We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ulusaba Rock Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ulusaba Rock Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 156: English reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Booked through agent who recommended Ulusaba Rock based on my budget and desires. Great place and experience. Staff was unbelievable. Remembering our names as well as quickly learning what we liked. They cared and wanted to please. Great ranger (Phil) and tracker (David). Phil and David were great in finding spectacular situations. They went the extra mile -- finding what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Ulusaba Rock Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ken W, Thank you so much for taking the time to share such an extraordinary review with us, it was an absolute pleasure to read from start to finish. The entire team were thrilled to hear your kind comments, none more so than Phil and David who were so touched to receive personal mentions. Phil said he was delighted...

Abingdon,Oxford
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Ulusaba is just amazing. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel special. All the staff are friendly and attentive, the food is easily 5* quality, the accommodation is meticulously maintained. But what you are really there for is to see wildlife and our Ranger Sean and Tracker James were just the best. You could tell that Sean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricholas3
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Ulusaba Rock Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tricholas3, We were completely blown away by your kind words, and wanted to thank you for taking the time to share such an amazing review with us. We were delighted to hear that you felt special from the moment you arrived and found the team to be friendly and attentive. Our Head Chef was overjoyed to receive your 5...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Once again, Ulusaba exceeding my expectations on every level. It is all about the animal sightings...and they were AMAZING! 10+ Can't say enough. Trevor and Don are topnotch and then some. Also, being able to do a community experience in a nearby village was wonderful. And the food, food and more incredible food. This is a WOW experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corey B
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Ulusaba Rock Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Corey B, It was so wonderful welcoming you back to Ulusaba and such a treat for us to see your review come through! It was magical for us to read and we wanted to write to you to say thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We loved hearing that you thought the animal sightings were...

Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

The most amazing and enjoyable experience at Rock Lodge. Game drives guided by Pierre & Orange were interesting and they are both experts in their field , we learned such a lot. Also saw the big five up close and personal !! All the staff at the lodge were so friendly and helpful especially the assistant lodge manager Patience, who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edna R
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Ulusaba Rock Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Edna R, We were absolutely delighted to read your review of Ulusaba and wanted to take the opportunity to thank you for sharing such kind words with us. Pierre and Orange were so touched to receive personal mentions and are thrilled you learned so much from them! How fantastic that you got up close and personal with the big...

Reviewed 1 March 2016

I stayed at the Roch Lodge for 4 nights for my first time Safari experiences. I stayed at the Makwela suit. Everything was more than perfect the rooms are really nice with unbelievable view. the staff was something that I can't explain. We were with Matt the ranger and Eric the tracker both of them were fantastic. The experience is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank khaledalsheikh
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Ulusaba Rock Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Khaledalsheikh, Though you felt your words couldn’t explain your experience we thought you did a marvellous job! Your kind words meant a great deal to us so thank you very much for taking the time to share them. We were delighted to hear you thought your stay with us was more than perfect and how much you enjoyed your...

Stokesley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2016

I have just returned from a 7 night safari in Sabi Sands; 3 of which were spent at Rock Lodge. I travelled with my old university friend. She and I are good travelling companions who luckily both love Africa. Between us we have about 40 years safari experience and have travelled all over Africa staying in every type of accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Ulusaba Rock Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Emma G, Wow, we think it is only right that we start by saying thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review with us! We are so honoured that after all your safari experience you think Rock Lodge is one of the best you have ever had; and Philip in particular was so touched to...

Pretoria
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Having just read Meohmy68's review. It is clear the Virgin/Ulusaba Team have lost the edge. Having also stayed at the lodge in the past and recommended it to numerous friends etc. I was very disappointed with the unprofessional way our enquiry was handled. As this is also part of the whole experience I felt it was worth a review. In...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Karrst
VirginLimitedEdition, Managing Director at Ulusaba Rock Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Karrst, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent enquiry. I was very disappointed to read about your encounter with our reservations department and would like to personally apologise for the fact that we fell short here. We’ve managed to track down your reservation and we know what happened. I am sorry...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Having written some rave reviews about this place, it seems only fair that I give an honest view of a far less positive experience. I've always been a big fan of Ulusaba and recommended it to many people. But my recent trip was really disappointing sadly. It seems they have lost their edge and perhaps become a little comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Meohmy68
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Ulusaba Rock Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Meohmy86, Firstly I’d like to say thank you for taking the time to write with your feedback, which of course we take very seriously. I understand that you’ve already been in touch with our Managing Director regarding your last stay and I really do apologise that we didn’t get things quite right. I’m personally very sorry for all the...

Scottish Borders
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We were told by a couple of guests when we arrived that Rock Lodge is 'more than five stars' and were naturally a tad sceptical. But they were absolutely right. Other reviewers have explained why and we haven't much to add. We particularly appreciated the air-conditioned gym, becauset a potential downside of game lodges is that whilst there's unlimited excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanN482
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Ulusaba Rock Lodge, responded to this review

Dear IanN482, Thank you for your fantastic review of Ulusaba, we’re over the moon to hear that you felt your experience with us was ‘more than five stars’! We’re certainly impressed with your dedication to work out whilst on holiday, that’s given us some January inspiration! Ryan was very pleased with his special mention and was so glad that you...

Gloucester, MA
Reviewed 18 December 2015

I visited Ulusaba in November 2015, and I plan to return with my husband in a couple of months. Ulusaba had everything I hoped for in a safari experience - especially being on my own. The lodges were beautiful and peaceful (I stayed one night at Rock Lodge and two in a River room at Safari Lodge), my rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abbiel
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Ulusaba Rock Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Abbiel, Thank you so much for your glowing detailed review following your trip to Ulusaba in November. We’re absolutely thrilled to hear that you are already planning to return to share the experience with your husband. It’s great to hear that you stayed at both Rock Lodge and Safari Lodge and that you found both rooms to be perfect,...

286 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (154)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
13.2 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
405 reviews
9.5 km away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
739 reviews
4.4 km away
Notten's Bush Camp
Notten's Bush Camp
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
283 reviews
20.6 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
321 reviews
16.5 km away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With panoramic views overlooking the miles of African bush, there are 8 rooms at Rock Lodge, including the Master Suite, Makwela Suites, Rock Cliff rooms and the two bedroom Rock Suite, some of which have private plunge pools. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ulusaba Rock Lodge

Address: Sabi Sand, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 9,33,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ulusaba Rock Hotel Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ulusaba Rock Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ulusaba Rock Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles stevemY6175GS, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“suite would be the best option”
 of 5 bubbles kaiser08_KZN, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are fine.”
 of 5 bubbles 1FussyTraveller, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms at Rock Lodge have stunning views.”
 of 5 bubbles LynnUKhertsfordshire, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles InternationalVB, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5