We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Karoo Art Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Karoo Art Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 295: English reviews
Start your review of Karoo Art Hotel
 Click to rate
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Art Hotel is a wonderful, charming, special place, the kind of hotel you hope to end up in by accident, as we did. Loads of character, art everywhere (not all great, but all for sale, and together a wonderful decor) and the nicest staff. Just a great stay at a great pirce. We had a very spacious room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc-Reina
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your good feedback- much appreciated! Regards Theo Owner

Strand, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely friendly welcome after arriving late with a crying baby! Beautiful arty room with crisp clean sheets and a delightfully comfy bed under them :) Great products in the shower. Spacious room with lots of ambience! Nice big breakfast the next morning. Perfect spot for a stop over. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Munro83
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

You are welcome ! Thank you for your visit, please call again! Regards Theo Owner

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights and in different rooms - first room (10) was at the front of the hotel with a balcony. You could hear noise from the bar below but we didn't find it too intrusive. However, there's a balcony off the corridor outside the room and smokers without balconies seem to use it as a "smoking lounge" which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nnmercman
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! please return some time! Regards Theo Owner

Izegem, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We' ve chosen for the suite with double outdoor shower and private little garden, everything was just ok but the hotel needs an extensive updo and bigger cleanup, the hotel was fun for one night on the route62, breakfast was just ok , nothing mindblowing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

We try to be far better than just OK - so sorry that we didi not meet your expectations. I have requested our hotel management to investigate your complaints and assure you that we will learn from this and will improve. please visit again- we want to surpise you. Regards Theo Owner

Anstruther, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great quirky hotel , nice spacious and comfy room , nice wee bar etc. Food quality was poor. The establishment are eager to promote a new executive chef, well, he wasn't there to advise, couldn't have been. A selection of carpacccio had three identical meats which had been doused in a clawing soy like reduction, I'd guess from a squeezy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank honeypotcrail
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about this- this is not how we do business. we have launched an enquiry and will pull our socks up. we offer you a full refund on your meal costs- please write to us,and send your bank account detail. we pride ourselves on our food and this is not acceptable that happened to you. please...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on he way to the Wilderness. What a brilliant quirky hotel that oozes with character. It was a very enjoyable stay, very friendly staff great food and most of the awesome ambience and experience. Will be back and thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiamHum
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your appreciation! To truly experience what the hotel ,our village and the Klein Karoo offers,next time spend at least two nights! Regards Theo Owner

Reviewed 20 January 2017

Stayed at the hotel for just one night whilst travelling thorough the Klein Karoo. Wonderful reception. The hotel is so quaint, very clean, neat and tidy. Rooms are really nice and the food was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback, much appreciated ! Regards Theo Owner

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Lovely, quirky hotel. We were in the garden suite - superb suite and lovely private garden to enjoy an evening drink, outdoor shower (two) and garden pond. Entrance from private garden onto hotel patio area and pool. Room itself was large with seating area and large bathroom. There was a small private buddah garden in the room itself was lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FAR2002
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, much appreciated! We have a wealth of local knowledge and tips on what to do in the area- some of which you will never read in any guide.. We are very happy to share our specialist knowledge of our area with our guests and let them in on the local secrets- where to go for...

Reviewed 12 January 2017

What should have been a very pleasant one night stop over turned into a terribly disappointing stay. The hotel room although very basic was adequate besides no air conditioning and a missing TV. The restaurant was great. Lovely menu and the food and presentation was of a very high standard. However after turning in after a nightcap in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ryan B
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliment on our food- we shall convey it to the chef. You picked one of our more basic rooms and our website makes it clear that such cheaper rooms have no TV . All our rooms are equipped with old-style ceiling fans, which work remarkably effectively - they are also very quiet, and can be set...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I can start with that phrase.. Arrived on our Harley.. Road trip you see.. Color and art shouts out a welcome..rustic romantic hotel. Owner there for break and he personally greets us.. Sitting under the trees tapping away on laptop. Flags on the balcony welcoming all nationalities. Splendid views and a French twist to this gorgeous place..art hanging all over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank castsonya
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback- it was a pleasure having you as our guests! Regards Theo Owner

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
27.8 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
29.0 km away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
61 reviews
0.4 km away
Tradouw Guesthouse
Tradouw Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Barrydale
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
23 reviews
0.5 km away
Sandy's Place
Sandy's Place
#1 of 9 in Barrydale
47 reviews
0.4 km away
Sorgvry - House of Guests
Sorgvry - House of Guests
#2 of 6 in Barrydale
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is the best country hotel in the whole of the Klein Karoo! An ideal stop-over between Cape Town and the Garden Route, a must-stay for any visitor! Best food and most comprehensive wine list in the whole of the Klein Karoo! ( Wine list has just been awarded a Diners Club Wine List Diamond Award - the highest award possible) ! Restaurant has just won the Klein Karoo Gourmand Award ! Loads of historic character. Most friendly staff. Rooms with balconies and views available. Character bar and great restaurant. Huge swimming pool for hot summer days. Many open fireplaces for the winter nights! Karoo hospitality. The hotel is an art gallery with many paintings by local artists on display and for sale .Some rooms with cable TV available. Staff are keen to share local things to do and to see with guests.We even have a private 40 seater private cinema for use by our guests! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karoo Art Hotel

Address: 30 Van Riebeeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa (Formerly Barrydale Karoo Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Price Range: ₹ 5,039 - ₹ 6,414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karoo Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Karoo Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Karoo Art Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 , fun and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles honeypotcrail, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room number 7 is great for couples, has a balcony with a view of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden suite was superb. Did not see any other rooms so cannot comment on this.”
 of 5 bubbles FAR2002, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in one of the Groot Karoo rooms for the ultimate Karoo Art Hotel experience...''”
 of 5 bubbles quitecontrary2016, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We would struggle doing this .”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisWen310, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5