We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chitabe Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chitabe Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chitabe Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Our 3rd and final stop in the Okavango, Chitabe was remarkable for its varied scenery and wildlife. I lost track of the lion sightings, which included two males posing in the early morning light by a watering hole, a pride of females and several rambunctious cubs, and a one-eyed female on the hunt (we were assured she was the most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeftymartinMiles
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this review

Dear LeftymartinMiles, Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback - not only about Chitabe but Botswana in general! The scenery is beautiful and the wildlife is amazing (all those lion sightings are a case in point), however, we would agree that it is the people who bring it all together. They take great pride in sharing their knowledge and...

Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We spent 4 days at Chitabe Camp in mid-June....probably a day too many. The camp is lovely, although, we understand that it will be rebuilt within the next year. Our tent was wonderful. Very comfortable and private. Loved sitting on the deck. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and very helpful. Enjoyed the opportunity to speak with the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joefish925
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this review

Dear Joefish925, Thank you for your great, although slightly mixed review. We are glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, we only wish it could have been perfect in every way. We will be sure to look into the concerns you raised regarding the disappointing dinners we will additionally have a talk with Duke about the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 July 2016

This was a great place for animal sightings, we even saw a rhinoceros! Duke, our guide was great at ferreting out the animals. We were even able to see a pack of wild dogs running around us! Also rare is that we saw a male and female leopard near each other.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank runningtheglobe
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this review

Dear Runningtheglobe, Thank you for the wonderful feedback we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the time spent with Duke on your adventures. That is a very rare leopard sighting and hope you have some wonderful photos to go along with your memories. Kind regards Wilderness Safaris

Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

The really strange thing about safari, is that it's not just 1 thing that makes a good safari experience. It's a number of things; the lodge, the sightings, the fun you have in the jeep, the vibe in camp. Here just felt fabulous. We had MD as a guide & he'd been our guide in Kings Pool 7 years ago,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Coffee&applepie
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this review

Dear Coffee&applepie, Thank you for your brilliant review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your time with MD and look forward to sharing your kind words with him. We hope you got some wonderful photos of your many sightings especially the always adventurous wild dogs. Please come visit us again, and soon. Kind regards Wilderness Safaris

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 June 2016

This is an amazing camp and experience. From our arrival at Maun, greeted by Wildersness staff, to our short flight into the airstrip near Chitabe. We were greeted by our ranger/driver who's name is O.D., he kindly requested that we do not immediately go to the camp, as there was a near by lion sighting, so off we went on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pshah99
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this review

Dear Pshah99, Thank you for your fabulous review, we are thrilled to hear what a wonderful stay you had with us as well as your time spent on your adventures with O.D. Sounds like you had some amazing sightings, sadly those frisky wild dogs were hiding, but that just gives you even more reason to come visit us again. We...

Paris, France
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Chitabe was our final destination and great for diverse animal sightings- we saw hyena pups emerge from their den, two young families of lions and lots of elephants, ostriches, giraffes, zebras, wildebeest but alas no cheetahs. One of the fun things to do was take a night drive and spot the glowing eyes of genets ( small mammals in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jomo753
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jomo753, Thank you for your beautiful review, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you took advantage of the outdoor shower, it is quite an experience. We are glad to hear Duke was able to give you so many great sightings and hope you took many great photos of all your...

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

This was the third Wilderness-managed camp on our trip, the second in Botswana, and we were impressed from the start with how well-run it was. On arrival, after an introductory talk from the manager, Mamma Jo, over a refreshing drink, light lunch was arranged before we were taken to our room to freshen up prior to the afternoon game drive....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LaDolceVita27
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this review

Thank you LaDolceVita, for your wonderful review, we are overjoyed to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Sounds like you had some marvellous sightings and hope you git beautiful photos to match the memories. We have passed your beautiful words on to Duke already, who we have no doubt will be extremely pleased and grateful. We hope...

Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Chitabe is so far the best camp we've been to. The rooms are spacious and very well accommodated. The food is great, the staff friendly and very helpfull and last but not least our guide Phinley was extraordinay. He is knowledgeable, friendly, attentive a good driver and superb guide. We've had a great time there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louisa F
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Louisa F, for your fabulous review, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every element of your stay with us. We cannot wait to share your kind words with Phinley and hope you will visit us all again soon. Thank you again Wilderness Safaris

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We really enjoyed our time at Chitabe, which had a very warm, friendly feel. The game was absolutely amazing, and I fell in love with a pair of lion sisters whom we tracked every day we were there (four days in total) -- we were with them in their triumphs (warthog feast!) as well as their disappointments (little sister, stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannahcat_11
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this review

Dear Hannahcat_11, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to hear all your wonderful memories of your stay with us and the fantastic time you had with Phinley. We will be sure to share your high praises with him and the whole Chitabe family. A honey badger is a rare and amazing sighting, we hope you have great...

brisbane
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Apart from the amazing wildlife ,luxurious accomodation and sensational dining the staff were outstanding.Not only did the do their usual jobs,the sang,danced ,shared their experiences with us.It was a fabulous time and we would recommend to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kimlBrisbane
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this review

Dear Kim, Thank you for your beautiful review, we are glad to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and what a big role our wonderful hard working staff had to play tint that. We will be sure to pass along your kind words and high praises. Kind regards Wilderness Safaris

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
0.0 km away
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
#1 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
195 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
194 reviews
0.0 km away
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
#10 of 71 in Okavango Delta
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
209 reviews
0.0 km away
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
#8 of 71 in Okavango Delta
132 reviews
0.0 km away
Khwai Tented Camp
Khwai Tented Camp
#8 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The archetypal Okavango game-viewing destination. Raised on decks on a beautiful tree island in the south-east of the Okavango, Chitabe Camp looks out across a Delta floodplain that is transformed during winter from dry rushes to lush oasis, one of only a few distinct habitats in this diverse concession. Back in camp, the thatched dining and lounge area provide beautiful views, while each tent exudes its own personality, aided by superb fine art wildlife photographs. A pool provides cool sanctuary in the heat of the day. Highlights On this classic safari experience, game drives take in the different habitats - the variety of these ensures that there is an equal diversity of wildlife, including big game such as elephant and buffalo, but also a range of plains game species like wildebeest, tsessebe and lechwe in numbers that support healthy lion, leopard and hyaena numbers, as well as regular visits by wild dog and cheetah. The camp is composed 8 Tents: Spacious en-suite Meru-type tents, individually styled; outdoor shower; double vanity basins. Experiences include: Day and night game drives • Guided walks (on request) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chitabe Camp

Address: Bordering Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Price Range: ₹ 33,841 - ₹ 71,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chitabe Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Chitabe Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chitabe Camp staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Chitabe Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the tents are luxurious with full bathrooms ensuite and indoor and outdoor showers.”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller37_13, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You are assigned a luxury tent :) This is not a hotel, but a wonderfully luxurious tented camp.”
 of 5 bubbles GwensGramma, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great tented camp”
 of 5 bubbles stanleycamp, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“if you want more of a wildlife experience try and get one of the tents at the end of the camp...tends to have more wildlife around them.”
 of 5 bubbles rRobJ, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are quite separate with their own view, so all have a uniqueness about them”
 of 5 bubbles tracey794, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5