We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Farm 67 Hainaveld, Central Kalahari, Central Kalahari Game Reserve Botswana
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams$1,262
Agoda.com$1,261
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (195)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (10)

About

#5 of 9 Specialty lodging in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Evolve Back, Kalahari, formally known as Haina Kalahari Lodge, situated on the northern border of the Central Kalahari Game Reserve in Botswana. Classically African, relaxed and informal accommodation is offered in luxury safari tents. The main boma of wood and thatch houses the lounge, dining room and bar area. Mobile overnight and day trip safaris are offered into the Game Reserve. Activities on offer include game drives, bush dinners, star gazing and an unforgettable experience with the local Bushmen people.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Laundry service
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic

Location

Full view
Contact
Farm 67 Hainaveld, Central Kalahari, Central Kalahari Game Reserve Botswana
See all nearby hotels
115Reviews3Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 15
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Topi wrote a review Aug 2021
Hamburg, Germany2 contributions
3 days/nights from 10-13 July 2021 A very special location on the edge of the Central Kalahari. Great luxury tents and a perfect service by the management and the personal guide. The well-being of the guest is clearly in the foreground of the It is to be hoped that the Haina concession area will be enriched with more wildlife
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Luxury Tent
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ronell Van Staden, General Manager at Evolve Back, Kalahari
Responded 21 Sep 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the excellent review. I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your feedback regarding the wildlife and have conveyed the same to my superiors. Rest assured the issue will be addressed. We look forward to your return. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niek wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions
This was a terrific experience. We were treated like VIP's. A very serene environment/location. The trip to the lodge,, despite the long track along the fence, was worthwhile. The setting is ideal for experiencing the wild of the Kalahari. Even around the lodge itself there is enough to see. The only noises that we heard were those of the wild especially the roars of the lions at night. Our guide TT could answer all our questions during the trips we made. The host were very helpful and made a great effort for us to enjoy the stay. The meals were great and we had them at different spots at the location, also the bush dinner was special. A place you want to visit again. Thanks for the hospitality
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ronell Van Staden, General Manager at Evolve Back, Kalahari
Responded 20 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are glad to hear that you had a memorable visit - roaring lions can certainly be memorable! I will convey your compliments to TT and the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marco I wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Amazing place!!!! The staff is really top level, and the amenities are great !!! FOOD ,DRINK ,GAME DRIVES ALL PERFECT! pool and a Waterhole where animals go for drinking, ABSOLUTLEY RECOMMENDED PLACE!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ronell Van Staden, General Manager at Evolve Back, Kalahari
Responded 30 Jul 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review and recommendation. We appreciate you taking the time to write the same as it is what drives us to do better. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
susanna wrote a review Jul 2021
Varese, Italy510 contributions96 helpful votes
We went there during our trip in Botswana. The staff is absolutely great and the amenities are great too. You can have a full Kalahari experience like the meeting with San, game drives, dinner in the bush under the stars (that is unforgettable!!!). There is a pool and a Waterhole where animals go for drinking. The food is tipical and tasty. You can feel the Kalahari.. At all!! Nature is all around you. Good choise!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Wanda Wolmarans, General Manager at Evolve Back, Kalahari
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Dear Guest. Thank you for the wonderfully positive review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will convey your compliments to my team and. I am sure they will be delighted. Looking forward to having with us again.Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Boipelo M wrote a review Jul 2021
8 contributions
+1
Firstly...the drive there from Gaborone is far , using the Transkalahari Highway,from the Veternary gate...get ready and fuel up to drive along the CKGR cut line for a distance of 130km on gravel road (3-4hrs). Its a beautiful road with animals along and also scary if you dont know it 😄😄 The lodge made the drive worth it.We arrived to a beautful afternoon with our host ready to take us through. If you want to have the best stay Evolve is great selection as they have the most hospitable staff ,entertaining and warm. Conversations,food,sunsets,bushwalk,game drive...you name it ...all amazing and worth every penny. I recommend couples cause the scenary is so romantic... The food and the view from rooms was beauty in the eyes,.The last night was closed of with a Bush Dinner..bonfire and all. This place is amazing and so is the area ,OMG and the animals ,we saw lion on its hunt for an impala.. cameras ready for that million dollar pic. Got and experience the CKGR and stay here 💯💯💯
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wanda Wolmarans, General Manager at Evolve Back, Kalahari
Responded 7 Jul 2021
: Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your generous compliments. We really appreciate it. We understand, appreciate and fully agree with you on the drive along the cut line! I have personally conveyed your appreciation to my team. They join me in thanking you for the same. We look forward to your return and to another opportunity to create a memorable holiday experience for you and your family. Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jurgen B wrote a review Apr 2021
