We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Anchor Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Anchor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Anchor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Auburn, New York
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Well, I will be retuning to the Anchor Inn next week. I have visited NYC every April for 38 years. 30 of those years I have stayed at the Anchor Inn. It is in a great location, and over the years the staff has always been friendlly and helpful. They have made improvements over the years, and that is always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davemauburn
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope you continue to visit us for many years to come. You will be glad to hear that as in years gone by, we are still doing updates. We just finished renovating our public bathroom and the common areas are all about to be refinished as well (top to bottom).

Skillman, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I was extremely satisfied with this hotel! It was rated by AAA and the rate was the best in the area. The value was excellent. Staff very professional and attentive, hotel was quiet and room was immaculate. Parking was free and quick breakfast fresh. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing and recommending the Anchor Inn. We appreciate you as a guest and hope you continue to visit us in months/years to come. Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review for us here.

cork
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Recently stayed in the Anchor Inn for a week in all that time the carpet in my bedroom was not vaccumed and remained in a not very clean condition. Staff very pleaseant! but would not stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CorkJonpat4750
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that our staff did a good job with everything but the carpet. While we can not explain why there is a dirty carpet when a guest checks in as there is no excuse for it, we would like to publicly apologize that the room was not in perfect order for you when you arrived.

Huntington, New York
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I recently lost everything to Hurricane Sandy in Brooklyn New York. I had to stay at the Anchor Inn for a little over two months. The hotel staff were all polite and respectful to me. The room was cleaned daily and the housekeeping did not touch any of my personal property except to clean.When a room with a kitchenette became...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank De Bra W
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks DBW, for your review. We were very happy to have you with us and given the opportunity to help you and the many other families who lost their homes due to Hurricane Sandy. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as did all of the other "Sandy survivors". It's always nice to hear...

Great Neck, New York
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed here one night with the family after hurricaine Sandy. They totally took advantage of the fact that most hotels were booked and charged us twice the amount they usually charge. Our room was small, dated and reeked of stale cigarette smoke. They also never bothered to tell us that breakfast was included in our rate. We only found...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Branchilo
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you feel slighted and that we were "taking advantage" of the situation with the hurricane. We absolutely did not charge double our regular rate as you posted and in fact if you were to do a rate shop, you would see that this is not the case as well. We...

Richmond, California
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The only thing this hotel has going for it is its location three blocks from the Bayside train station. If you have business or family in Bayside, I guess it's OK. Otherwise, stay in Manhattan. The continental breakfast at the Adria, down the road, is much better.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim B
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. From reviews and constructive criticism such as your, we have made a list of top priorities of things to improve at our property. The number one item is the hallways (carpeting, lighting and walls), as such we have hired and interior decorator to redesign our common areas. This will include changing all of the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We initially booked this hotel as it was nearby to our son. When we arrived the front desk looked empty, on closer inspection the seat that the clerk was sitting on was so short you could only just see the top of his head ! The smell of cigarette smoke and marijuana was very distinctive (must have been coming from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sazza23
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Whew, I am glad that we spoke on the telephone and resolved everything as face to face as we could from overseas. We are extremely sorry about the lack of proper housekeeping that took place during your stay with us. Our housekeepers have been very busy ever since Hurricane Sandy hit and it seems that the one that was making...

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Here's the good...you can walk to eat, garage parking. Here's the bad...you cannot escape the cigarette smoke, its everywhere, in the lobby, in the halls, in your room (even if its non smoking.) Its so bad, that even the towels and bed linens smell of smoke. I'm not exaggerating. I had to run from my room to the car in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Trueblue2828
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We are happy to hear that our location met your needs. Please allow us to explain your main concern, the abundant smoky smell. Since Hurricane Sandy blew through NY in late October, we have had a lot of contracted workers for NY City and neighboring Nassau County, 95% of these workers were smokers. They...

Missoula, Montana
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed here in summer 2010. My friend was staying in Manhattan at the time so admittedly most of the time I spent out of my room. The time I did spend at the property however was a good experience. My King room was clean and there was adequate space. The 5 minute walk to the train that took me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael Q
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, better late than never. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us back in 2010. As much as you enjoyed your stay back then, I am certain you would enjoy your stay even more today than you did back then. We have added more amenities and done many upgrades. Come visit...

New York
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The Anchor Inn has not changed much inside since the 1970's. The rooms are old, smelly and dated. The price of the room at the Anchor is comparable to other hotels in the area (which are much more updated). Look elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Love2travel2carib
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Anchor Inn. I must honestly say, that I am not sure you have the correct Anchor Inn, we are located in Bayside, NY and I see that you have reviewed several hotels up and down the East Coast of the US. Perhaps you have our property mixed up with another hotel...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayside
0.5 km away
Best Western Queens Gold Coast
0.6 km away
Adria Hotel And Conference Center
4.2 km away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Andrew Hotel
The Andrew Hotel
#2 of 2 in Great Neck
190 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#7 of 18 in Flushing
255 reviews
7.7 km away
SpringHill Suites New York LaGuardia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable, convenient and cost effective, the Anchor Inn offers AAA accommodations for both the business and leisure traveler. Simply put, the Anchor Inn provides convenience to Manhattan as well as Long Island at affordable rates with downtown amenities. Whether you are traveling for a relaxing weekend, a corporate event, or a meeting downtown, no one showcases more unique accommodations. The Anchor Inn's front desk is open 24 hours a day for our guests' comfort and convenience. At most other hotels check in time is 3 pm, but at the Anchor Inn check in time is 12 pm, giving you more time to settle in and relax before dinner or an evening on the town. Our business center is open 24 hours a day where you can check your email, surf the web or put together some last minute documents while away from home or the office. Our state of the art fitness center is open daily from 8am through 10pm. It features a treadmill, recumbent bicycle, and a weight stack machine. We provide free high speed internet access via WIFI. We offer Lodgenet movies, music, and games on demand direct in each room. New York City convenience at very affordable rates. Leave your car and take a sightseeing tour of Manhattan arranged through tour operators that will pick you up and return you directly to the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Address: 21534 Northern Blvd, On the Corner of 215 Place and Northern Blvd, Bayside, NY 11361-3465
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Bayside
Price Range: ₹ 8,698 - ₹ 13,472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Anchor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Bayside
Anchor Hotel Bayside
Anchor Motor Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Anchor Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Anchor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay a little extra and get a room with jacuzzi”
 of 5 bubbles Sailormaineiac, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay here, ask for the back of the hotel (not street side) and for anon-smoking room -- that has never been a smoking room.”
 of 5 bubbles SpeakTruthBoston, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“too expensive for what you get”
 of 5 bubbles schmuka, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I do not recommend this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 440olyay, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“don't choose any room, noise is everywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles 417ellat, 6 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5