We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Spencer Hotel and Spa

Hotels.comUS$ 219*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 219*
US$ 220*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Spencer Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 182: English reviews
West Seneca, New York
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We booked the Jane Austen room for a Saturday night in November to do the wine and herb festival on the Chautaqua Wine Trail. The man who checked us in, Chris, was very nice, and turned the heat up in our room since it was quite cold when we walked in. Unfortunately, the temperature seemed to go up to 80...

2Thank Marriedcouple0901
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Upon arrival the guests were shown to their Room 201 (Jane Austin) they were asked if the accomodation was acceptable and were offered an opportunity look at alternative rooms. Had they made their concern known then, we would have immediately tried to resolve their concern. There was a night manager on duty in the house the evening of their stay...

Manama, Bahrain
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The hotel is beautiful and very welcoming. You really feel you're at home. The rooms are cozy and the porch is a great place to hang out and relax. The area itself is very beautiful. The rooms are a little on the smaller size, so keep that in mind, unless you get one of the bigger suites or so on.

Thank hosseini_88
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your complements about our facility and rooms. We strive to make each guest's stay a pleasant experience. We have a variety of standard rooms, junior and full suites that can meet most guests needs. See you again soon.

Pgh, PA
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Overpriced, paid in advance, reservation was to include dinners, chef had recently been fired....I chose not to check in, could not get my money back. The owner refused to make any concessions. Supposedly credited me for 'the inconvenience' the day I chose not to check in -- and no credit was ever given. I am still fighting to get back...

4Thank MJYPgh_PA
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We regret the reviewer's dissatisfaction. Difficulty arose from staff changes at our property during the last month of our primary summer season. The reviewer reserved a week's stay after our customary cancellation period had ended. As such the reservation and payment were non refundable in accordance with past practice of this property and others that have a seasonal market. Due...

Silver Creek, New York
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I got married on September 2nd on the summerwind....we chose to stay the night at the Spencer hotel in the honeymoon sweet..I contacted the Spencer ahead of time and talked to them about it...right away they wanted to help plan things...we got a limo lined up for cheap...they planned a massage for me...they also arranged for me to get my...

Thank Kristen B
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

We were honored that you chose the Spencer for your wedding preparations and honeymoon. We look forward to your return to celebrate you anniversary(s) for many years to come. Thank you for your complements and giving us an opportunity to serve you.

Commerce Township, Michigan
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked our stay based on the pictures on the website....very deceiving. Our room was pictured as a two twin beds, but upon arriving we discovered that the bed was actually a king bed with two headboards - one blanket, one top-sheet does not twin beds make. The room was freezing and we had to have staff come and turn...

Thank hmsband
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

The Spencer Hotel regrets that your stay did not meet your expectations. Had we known about your specific concerns while you were with us we would taken steps to immediately correct the items you found lacking. We had other rooms available that evening that would have been more acceptable to you. Earlier in the week of your stay our Chautauqua...

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed for one night when we went to see Roger Hodgson. Had a main floor room and could hear the sound checks just 150 feet away! This is a hotel in an historic structure - beds were comfortable, rooms well looked after and are what we expected. Staff did everything to ensure a pleasant stay. After the concert several...

Thank G37Guy
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

The guest's comments are most appreciated. Our staff truly enjoy being at the Spencer find ways to provide a hospitable stay for our guests. Thank you especially for your kind remarks about Franz and Shawn!

Waynesboro Virginia
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We come to Chautauqua every year for two weeks and rent the same house. This year, my 20 year old daughter and I needed to stay one more night after our two week rental was over. We stayed that night at the Spencer. The room was fine, the bathroom was clean but it took quite a while for the hot...

1Thank RecentTravel
TheSpencer, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our location and your stay with us. We appreciate your comment about hot water and have looked into the hot water system to ensure it deliver sufficient "hot" water when guests require it. Your comments about the "view" from our porches is one we often hear. As we are only 200 feet from the...

