We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amakhosi Safari Lodge

CancelonUS$ 414*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 433*
US$ 414*
Great Deal
US$ 419*
US$ 419*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amakhosi Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 189: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Have been to Amakhosi twice already this year. The rooms are beautiful, the staff are warm and friendly and the food is exceptional. The game reserve itself has some stunning views from on top of the mountains and beautiful spots a long the river bank. You can't fault the game viewing (Big 5) but I hope in the future that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmcd_travel
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we really appreciate your support. We loved hosting you and glad that both visits were good ones. We are also hoping to expand our property, we have been looking at this for the last few years, however with the challenge of the drought this year we will have...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2016

This place was just the greatest- the staff were wonderful so helpful and really made you feel special. We took my frail uncle along as he had been before and wanted so much to go back and they looked after him so well. I even had a fantasic pedicure in between game drives and the unbelievable meals we were serve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1ellesbels
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review and for taking the time to post it, we are so pleased that you brought your uncle back to visit and that you all enjoyed your stay. This means a great deal to the team to know that we have such lovely return guests and that is our aim. Arrive as a...

Durban
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Right from our booking experience, the service we received was professional and efficient. Upon arrival (a bit late), we were offered food, time to freshen up, and a lift to join our ranger on a game drive which had already departed. The game viewing is great and our ranger, Sipho, had a wealth of knowledge that made each encounter all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeriThomson
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

What a stunning way to start the day after a busy week and weekend with our tourism Indaba. It was such a lovely surprise to see this stunning review and thank you so much for taking the time to post such a detailed review. If is always difficult to please everyone and to see that you enjoyed so many aspects...

Scottburgh, South Africa
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Beautiful game reserve. Staff were pleasant, game Rangers and trackers were well educated in their field. Accommodations were nice and private and kept clean. We arrived at noon and thought we would be served lunch but they only offer breakfast and dinner. It's s shame because any other game reserve served three meals. We were disappointed! I doubt I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfurs
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and we are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to our meal policy. We appreciate each review as this does assist us in improving our service and ensuring that each guest leaves with great memories from their stay. As mentioned in our...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

I can't understand why this lodge is not busier than what it is / the food is unbelievable and the staff go the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one. If anything you can eat too well! Beautiful setting, decent animal viewing and awesome food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glennhayes64
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the compliments and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our business is so seasonal and recently we have been unable to predict our occupancies, as we can go from being able to fill the lodge 3 times over to quiet periods. But we will always ensure that full or not...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Being South African and travelling with a friend whom had never been to South Africa,I wanted her to have a truly "South African" experience. I can honestly say, Amakhosi did not let me down. We drove to the lodge from King Shaka Airport. The drive is roughly 4+ hours but it is very picturesque. We received a warm welcome and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melweav1
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

What a stunning review and thank you for choosing us to showcase a little part of our amazing country, the best is that we did not let you down and that we managed to make you and your friends stay a memorable one. We have passed on your compliments to management and a copy has already been displayed on the...

Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

What an amazing place Amakhosi is, the staff are excellent, all of them. The guide "Christian" is absolutely superb, very knowledgable and at only 21, amazing guy. I was there for my 40th and they made the experience very very special for me. The surroundings and facilities are breath taking. The Food is just out of his world. You can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your special celebration with us, we loved having you and thank you for taking the time to post the review we really appreciate it and so do the team. We have made sure a copy of your review has gone to management and this will be posted on the notice board for all to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Our group of four stayed at Amakhosi Safari Lodge 2 weeks ago for 2 nights. My friend and I stayed in a River Suite which was made up as a twin room. With the signature netting over the beds, a spacious sitting room and a luxurious bath in the modern bathroom we were very impressed. Out on our balcony, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fionash2014
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

All we can say is 'WOW" what a super review, thank you for taking the time and effort to post it and we appreciate it a great deal, we would also like to apologise for taking so long to respond, we had seen the review but we were away at trade shows. Thank you for mentioning all the aspects and...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2016

The lodge over looks the Mlkuze river and is in a lovely spot. Its decorated in an magical African style and has a wonderful outdoor area for meals. Staff were the most friendly we had met, the food was excellent a combination of fine dining and home cooked cakes. Our lodge overlooked the river and had its own lounge and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobannieo
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Wow, not sure what to say other than a huge WOW! thank you for taking the time to post this amazing review and we are truly humbled that you voted us the best part of your trip! The team were literally beaming reading this review and it already graces the notice board in all departments. We have passed on your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Fantastic safari lodge located on the Mkuze River in northern KZN. The lodges themselves are very comfortable and spacious. Fully functional although wifi a bit patchy. Animal sitings are superb and we saw all the Big Five, plus cheetah. Safari guides are excellent and they offer walking safaris too. Food is very good. Hospitality excellent. Well worth the detour to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zetat0urs
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review we really appreciate it and the fact that you recommend us for future travellers. The wifi is a never ending challenge in the bush, as is all technology. We have had endless experts come through and have erected various dishes etc. If we could convince someone to...

329 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (183)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
36.3 km away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
377 reviews
16.1 km away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
25.7 km away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
39.7 km away
African Spirit Game Lodge
22.2 km away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 15 in Pongola
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Price Range: ₹ 22,928 - ₹ 34,489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amakhosi Safari Lodge Pongola, Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amakhosi Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Amakhosi Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are amazing”
jmjwaals, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beware of the notice advising of Bushbabies and don't leave out any tasty treats!”
Loryn1979, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rover view suites face the river”
Jolene_Campbell27, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I loved the River Suites. They are the entry level rooms, but they feel like 5 star luxury.”
nicolepoupard, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book the villa for a treat!”
OBumhlangaRocks, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$ 414* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 419
Hotwire.comUS$ 419
Booking.comUS$ 433
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates