We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Farm 67 Hainaveld, Central Kalahari, Central Kalahari Game Reserve Botswana
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (188)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (9)

About

#5 of 9 Speciality lodging in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Evolve Back, Kalahari, formally known as Haina Kalahari Lodge, situated on the northern border of the Central Kalahari Game Reserve in Botswana. Classically African, relaxed and informal accommodation is offered in luxury safari tents. The main boma of wood and thatch houses the lounge, dining room and bar area. Mobile overnight and day trip safaris are offered into the Game Reserve. Activities on offer include game drives, bush dinners, star gazing and an unforgettable experience with the local Bushmen people.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Laundry service
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
Farm 67 Hainaveld, Central Kalahari, Central Kalahari Game Reserve Botswana
See all nearby hotels
107Reviews3Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 14
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jurgen B wrote a review 12 Apr
Brussels, Belgium2,464 contributions661 helpful votes
We loved this lodge. The hosts are fantastic, the tent is superb, the food very good. We loved that sometimes we ate all together, staff and guests, and sometimes they prepared us a special table, always on another spot. Wildlife was rather difficult to see those three days, but they have a superb resident genet and a lion came by during breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Wanda Wolmarans, General Manager at Evolve Back, Kalahari
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback. We consider guest feedback essential to improving our experiences. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your vacation with us. I have conveyed your appreciation to the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you and your family once again. Warm Regards,
Read more
Francois D wrote a review Nov 2019
Bordeaux, France197 contributions51 helpful votes
The hosts, Ludwig ans Annetjie, are so friendly that staying at Haina is for sure a unique experience. Everything goes smooth and service is of high-quality at the camp. the game was just remarkable. Meeting the bushmen during one of them was amazing. Let's hope the lions stay around as they were last week.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Tens with a bath tube
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from HainaKalahariLodge, General Manager at Evolve Back, Kalahari
Responded 24 Nov 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review. It is extremely motivating for us to be appreciated by guests like you. I have personally conveyed your appreciation to the entire team and they join me in thanking you for the same. We look forward to your return and to another opportunity to create a memorable holiday experience for you and your family. Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times. Warm Regards,
Read more
Hetty van Zyl wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
We visited Haina Kalahari Lodge recently and it was a most pleasant time. The Managers, Ludwig and Hannetjie, were very efficient and friendly and we felt welcome. We slept in a superior tent which was exceptional especially with glass walls in the toilet and shower that gives the feeling you really are in the wild. It is well-equipped and luxurious, true to the four star rating. The food and staff assistance was something special and the Bushmen walk with Wynand the field guide was a highlight as well as the sundowner on the airstrip. We saw lion feeding, giraffe, leopard, oryx, gemsbok and lots of kudu and impala. The campsite Brakah was clean and neat with soap, toilet paper, hand towels and hot water, however a bit pricey but I can recommend it for campers. The lodge is beautiful and well situated overlooking a waterhole which makes for a nice view with lots of game coming and going all day. Self-drive to a number of waterholes to visit is easy. Please remember the water is salty and not for human consumption but the lodge provides fresh water. Overall, a place not to be missed when you are in central Kalahari.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Koot C wrote a review Sep 2019
3 contributions
Camped at Brakah Campsite from 27-31 August. Although the water is very salty the showers and ablution facilities were spotless. The campsites under ample shade trees are clean and pleasant. Bring your own drinking water. The staff was very professional and friendly. They gave us all the relevant information about the waterholes, interesting facts and a map of the area for selfdrives. The highligt is that the experience was truely what I expected in the Kalahari bush. Take time and drive to some of the waterholes. Lots of Kudu, Zebra, Impala and also some Eland, Blue Wildebeest and Giraffe. Lion spoor went through the camp one evening, and we were lucky enough to see two females at a waterhole late one afternoon. We also went on a Bushman walk which is highly recomendable. Arange at the lodge. Also visited the CKGR on a daytrip. Wifi and drinking water available at the Lodge. Although a bit pricy definately worth the visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Kalaharidreaming wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
This upmarket high end lodge inconceivably decided to develop a campsite on the farm. It is the only campsite located on the north side of the vet fence traversing the CKGR. I imagine very few campers travel that road but if you do, as we did, its very convenient indeed and is in a great setting under purple pod Terminalia trees. However when we stayed it was a total mess with overflowing bins, rubbish strewn all over and no water. The manager pitched up mid afternoon and promised to send staff to clean up and to check the water. He did nothing. If this was a cheap campsite one might have overlooked this and simply appreciated the convenience of a safe overnight stop. It is not. Even our so-called discounted rate for two adults was four times the price of other local campsites. Given this ridiculous price the contempt in providing any basics at all, not even firewood, is totally unacceptable. Travelers should avoid it and wild camp among the elephants if necessary
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from witnessafrica, Manager at Evolve Back, Kalahari
Responded 30 Aug 2019
Good day, We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. Haina Kalahari Lodge takes reviews very seriously as it is our importance to ensure all guests receive an outstanding experience. You did not get the service that we pride ourselves in!! We are currenlty training new staff which will help our service become better in the future. We realize it does not make your expreince any better, but hope for your understanding. Maybe you can come back another day to see the better side of us. All the best for you and your travels.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$859 - US$983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Haina Safari Lodge
LOCATION
BotswanaGhanzi DistrictCentral Kalahari Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Evolve Back, Kalahari
What are some of the property amenities at Evolve Back, Kalahari?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Evolve Back, Kalahari?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Evolve Back, Kalahari?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Evolve Back, Kalahari?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Evolve Back, Kalahari have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Evolve Back, Kalahari offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.