West Hartford, CT
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I'm sorry to have to agree with the last few reviews posted. The facilities and amenities were nowhere near worth the $1,000 we paid for a three-night stay. Our room (Clare Booth Luce) was not quite big enough for the two of us and our luggage. The bathroom was ok, though, apparently unlike some other rooms. But we were incredulous...

3Thank NJPM
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Old but clean and charming. No control over air condioner--must ask staff to change it. Porches are nice but, fouth floor porch can be very dangerous. Food was okay, not great. Very expensive for what you get.

1Thank Pittsburgh_PAAnn
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 26 July 2012

It was our first trip to Chautauqua Institution, and we loved this magical place, and we stayed at the Spencer Hotel for 4 nights. Since we only could stay for 4 nights, our choices were limited to the Spencer and a few other hotels. Pluses: The Spencer is in a good location, has a nice porch, and our room (Robert...

2Thank johnmac999

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (33)
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (36)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (14)
View from Room (1)
Dining (1)
Other (18)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
20.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
24.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
20.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
290 reviews
21.0 km away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
4.4 km away
Maple Springs Lake Side Inn
Maple Springs Lake Side Inn
#2 of 9 in Chautauqua
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Spencer Hotel & Spa is best described as 'more captivating than opening your favorite story-book.' Amidst our enchanting literary themed rooms and the private sanctuary of our spa, find yourself transported to a bygone place and time. Time spent in our steam sauna, a soak in our whirlpool tubs, and a week of pampering services leaves every one feeling as though they have gathered new strength. Each of the 24 guest rooms and suites were hand-decorated by local artists to honor the lives and works of famous authors. Each room has a select library of thoughtfully-chosen books and musical selections to further convey the tone of each writer's life and times. All of the rooms have central air conditioning and heat, cable television, free Wi-Fi, monogrammed robes, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, and Gilchriest and Soames bath amenities. Most of the rooms are outfitted with King beds and have brand new mattresses. Some of the rooms have desks, arm chairs, sofa beds, direct porch access and whirlpool/Jacuzzi tubs with European handheld showers. An elevator services all four floors. Steamboat Gothic porches grace the front of the hotel, and are appointed with Victorian sofas, chairs and rockers that overlook the famous Chautauqua Amphitheater. A gourmet savory or sweet breakfast is served each morning with fresh fruit in the Peacock Dining Room and luxurious massage services and a cedar sauna are available for guests to indulge in.The Spencer offers cozy areas that are perfect for playing a board game, curling up with a good book, or engaging in conversation. In the Monet Parlor a movie projector and screen are also available for use. Packages and specials are available for guests from Couples Renewal Weekends to Gourmet Dinners, Ladies Pampering and Wine Touring.The Spencer Hotel is the perfect place for small weddings, receptions, book-clubs, reunions, business retreats and more. Group packages can be custom built for your next event. During the 9 week Chautauqua Institution Season gate and parking passes are required for guests staying at The Spencer and need to be arranged through Chautauqua Institution. The Spencer Hotel rents by the week during these 9 weeks and provides guests with dinner Monday - Friday in addition to the gourmet breakfast that is offered year-round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel and Spa

Address: 25 Palestine Ave, Chautauqua, NY 14722-2536
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Price Range: ₹ 13,305 - ₹ 20,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spencer Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your The Spencer Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Hotel Chautauqua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Spencer Hotel and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The two women traveling together, the E F Benson room was good. Two comfy beds, warm cozy linens, etc. Nice shower, plenty of hot water.”
CollageChick, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a larger room if available; we were there only two nights and probably did not have the best room, although it was certainly adequate.”
jamiestanley13, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't go by the photos online. Very misleading. Ask for a "large" room. Some rooms looked infinitely better for the same price.”
phillypieS, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with access to the porch.”
P288LAnancyr, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“better off with an average room and not a suite”
849robertr, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 219* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 220
TravelocityUS$ 219
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates