We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
60 Lake St, Cooperstown, Otsego, NY 13326-1042
E-mail hotel
Official Hotel
Booking.com
Priceline
Lol.travel
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (422)
Room & Suite (79)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 17/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Updated 17/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 16 in Cooperstown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the historic grand resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown's main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Canoeing
Golf course
Hiking
Tennis court
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English
941Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 648
  • 161
  • 69
  • 27
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Patsy S wrote a review 24 Jun
Saint Johnsville, New York12 contributions
The hotel and grounds are relaxing, clean, and beautifully appointed. The huge porch and rocking chairs looking out on the lake were the best part of our stay. The hotel decor seems perfect based on the era of the hotel. The staff is professional and friendly. Our room was immaculate but with no microwave or refrigerator. It did have an ample walk-in closet and a large spotless bathroom. The large bath towels are quite exorbitant and exfoliating. Warning, bring you own body lotion - none is provided. You can, however purchase lotion in the lobby. Also beware that the on-site restaurants are very expensive (breakfast buffet is $26.95). and all require advance reservations. Restaurants on Main Street are just a short walk from the hotel and the food is phenomenal. We recommend the family-friendly Doubleday Cafe. Obviously, based on my review, we are not a couple accustomed to "luxury".
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerri Keller, Guest Services / Front Office at The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your kind review.
Read more
David S wrote a review May 2022
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico107 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This is a excellent hotel. This historic hotel is a charming and beautiful property, situated at the end of the lake. It is also a easy walk to town and the Baseball Hall of Fame. My wife and I throughly enjoy our stay. If you are looking for a romantic get away, a relaxing time sitting by the lake or for a place for a family gathering this is a good place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerri Keller, Guest Services / Front Office at The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Responded 11 May 2022
Thank you for the 5-star review! We truly appreciate your kind words and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Read more
2toots wrote a review 21 Jun
Kingston, New York1249 contributions203 helpful votes
+1
A wedding weekend brought us to the Otesaga. 428 served us perfectly with a partial lake view and ample space in our room (I think we ended up with an upgrade and loved it!). There are 4 floors of rooms, top floor (5th floor) requires you to walk up a flight of stairs. The room I saw was great! Living room, bathroom, bedroom with windows in all 3 rooms. Hotel is spotless and seemed very well taken care of. Outdoor spaces were inviting. Pool was comfortable and heated with towels available. I took a yoga class on property and was spoiled by being the only one at it! Other classes are offered as well. If you are there for a wedding, expect to hear some celebratory noise. If you book a full lake view room, the outdoor spaces (fire pit, restaurant, rocking chairs) are below those rooms. Breakfast-a very substantial buffet-was included with our room. A short walk (10 minutes?) to Main Street is worth your while! We caught a game at Doubleday Field, browsed souvenir shops and ate! Toscana and Cooperstown Diner (the diner is so small, it has half of an address!!) we’re fantastic! I can’t wait to visit Cooperstown and the Otesaga again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Take the time to enjoy this beautiful property.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerri Keller, Guest Services / Front Office at The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We are positively thrilled that you enjoyed your time at the Otesaga and in Cooperstown! Thank you for your very kind words and 5-star review. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
turtleroz wrote a review May 2022
Brooklyn, New York2 contributions
The service at the Otesaga hotel is terrible. We waited in a long line to check in, the staff didn’t know anything about dining options in the area, their own restaurant wasn’t offering outdoor dining despite advertising that as an option. They have luggage carts for use which are a liability. They roll and crashed down 3 stairs hitting our car. The hotel handled this incident terribly. They have no staff helping with bags or even opening the heavy front door for guests wheeling the luggage carts. We requested a refrigerator when we reserved the room which they neglected to provide. After harassing the front desk staff finally they rolled one in reeking of salad dressing. The worst was that we were woken up at 1am by other guests. The walls are paper thin - do not expect to get a good night sleep. This hotel is overpriced and not worth it. We regret staying there.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
gnarfle23 wrote a review May 2022
Redding, California99 contributions42 helpful votes
The Otesaga was the third hotel and the anticipated high point of a trip 20 months in the making. It turned out to be a monumental failure and necessitated a mid-vacation shift of focus. We should have known when I was forced to struggle through the main entrance with a luggage cart and a recalcitrant door. There is no bell service at $500 per night and no one is minding the front door at four in the afternoon. Our room was large and somewhat shabby. There was a nice chair for reading. The room was ice cold, but warmed after an hour of thermostat bingo. The bathroom was clean and had a good range of products. We cannot comment on the plumbing. We did not stay long enough to use it. The beds seemed okay. We didn't really get to sleep in them. The was a wedding in the hotel that night. They were drunk and noisy all night and right outside the door of our room. There apparently was no security. At least none that I could find. I finally stuck my head out the door and yelled at them. I went to the desk at five AM. We were gone by seven AM. The Concierge cancelled the charges for the next two nights of our stay, but did not refund the night we paid as deposit. I would not return here. They are under new ownership.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerri Keller, Guest Services / Front Office at The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are disappointed to hear that we did not completely meet your expectations during your stay, please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience.
Read more
CHAD Trev wrote a review May 2022
Utica, New York1 contribution
We stayed at the hotel and our room was uncomfortably warm. We returned from our reception late and the room temperature was 77 degrees. We put the air conditioner on and attempted to go to bed. It is obvious that the air conditioning unit did not work and my family and I were unable to sleep at all that night because the temperature in the room never changed and remained 77 degrees throughout the night. We checked out early in the morning and made the front desk aware and were told that management would get back to us. We have never heard back from them. The room is way overpriced to have a cooling unit that doesn't work.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerri Keller, Guest Services / Front Office at The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are disappointed to hear that we did not completely meet your expectations during your stay, please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience.
Read more
Mr. Fisher wrote a review May 2022
Tampa, Florida387 contributions173 helpful votes
I decided to stay in a resort rather than a bed and breakfast because of all the amenities and entertainment advertised. Bad news is that in May, when the weather is already beautiful, there is still no swimming pool, kayaks, paddle boarding or tennis. The yoga "in the Lake" is once a week! There was a wedding and the noise of the attendees woke us up several times during the night. In general, we were very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerri Keller, Guest Services / Front Office at The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Responded 23 May 2022
We are disappointed to hear that we did not completely meet your expectations during your stay, please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience. Due to the unpredictability of the weather in this area, we typically don't offer outdoor amenities until Memorial Day Weekend.
Read more
Theresa Amarosa wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We have stayed at the Otesaga Hotel in Cooperstown many times in the past and have always found it to be worth the high price per room. We just returned from what was to be a three night stay at the hotel. We checked out a day early because of the poor quality of the hotel. I did complain to the front desk clerk. She seemed very disinterested. The hallways have a very musty odor to them. It's very unpleasant. The carpet in our room was frayed in places. The rooms need a complete make over. No one told us upon registering that they no longer make up the rooms. I suppose this is due to covid and I agree, but it would have been nice to have been told. We had to ask for more towels, coffee and cups. I asked for a refrigerator to be placed in the room when I made the reservations. It wasn't there, so I asked again. When it was brought to the room, it didn't work and had a terrible odor inside. The thermostat didn't work. No matter what temperature you set it, it stayed at 74. I turned it down to 70. Still 74. All in all, a big disappointment compared to the other times that I have stayed. This hotel needs to have some very real changes. I will not be staying at this hotel again. Save your money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerri Keller, Guest Services / Front Office at The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Responded 23 May 2022
We are disappointed to hear that we did not completely meet your expectations during your stay, please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience.
Read more
smithherlong06 wrote a review Apr 2022
Land O Lakes, Florida81 contributions55 helpful votes
Our first visit to this amazing resort.. Never have I been in a place with such elegance, attention to detail, and treatment of my wife and I. The view alone from our room was worth the visit. Add to that the amazing food, staff, and just overall excellence, you won't find a better place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerri Keller, Guest Services / Front Office at The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Responded 3 May 2022
Thank you for the 5-star review and kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
trking4_20 wrote a review Apr 2022
Garden City, New York1 contribution
While a rare snowstorm arrived in Historic Cooperstown, this did not dampen a trip booked more than six months prior. A few changes in wardrobe was the only thing needed. The staff was wonderful from the moment we checked in. The amenities were superb. The food was wonderful. It was not the first time we stayed there and we look forward to returning soon. I am not sure I should name certain individuals, so I will refrain.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Reserve a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerri Keller, Guest Services / Front Office at The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Responded 29 Apr 2022
Thank you for the 5-star review! We truly appreciate your kind words and are glad that the snowstorm didn't ruin your trip!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$333 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the otesaga hotel cooperstown, otesaga hotel cooperstown
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkOtsegoCooperstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
132
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Otesaga Resort Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Riverwood Gifts (0.4 km), American Baseball Experience/ Heroes of Baseball Wax Museum (0.5 km), and Cooper Country Crafts (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Otesaga Resort Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Otesaga Resort Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Otesaga Resort Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Otesaga Resort Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stagecoach Coffee, Nicoletta's Italian Cafe, and Alex's World Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Otesaga Resort Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Otesaga Resort Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Cooperstown.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Otesaga Resort Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Otesaga Resort Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Otesaga Resort Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hyde Hall (10.7 km).
Does The Otesaga Resort Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.