We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Karoo Art Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Karoo Art Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 281: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was absolutely fantastic, the staff could not do enough for us. All our guests loved the whole atmosphere, the quirkiness that is essentially the Karoo Art Hotel. The rooms are all different and as we had booked out the hotel we had the advantage of being able to see all the rooms - they are all wonderfully different....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank quitecontrary2016
Stanford, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a weekend at the Karoo Art Hotel what a disappointment we found the accommodation clean but totally lacking in class and warmth. The price of food and wine are in our opinion way over the top and the quality is average at best. The only saving grace were the friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWen310
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear this! If a great room is important to you,please pay a few more Rands and do not reserve the cheapest room type like you did? However we strongly disagree with what you say even of the room you occupied- it is unique,and like all our rooms ,display original pieces of art . Is it perhaps not a...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Karoo Art Hotel was awesome with diverse styles on display. The theme is modern art and not contemporary. The walls are brightly painted, it is something very quirky and different and a must see. Local creativity is of a high standard, wiht something to suit various tastes Life size figures, fascinating lights, a surprise around every corner. They serve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose K
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! Regards Theo Owner

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love Barrydale and my husband and I was looking forward to this quick stay over on our way to Bosch Luys Kloof. The communication from the hotel to confirm our stay was via SMS and email - very well communicated. They suggested we book at the restaurant in the hotel, which we did. The restaurant was a disappointment. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elza M
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear your food was not to your liking. We had a stand-in chef on duty that night and we will investigate immediately. It is a pity you did not complain there and then- our management would have sorted it out no time at all , comped your meals , and allowed you to order something else...

Observatory, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here and loved it. We received a huge welcome from Gershwin at reception and were immediately made to feel very welcome. Loved the huge bathroom in our room and enjoyed a drink on the balcony before dinner. Amazing art in the bedroom and all over the hotel. Our dinner was excellent and service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwenni2014
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We shall pass your compliments on to Gurshwin at reception. visit again soon please! Kind regards Theo Owner

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Karoo art hotel is an eclectic little venue, conveniently off the R62. The first thing that struck me upon arrival was the decor... stunning art and decor. Our room was a bit of a cheapie and the wooden floorboards creaked a bit more than much. We had issues with the shower but was very quickly sorted out by management....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moniqueaurorabooks
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. we are attending to the creaky wooden floorboards - but the hotel is old and so are the floor planks! We take our food seriously- a country hotel in th eKaroo must have good food! Kind regards Theo Owner

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great place to stay for a night or two if you are travelling the Karoo or taking an inland detour from the Garden route. This place has a distinctive sort of 'distressed' look to it, which is quite deliberate and I though worked well (my wife did not) Nice room with its own bath and balcony complete with old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian49
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. we agree- two nights are required to truly experience everything the hotel and our little village has to offer. Hope to see you back again soon! Kind regards Theo Owner

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel in center of town, excellent service great bar must visit Friday afternoon happy hour piano bar. Will defiantly recommend a visit. Beautiful art, figurines and interesting pieces of furniture. Friendly staff and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Yes our Friday afternoon happy hour in our bar with Gari Crawford is becoming very popular ! Thanks for your appreciation! Kind regards Theo Owner

Knysna
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Our second stay at this hotel. Love all the art, friendly staff. Great bar area. Every room has a different colour and theme. Comfortable large size rooms. Off street parking. Lovely lounge and swimming pool. Old hotel so wooden floors are creaking, road can be noisy not to forget the neighbouring peacock. Security can become an issue if a firm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suyenneb
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review ! We love the sound of the peacocks in town ! We have jacked up our security,so no concerns there. please visit soon again! Kind regards Theo Owner

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

A by-chance decision to travel back to Cape Town via the R62.... Led to an overnight stay here. The hotel is arty... The rooms quirky (we got a quick look at other rooms before the guests checked in). The Restuarant food was superb! We got to meet the chef and the next morning breakfast was filling and good. Hotel staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smodack
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your good feedback and kind review- appreciated! Kind regards Theo Owner

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
27.8 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.4 km away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#2 of 7 in Barrydale
18 reviews
0.4 km away
Tradouw Guesthouse
Tradouw Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Barrydale
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sandy's Place
Sandy's Place
#2 of 8 in Barrydale
33 reviews
0.4 km away
Sorgvry - House of Guests
Sorgvry - House of Guests
#3 of 7 in Barrydale
13 reviews
0.4 km away
No photo provided
The Whitehouse
#4 of 7 in Barrydale
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is the best country hotel in the whole of the Klein Karoo! An ideal stop-over between Cape Town and the Garden Route, a must-stay for any visitor! Best food and most comprehensive wine list in the whole of the Klein Karoo! ( Wine list has just been awarded a Diners Club Wine List Diamond Award - the highest award possible) ! Restaurant has just won the Klein Karoo Gourmand Award ! Loads of historic character. Most friendly staff. Rooms with balconies and views available. Character bar and great restaurant. Huge swimming pool for hot summer days. Many open fireplaces for the winter nights! Karoo hospitality. The hotel is an art gallery with many paintings by local artists on display and for sale .Some rooms with cable TV available. Staff are keen to share local things to do and to see with guests.We even have a private 40 seater private cinema for use by our guests! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karoo Art Hotel

Address: 30 Van Riebeeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa (Formerly Barrydale Karoo Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Price Range: ₹ 4,833 - ₹ 8,916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karoo Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Karoo Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Karoo Art Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in one of the Groot Karoo rooms for the ultimate Karoo Art Hotel experience...''”
 of 5 bubbles quitecontrary2016, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We would struggle doing this .”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisWen310, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I didn't stay at this Art Hotel my visit was to see the art”
 of 5 bubbles RoseK297, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room with a balcony on street could be very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 554elzam, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a balcony room at the front of the hotel with its own Lion”
 of 5 bubbles Adrian49, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay