd of elephants are drinking close by as the sun goes down? Paradise. The tents are fully equipped...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris P
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Chris P, Thank you for taking the time to review Bomani and thank you especially for the 5 stars! The green season is a fascinating and beautiful time to visit the Ngamo plains with amazing birding, babies and often the predators out and about. How wonderful to hear you experienced lion on a kill! I will pass on your...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We loved everything about Bomani, the location, the wonderful staff in the lodge, our fun guides Vusa and Aubz, and of course the wildlife. This wasn't just about seeing animals and birds, it was a total experience from arriving on the Elephant Express to the toast cooked on the campfire for breakfast, a surprise evening dinner set up in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rc_barnes7
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this review

Dear rc_barnes7, Thank you for the 5 star review - we are thrilled to hear you had excellent game viewing and enjoyed every part of your safari experience! Hwange and the Ngamo Plains where Bomani is located is renowned for being a wildlife paradise! I will pass on your wonderful comments to Vusa and Aubrey who will be most appreciative...

Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 November 2016

My husband and I stayed at Bomani Tented Lodge for 3 nights, as part of a group of 10 people from Switzerland. Our stay started, by being picked up in the Elephant Express, which was such a surprise and made the journey really special. We were then met with a big smile from Ndaba who we found out would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynnMS_66
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this review

Dear LynnMS_66, Thank you for the most fabulous review! This made my day reading such a heartfelt review of our very special Bomani camp! I will pass on all your wonderful comments to the staff at camp, especially Ndaba and Aubrey, who will be ecstatic to read your review as they love nothing more than ensuring guests have the perfect...

353 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
4:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (158)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hwange National Park
0.0 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,732 reviews
0.0 km away
The Hide
The Hide
#1 of 21 in Hwange National Park
417 reviews
0.0 km away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 21 in Hwange National Park
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 21 in Hwange National Park
147 reviews
0.0 km away
Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
#2 of 35 in Victoria Falls
279 reviews
0.0 km away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hwange National Park
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bomani Tented Lodge situated in the remote south east corner of Hwange National Park at Ngamo comprises:6 Hornbill luxury tents built on raised teak decks with en suite bathrooms with hot and cold running water showers and flush toilets. 4 Spurwing Luxury Tent Suites at ground level larger and again with en suite bathrooms with hot and cold running water and flush toilets1 Royal Suite which is a thatched brick cottage with all amenities incl overhead fans and bar fridges.The main lodge comprising bar lounge and dining room overlooks waterhole frequented by all the big game prevalent in the area.Game activities in the area include drives, walks and night drives conducted by fully licensed professional guides. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bomani Tented Lodge

Address: Ngamo Village, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Bomani Tented Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bomani Tented Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All our excellent and spaced well enough apart for privacy”
H9635ROjeffl, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Spurwing Rooms are best”
MikeGrahamHermanus, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The best tents are overlooking the waterhole”
chrispJ1721EB, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All suites have a view to the waterhole”
squashtragic, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the tent furthest from the Lodge”
  • Our tent was furthest from the Lodge
  • cape Buffalo, about 200 of them, trundle past our tent in the morning
jamesbR6768GM, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5