We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Melbourne, AU
Reviewed 27 December 2015

We just returned from a 6 night stay at Wilderness Safari's Rocktail Lodge-Wow!!! This truly is an adventure beach camp. We traveled as a family of 4 with an 8 year old and a 10 year old. We drove our own 4X4 into the camp. This camp is not trendy, ritzy, or elegant, but the food was! The beautiful spot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beccimaymonge07
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp, responded to this review

Dear Beccimaymonge07, Thank you so much for this amazing feedback after your recent stay with us at Rocktail! It is a family oriented camp so we are thrilled to see that you and your children had such a good time - enjoying the varied activities, the food, the location with access to both forest and beach plus of course, the...

Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

The diving was fab. I have been diving in Asia plenty, but this was my first time in Africa and I won't look back. In Asia there are more divers than fish. But here it was me the instructor one other diver a dozen turtles and a group of dolphins. No sharks came to visit but if I'd had longer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou-skie
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp, responded to this review

Dear Lou-skie, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your room and its outdoor shower, which really is a great experience. With the only “voyeurs” to be worried about is, as you mentioned, the creepy crawlies that you would expect in Africa – and we may mention only those of the non-poisonous...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

The single-lane tarmac motorway runs almost exactly South to North, carving a straight line through small towns, villages and (very) isolated service stations with an incongruous bright red ‘Wimpy’ or ‘KFC’ sign protruding out of the bush. The ‘N2’ follows the coastline towards the Swaziland border and took us to our turn-off for the Maputaland Marine Reserve and our destination...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WARDL2
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp, responded to this review

Thank you WARDL2, for your amazing review and beautiful words. We will be sure to share them with Natalie, Willem and the entire team. Who I am sure would swop in a heartbeat, the shores of the sunny African summer and its afternoon thunderstorms, for the chance to see snow falling in the beautiful streets of London. But only for...

Reviewed 14 December 2015

Anywhere that requires a 4x4 to get to is going to have to be worth it and my word Rocktail was. Now lets get this out the way first, it used to be called Rocktail Beach Camp but some numpties complained that it was not on the beach and misleading. It's 10mins walk to the beach okay... lazy so and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Dan T for your wonderful review for you, we are overjoyed to hear you enjoyed the short walk down to the beach, but you are correct. Unfortunately the inclusion of the word ”Beach” in the camp’s name was misleading and made it challenging for us to give our guests the vacation they expected after the disappointment of not...

Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Amazing location - amazing rooms. Superb hospitality - the head chef in particular was so thoughtful about asking about our children's meal requirements but the food was all so amazing that even my fussy 2 and 4 year olds wolfed down everything he prepared. Loads to do even with small children. Could not have had a more amazing time. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Louise E, for the amazing review, we are thrilled to hear how much you and your whole family enjoyed your time with us. At Rocktail, we offer a comprehensive range of activities for children, both at the camp and on the beach. These include specially guided nature walks, sand boarding, snorkelling, arts and crafts and baking - to...

Reviewed 28 October 2015

A small camp located quite a long way off the beaten track but all the better for it. We had a wonderful, restful but thoroughly entertaining stay for a family holiday with our 2 kids (aged 11 and 12). Facilities are good, with the wood framed main building and lodge hidden away amongst the trees. All very clean and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp, responded to this review

Dear Tim N, Thank you for your fabulous review, we are delighted to hear how much your whole family enjoyed your stay with us, and thrilled to hear about your sons interest in the local bird life. Rocktail falls within an area that is regarded as a birding mecca within South Africa. The area hosts a number of species that...

Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

What an absolute treat!! Superb hospitality right from the start, food that deserves a Michelin rating (and the best homemade muesli ever), clean secluded rooms that are beautiful, spacious and comfortable - "glamping" at its best! And then the diving - wow! Breathtaking reefs with sea life of all sorts, big and small. Not forgetting a visit from the resident...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne d
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jeanne D, Thank you for your brilliant review, we are thrilled to see what a great stay you had in camp and during the beautiful diving adventures. Rocktail is considered the premier dive site in South Africa, with pristine coral reefs that only Rocktail guests have access to. The incredible variety and abundance of fish to be seen range...

Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Rocktail's location is exceptional and the drive there adds to the experience. The lodges are simple but very tastefully done, allowing a taste of wilderness from a very comfortable environment. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the chef made an exceptional effort to accommodate some dietary challenges. Snorkelling and whale watching highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nico G
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp, responded to this review

Dear Nico G, Thank you for your brilliant review, we are delighted to see what a great time you had with us and glad to hear you have taken with you some wonderful memories. Maputaland, situated on KwaZulu-Natal’s north-eastern seaboard, is a diverse region of forested dunes, wet lands, sandy beaches, woodlands and warm seas. Rocktail Beach Camp is located...

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Fantastic all around and felt very privileged to stay here for a week in the Festive Season. Every single member of staff does their part to make your stay that much more special. For example, I am a fly fisherman and left my stripping basket at home, and they were more than happy to lend me one. This was my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DaleHes
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp, responded to this review

Dear DaleHes, Thank you for your beautiful review, we are overjoyed to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the fly fishing on offer. Rocktail Camp in the iSimangaliso Wetland Park is famed as a fishing destination made popular by well known fishing author Andy Coetzee. Fly-fishing the surf zone along the Maputaland coast is probably one...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Can't say enough about the staff here - they are really, really good - Natalie especially! The rooms are open air wall tents with private decks and baths but very nicely done and very private. Not exactly on the beach here - it is a short hike away. You can walk for miles on the beach. Scuba diving was good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ken A
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp, responded to this review

Dear Ken A, Thank you for your fabulous review, we cannot wait to share your kind words with all our hard working staff. Wander along a beach and forest trail with one of our guides and learn about the fauna and flora of the Maputaland Coastal Forest. Catch a glimpse of birds like green twinspot, green malkoha, purple-crested turaco, and...

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
3:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
30.8 km away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
168 reviews
7.4 km away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
340 reviews
26.4 km away
Kosi Forest Lodge
Kosi Forest Lodge
#2 of 3 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.9 km away
Coral Divers
Coral Divers
#1 of 15 in Sodwana
353 reviews
0.0 km away
Triton Dive Lodge
Triton Dive Lodge
#3 of 15 in Sodwana
80 reviews
36.7 km away
Kosi Moon Bed & Breakfast
Kosi Moon Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Kosi Bay
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you're looking for fun, adventure and a place to put your feet up then you're heading to the right place. Rocktail Beach Camp, beautifully set within a lush region of forested dunes, is the launch pad to some of the most beautiful beaches and pristine coral reefs in the world. What's more, Rocktail has exclusive access to this area! Your charmingly rustic en-suite accommodation is hidden within the tropical shade of this woodland sanctuary and only a short walk from the main area which includes a dining room, lounge with a large wraparound veranda, children's playroom and swimming pool. With extraordinary diving and snorkelling, turtle encounters and other beach activities this breathtaking ecosystem is waiting to be explored. Did you know? Rocktail closes for a short period each year to host Children in the Wilderness camps - a programme dedicated to helping local children build life skills and a love for the environment. Coastal forest interspersed with grasslands and waterberry/palm savannah side by side with pristine beaches characterise Rocktail. Unspoiled reefs form part of the protected Maputaland Marine Reserve. As well as diving, snorkelling and seasonal turtle excursions, we offer cultural visits guided walks (on request). Considered one of the best dive sites in the world, whales, dolphins and sharks are found here, while the smaller critters include butterflyfish, clown triggerfish, surgeonfish, fire-goby and scissortail. Birding is outstanding, with a number of special coastal forest species. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp

Address: D1849, Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 27,294 - ₹ 32,465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocktail Beach Camp Hotel Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp South Africa/Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the rooms are a long dark walk from the restaurant/bar”
 of 5 bubbles Lazzagear, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room 4 ir higher, a little bit away from the common area.”
 of 5 bubbles NigelR740, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lower numbered rooms have no ocean views, Cabins 4 and above have ocean views but are farther from the lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles Snidbit, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have sea views (over the canopy) but are quite a walk from the main area”
 of 5 bubbles TheRainIn, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher rooms have better views”
 of 5 bubbles dietherk, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5