We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sea Star Lodge

Expedia.comUS$ 87*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 91*
US$ 87*
US$ 88*
US$ 91*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sea Star Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 143: English reviews
Start your review of Sea Star Lodge
 Click to rate
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed there the night of our wedding before leaving for Knysna the next morning. We were so blessed by the outstanding hospitality and service from Kate and Blessed who work there. They went out of their way to make us feel relaxed and at home. We enjoyed it so much that we booked to stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoiraLotz
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea Star Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we are welcoming you back soon. Take care and enjoy Knysna and see you soon. Kind Regards Sea Star Lodge management

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

A little tricky to find offers Sea Star Lodge good quality. Very nice welcome from Manager Kate and Blessom. Our Room was large, the two other rooms smaller. Great view from Terrasse, pool, gym and Sauna were available but very small. Good breakfast. Ideal to reach the shark diving just 10 minutes away. Wifi signal weak, the stereo in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jörg P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Extremely polite manager and very modern and stylish rooms with trendy African decoration. Very small swimming pool, sauna and absolutely beautiful sea view. Certainly a good place for people seeking quietness.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Detlev W
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea star Guest thank you for taking you time to post a review of our property. we are pleased that you noticed our polite service and the you loved the sea view. we hope to welcome you again in future. Warm regards Kate and Blessed

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had an incredible few days of rest at this gorgeous lodge with great hospitality offered by Blessed and the gorgeous Kate. Breakfast an absolute feast and dinner bookings by Kate did not disappoint! Can truly reccommend to anybody needing to be spoiled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celia A
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea star Guest Thank you for taking your time to review our property. It was a great pleasure hosting you, we hope to welcome you again in future. Kind and Warm Regards Blessed, Kate and the Sea star Lodge Team

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were greeted on arrival by the management team of Blessed and Kate who were incredibly helpful and friendly.The rooms are fitted out with the mod cons that the super wealthy would term as normal but for us an eye opener.Not always practical the mod cons but gave the overall experience glamour.A stones throw away from the sea and 3...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alandesireed
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kind Guest Thank you for taking your time to review our Guest house. It is a great pleasure to know that you had a delightful stay at our Guest house. We will work hard to maintain a friendly service to all. All the best to you.

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Modern bedrooms designed to give great views of sea and coastline. Very comfortable with silent air conditioning. Staff, particularly Elonique very helpful and made all our bookings at local restaurants for lunch & dinner during the 2 nights we stayed here. Breakfasts were excellent with good choice of everything you could wish for. Particularly notable was the eggs benedict presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Peter Thank you very much for your kind words about our Lodge and your stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you had a satisfactory time and enjoyed our services. We wish to welcome you back in the near future. Safe travels. Kind Regards Ellenique - Sea Star Lodge Manageress

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

I was recently lucky enough to stay in this hidden gem!! My dad had booked us in here for the evening of my birthday and as a little congratulations present as we had just got engaged... I am so glad we come across this place and we stayed here. -the staff were lovely and friendly and couldn't do anymore for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank char100290
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea Star Guest Thank you so much for your kind words of praise about our Lodge. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and that you were fully satisfied. It was lovely to host you. We hope to see you in the near future again. Kind Regards Managaress - Ellenique

Reviewed 4 February 2017

Spent 2 nights of our honeymoon in the smallest room with just about space to open a suitcase. The room needs a lot of work - stains on the wall and ceiling, shower door not closing properly, window blinds partially broken. Very loud with people coming up and down the stairs, dog hairs everywhere including on serviettes at breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren F
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Darren Thank you for taking the time to write your honest review of Sea Star Lodge. I have taken your feelings into account and I deeply apologize that we are not up to your standard. I know it is a bit too late, however we are doing something about your response and we are aware of the maintenance that...

Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Great friendly host. Breakfast was adequate and our room was great (honeymoon suite), although the toilet was a bit loose. Overall the building needs some attention. We had a great experience and will certainly stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MAXIMVS M
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea Star Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our Lodge. It pleases me to hear that you had a pleasurable stay. Regarding the maintenance side, i am aware of the things that needs to be replaces, we are currently in the process of revamping up the place. We hope to welcome...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Wow is all I can say about this wonderful lodge. I stayed in the rooftop rooms and the view from our private balcony was breathtaking. The service was excellent and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. They have the two cutest dogs that love cuddles. I had a weekend away with my fiancé and the stay really made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cubbles1
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea Star Guest Thank you for your kind words regarding our lodge, service and experience. We feel so rewarded with your review. Enjoy your holiday further Kind Regards Sea Star Management

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
1.4 km away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
603 reviews
1.0 km away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.8 km away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#5 of 30 in Gansbaai
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
89 reviews
0.7 km away
Whalesong Lodge
Whalesong Lodge
#8 of 30 in Gansbaai
278 reviews
0.9 km away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated directly at the Walker Bay facing the Atlantic Ocean and the coastline of Hermanus you'll find this small exclusive lodge. At this place luxury ambiance meets genuine warmth and here you'll experience the wonders of nature in their full glory. Whether you are looking for adrenalin and decide to go on a shark cage diving trip to discover the Great White Sharks or if you decide to savour the local wines at the estates in the nearby Stanford Valley - our friendly staff would be glad to assist you with information and make your stay an unforgettable and enjoyable experience. The modern and spacious design of the lodge provides breathtaking sea views. The African arts blend in perfectly with the modern design and create a unique luxury atmosphere ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sea Star Lodge

Address: 19 Ingang Straat | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Price Range: ₹ 5,495 - ₹ 14,867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Star Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sea Star Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Gansbaai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sea Star Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“End rooms for panoramic views but all the rooms have views to die for.”
alandesireed, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First floor rooms at front of hotel have good views. Even better are rooms on 3rd floor above breakfast room with absolutely stunning views”
A371QLpeterd, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Any of the rooms facing the sea will give you a great view.”
colin007liebenberg, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with large balcony to get great sea views”
421JennyB, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are there at Sunset”
352ferdiem, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 87* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 88
Booking.comUS$ 91
TripAdvisorUS$ 87
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates