We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari

Save
Share
Botswana
Lowest prices for your stay
$4,050
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$4,050
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Destinia.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (206)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (18)

About

#36 of 76 Specialty lodging in Okavango Delta
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, Africa’s ultimate water-focused safari in Botswana’s Okavango Delta, is the ultimate luxury safari paradise. Nestled in Botswana’s lush Okavango Delta, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the world’s largest inland water systems, the lodge overlooks a lagoon that attracts a breathtaking variety of big game and exotic birds. Explore the region by local canoe, roam on foot or take to the air in an exhilarating helicopter flight overlooking the magnificent Botswana landscape. A wonderful secluded retreat, Belmond Eagle Island Lodge offers a safari vacation that brings together the excitement of discovery and an experience of the real Africa: this is the spirit of Belmond through and through.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic

Location

Full view
Contact
Botswana
Getting there
Maun Airport62 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
110Reviews13Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 90
  • 12
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Charlotte P wrote a review 5 Aug
Godalming, United Kingdom44 contributions40 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful lodge right in the middle of the floodplain . Hippos in the area right in front of the lodge. Luxury rooms, great food, range of safari options and the most attentive staff. Thanks to Rachel for taking care of us with Mary, Ushu, Owen, Joel and all the other staff in the lodge. Kops took us on such great drives, super knowledgeable, charming and so nice to spend time with. Gatsy and Coasta gave us some very special Mokuru outings where we saw so many water birds and heard all about the delta. The scenery is stunning and the service was absolutely 5star. See you next time!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: None - it’s got everything you need… take a speedboat outing to see more of the waterways
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GerryNuden wrote a review Jun 2022
Hinckley, United Kingdom56 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
Can’t recommend highly enough. Stayed here with my wife for 3 nights. The staff couldn’t be more welcoming, friendly and professional. Able to balance intimacy without being overbearing. The food was excellent. Enough variation with quality to match. Okavanga Gin on tap with a good range of South African red and white wines. My wife who is a vegetarian was well catered for. The room was of a very high standard, the best of the 3 lodges in Botswana we visited. The “piece de resistance” of the trip was of course the safaris. With only 3 jeeps allowed in this area (all belonging to Belmond) this does feel very exclusive. Our guide was the most knowledgeable of the trip. Whilst some patience is required for the game spotting you are very well rewarded with lifetime memories. Special mention must go to the manager of this Lodge who despite a glitch in our travel arrangements made us feel totally relaxed and resolved all the ongoing changes to our itinerary in sync with our travel company Trailfinders.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Close to the Eagle bar
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kiana Mandeville wrote a review Jul 2021
Bousval, Belgium6 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed at Eagle Island Lodge with our 3 children for 3 nights. Upon arrival, we were immediately blown away by the warm welcome from the staff and the unique modern twist on the lodge decor. The colours and patterns evoke all the animals and their habitats that you will experience on safari. The rooms are beyond luxurious, with a private plunge pool and oval bathtub in each room! The most amazing aspect, however, is the location of the lodge...right on the Okavango River. While game drives are an option, we chose instead to spend every day on the water, whether by motor boat, pontoon boat, mokoro (canoe) and loved every minute. The wildlife was plentiful and there were numerous opportunities for very close encounters thanks to our wonderful guide, Goms. This is definitely the jewels of the Delta and should not be left off of ANY itinerary!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tebogo Mapitse wrote a review Oct 2020
Gaborone, Botswana11 contributions
+1
Though Covid has greatly affected most tourists companies in Botswana, Belmond Eagle Island Lodge opened its doors for me and my partner basically meaning that we had the entire lodge to ourselves for 3 days. Straight from being picked up by Moses (our trusted guide) at the Airport we were welcomed with drinks and a light lunch for the journey ahead. On welcome to the lodge and for the duration of our stay, the staff were warm, highly attentive, informative, professional and bloody amazing. It takes a lot to keep staff motivated however, Belmond has been able to keep its staff happy and this is evident in their behavior. Food was amazing,generous and it always something new. They even organized a private3 course dinner in our tent one night. Moses was amazing and helped us spot two leopards in less than an hour during an evening drive(id never seen a leopard before in my life) and we also found a pride of 12 lions one morning. Tilly, Loedwyk(his new name is Uyapo) we’re attentive and never too far away , Rati and Madiga also took care of us and we enjoyed quite a number of laughs tigger. The Chef was highly accommodating and on two occasions made us chocolate cake and eggs Benedict even though they weren’t on the menu. Our Mekoro guide(Phillip) allowed me to take some of the most amazing photos. All I can say is, as a Motswana who got to experience a safari for the first time, I am really proud of this establishment and the standards it is maintaining in Botswana. Hopefully I can visit again when the floods return. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louise Pheiffer, Marketing at Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari
Responded 29 Oct 2020
Dear tebogomapitse92, Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your wonderful review. After such a long closure, it was so wonderful to welcome guests back to our lodges. We are delighted that you were so well taken care of by the team. Your images on social media is so beautiful, thank you for taking the time to share these memories with your friends and also to fellow travelellers on Trip Advisor. We are also hopeful that the floods will return (hopefully even stronger) than this year, and we can show you the water wonderland in all her glory... Until we see you again. Warmest regards, Louise
Read more
Turkeymil wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom78 contributions95 helpful votes
This was our 3rd Belmond camp in Botswana and whilst the hotel itself is stunning it still ran a second to the Savute Elephant Camp. Unfortunately during our stay there was a severe draught so the guides had to adapt, but they did this well, with some great drives. Again, like everywhere we saw in Botswana the landscape was stunning and we had some amazing sunsets. Our guide was good and persevered during drives and ultimately we were rewarded....it was a great way to end our holiday and I suspect we may return one day in the wet season.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Louise Pheiffer, General Manager at Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari
Responded 29 Sep 2020
Dear Turkeymil, Thank you very much for taking the time to review all three our lodges. We are truly delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful safari experience and that you were so well taken care of by our guides and despite visiting us in our drier season, you were rewarded with wonderful wildlife sightings. We are looking forward to welcome you back again soon to experience the Okavangao Delta in full flood, as it has been this season, the Delta water levels has bene the highest it's been in years! Warm regards Louise
Read more
franleaper wrote a review Feb 2020
Dorchester, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
Wonderful welcome; fabulous accommodation; lovely food and lovely people. The guide was amazing and we saw the 'big Five' but the fish eagles and the hippos were the real stars! We overlooked the river but the landscape in the wet season would be totally different. Must go again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LouisePheiffer, Manager at Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear franleaper, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are so happy that you managed to see the big five, that is just fantastic! If you love hippos and fish eagles, then the watery season is going to be such a treat for you as the Okavango Delta transforms into a water wonderland. We believe that the rainfall in the Angola area has been plentiful and that we will see the floodwaters reach our lodge allowing for a complete water safari experience for our guests. We do hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards Louise
Read more
Shana wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We spent 3nights at the Eagle Island Lodge and it was perfect! The staff make you feel like you are part of the family and our Game Driver, Goms, was phenomenal. The accommodation was luxurious with a handmade touch, the food was delicious and the game viewing was spectacular. We would highly recommend the Eagle Island Lodge!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LouisePheiffer, Manager at Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Dear Shana-01-2020 Thank you so much fro your fabulous review! We are delighted that you were so well taken care of and that you left with long lasting memories of your safari with us. Warm regards Louise
Read more
Nick G wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom176 contributions70 helpful votes
Our third Belmond Lodge. The best until last . Accommodation , Food and the Jeep for Safari all better than the previous two lodges . Unfortunately due to low water levels impossible to do tour by canoe or boat however this did not matter at all as once again our guide was excellent . Rhino , Hippopotamus , Crocodile , Mongoose and Wild Dogs in abundance
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Close to the main lodge
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LouisePheiffer, Manager at Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear F7638VCnickg, Thank you for sharing your review of this fabulous safari with us! We are delighted that you had such excellent sightings during your stay at Eagle Island Lodge, Warm regards Louise
Read more
Fandog4155 wrote a review Jan 2020
Claremont, California230 contributions9 helpful votes
Not sure what is going on at Eagle Island but man was it in disrepair, or a state of apathy, when we were there in December. While I get the vibe that maybe you leave nature to do its thing, it still would be nice if it didn't look like a tsunami had come through the place. Branches, debris, animal dung everywhere. Since there's been a drought the whole place looks dry and unkempt. Go ahead and just clear out a little of the sticks and yard trash to make the place look a little more cared for. The Fish Bar was a complete wreck. Broken glass, cigarette butts, beer cans, baboon poop on the ledges, furniture overturned. Looks like no one had been out there in ages. Management, when asked, said guests had eaten out there the night before and left their stuff. No way. There was no sign of life, no sign of a bar being open, no sign that anyone had been around in a while. To cut back on plastic there is a large plastic water bottle from which you fill the supplied canteens. Never had water it in. Instead the staff poured small plastic water bottles into said canteen. Pointless really. Food took 45 minutes and there was no one eating but us. No water around the camp to view the wildlife--not the camp;sfault but a point to note that in December you aren't getting the Okavango experience. Lastly tents are too close to one another and have not been designed for privacy. While you're in your plunge pool your guest can see you. While you're in your bed you can just look into your neighbor's tent. My minibar still had a half-drunk bottle of someone's wine. Nothing was replenished so there wasn't much to drink out of the bar. All in all it was a very strange experience and one I will never repeat. Great game drive though.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LouisePheiffer, Manager at Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear Fandog4155, We are so disappointed to read your review of our recent safari at Eagle Island Lodge. Your review was shared with the management team to look into all your points raised as this is most certainly not our service standard. The baboons are known for causing quite the commotion at the Fish Eagle Bar when they pass by, they do enjoy using it as their jungle gym at times, but sounds like they had a proper party! We strive to offer our guests a memorable safari experience in the Botswana wilderness and we are so sorry that you left with a less than memorable experience and thank you for your compliment on your good game drive. Warm regards, Louise
Read more
The Boiss wrote a review Jan 2020
Paris, France419 contributions204 helpful votes
I’ve been on several safaris, and this lodge has by far the most luxurious and elegant rooms I’ve ever seen. Gorgeous decor, in the public areas as well. The food is so-so. The staff is friendly, but not as attentive as at the other Belmond Safari camps. And for the amount of money one pays, I wish one had more flexibility with the rides. Instead, one is only given 2 options: the 6:30 game drive and the 4pm drive. Both way too early. And it’s the wrong season so they shouldn’t advertise experiences they can’t deliver, like the water activities. Still, a stunning place, the nicest of the Belmond properties.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LouisePheiffer, Manager at Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear boissjetsetter, Thank you for your review of our recent safari at Eagle Island Lodge. We offer the game drives at these times as the wildlife is most active early morning and late afternoon, drives later on the wildlife will mostly be finding shade under trees to find relief from the summer heat. We do offer our guests a private guide on request that will make this experience more flexible. The water levels can change at any time, our summer months offer the lowest water levels, however it is also the rainy months, so we offer experiences as and when possible. After a lovely rainstorm, a mekoro safari will be full of interesting things to see. During the dryer months, we offer nature and game drives and we can reach areas not accessible to us during high floods. We do however understand your disappointment with the low water levels. The Okavango Delta is such a special place, the sounds of the Fish Eagles and the grunting hippos are just unforgettable. Warm regards Louise
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$4,039 - $4,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
eagle island camp by orient-express hotel okavango delta
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Belmond Safaris
LOCATION
BotswanaNorth-West DistrictOkavango Delta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari
What are some of the property amenities at Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Eagle Island Lodge A Belmond Safari?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.