Brussels, Belgium2676 contributions728 helpful votes
We loved this lodge. The hosts are fantastic, the tent is superb, the food very good. We loved that sometimes we ate all together, staff and guests, and sometimes they prepared us a special table, always on another spot. Wildlife was rather difficult to see those three days, but they have a superb resident genet and a lion came by during breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Wanda Wolmarans, General Manager at Evolve Back, Kalahari
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback. We consider guest feedback essential to improving our experiences. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your vacation with us. I have conveyed your appreciation to the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you and your family once again. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francois D wrote a review Nov 2019
Bordeaux, France200 contributions73 helpful votes
The hosts, Ludwig ans Annetjie, are so friendly that staying at Haina is for sure a unique experience. Everything goes smooth and service is of high-quality at the camp. the game was just remarkable. Meeting the bushmen during one of them was amazing. Let's hope the lions stay around as they were last week.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Tens with a bath tube
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HainaKalahariLodge, General Manager at Evolve Back, Kalahari
Responded 24 Nov 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review. It is extremely motivating for us to be appreciated by guests like you. I have personally conveyed your appreciation to the entire team and they join me in thanking you for the same. We look forward to your return and to another opportunity to create a memorable holiday experience for you and your family. Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hetty van Zyl wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
We visited Haina Kalahari Lodge recently and it was a most pleasant time. The Managers, Ludwig and Hannetjie, were very efficient and friendly and we felt welcome. We slept in a superior tent which was exceptional especially with glass walls in the toilet and shower that gives the feeling you really are in the wild. It is well-equipped and luxurious, true to the four star rating. The food and staff assistance was something special and the Bushmen walk with Wynand the field guide was a highlight as well as the sundowner on the airstrip. We saw lion feeding, giraffe, leopard, oryx, gemsbok and lots of kudu and impala. The campsite Brakah was clean and neat with soap, toilet paper, hand towels and hot water, however a bit pricey but I can recommend it for campers. The lodge is beautiful and well situated overlooking a waterhole which makes for a nice view with lots of game coming and going all day. Self-drive to a number of waterholes to visit is easy. Please remember the water is salty and not for human consumption but the lodge provides fresh water. Overall, a place not to be missed when you are in central Kalahari.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Koot C wrote a review Sep 2019
3 contributions
Camped at Brakah Campsite from 27-31 August. Although the water is very salty the showers and ablution facilities were spotless. The campsites under ample shade trees are clean and pleasant. Bring your own drinking water. The staff was very professional and friendly. They gave us all the relevant information about the waterholes, interesting facts and a map of the area for selfdrives. The highligt is that the experience was truely what I expected in the Kalahari bush. Take time and drive to some of the waterholes. Lots of Kudu, Zebra, Impala and also some Eland, Blue Wildebeest and Giraffe. Lion spoor went through the camp one evening, and we were lucky enough to see two females at a waterhole late one afternoon. We also went on a Bushman walk which is highly recomendable. Arange at the lodge. Also visited the CKGR on a daytrip. Wifi and drinking water available at the Lodge. Although a bit pricy definately worth the visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kalaharidreaming wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
This upmarket high end lodge inconceivably decided to develop a campsite on the farm. It is the only campsite located on the north side of the vet fence traversing the CKGR. I imagine very few campers travel that road but if you do, as we did, its very convenient indeed and is in a great setting under purple pod Terminalia trees. However when we stayed it was a total mess with overflowing bins, rubbish strewn all over and no water. The manager pitched up mid afternoon and promised to send staff to clean up and to check the water. He did nothing. If this was a cheap campsite one might have overlooked this and simply appreciated the convenience of a safe overnight stop. It is not. Even our so-called discounted rate for two adults was four times the price of other local campsites. Given this ridiculous price the contempt in providing any basics at all, not even firewood, is totally unacceptable. Travelers should avoid it and wild camp among the elephants if necessary
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from witnessafrica, Manager at Evolve Back, Kalahari
Responded 30 Aug 2019
Good day, We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. Haina Kalahari Lodge takes reviews very seriously as it is our importance to ensure all guests receive an outstanding experience. You did not get the service that we pride ourselves in!! We are currenlty training new staff which will help our service become better in the future. We realize it does not make your expreince any better, but hope for your understanding. Maybe you can come back another day to see the better side of us. All the best for you and your travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$794 - $1,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Haina Safari Lodge
LOCATION
BotswanaGhanzi DistrictCentral Kalahari Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Evolve Back, Kalahari
What are some of the property amenities at Evolve Back, Kalahari?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Evolve Back, Kalahari?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Evolve Back, Kalahari?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Evolve Back, Kalahari?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Evolve Back, Kalahari have airport transportation?
Yes, Evolve Back, Kalahari offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.