We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

El Camino Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Camino Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Camino Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
Littlefield, Texas
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I made reservations on the phone was quoted one price and when we got there the price was higher! We checked in anyways and when we got to our room the bed was not made at all no blankets, pillows not on the bed and the phone, mini fridge didn't work! Went back to the office, not even a I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marcojung2016
Management response:

This had to be the nightmare to end all nightmares. I would venture to say you had a very bad experience and this would be an understatement. I wanted to get back to you and tell you that the hotel has a new owner and the number one rule is "Customer Service". Things, like you experienced, will never happen again...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

I checked out of my original hotel expecting to drive back to Albuquerque. Due to a project delay , I return to town to find all the hotels were booked up.as a last minute ditch I did a search and made a reservation at a hotel that was reasonably priced. My room was extremely filthy and the place is severely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bryan B
Management response:

First off, I want to say that no one should have to go through what you went through. I can't even begin to apologize enough. Just so you'll know, the hotel is now under new ownership and we are working non stop to upgrade and correct all the wrong that has been done to our guests. Our primary concern is...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Okay, the rate for El Camino was a bit lower. The savings was not worth the trouble. There was a common theme at this hotel, 'we are trying to save a buck....at all cost.' First the overall look of the hotel is run down. It is clearly understaffed, on several occasions I found the front desk unmanned. This is a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael Y
Management response:

Let me just start out by saying, this had to be one of the worst experience you have ever had. There are not enough words in the dictionary to apologize appropriately. The good news is, the hotel is now under new ownership, and we are in the process of remodeling, painting, updating and redoing pretty much everything. We're rebuilding and...

Holbrook, Arizona
Reviewed 6 September 2016

this place is in need of a bit of remodling. but for a nights sleep it good.swimming pool is awesome .only 1 ice machine working and it was up stairs .but bed soft pillows good.it did have a frig and a microwave ,flat screen tv.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff An Sandy C
Management response:

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad I have the opportunity to reply, so I could inform you that the hotel is now under new ownership/management. We are aware it needs a lot of repairs and improvements and on the operation of the business. We are rebuilding and retraining the staff. Our top priority is always Customer Service. The...

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Reasonably priced for Taos, a little way from the action but it is walkable to town if you fancy a drink at night. Big room with all mod cons. Half decent continental breakfast: friendly Mexican staff who make you feel welcome. Recommended for a weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markgraydon
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review. It is important that we get these reviews from our guests, as it is our main source on how we are doing. As you may not know, we are under a new ownership/management team. We are very excited with all the new plans for the hotel. Most important it is getting a much...

Willow Park, Texas
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Rooms are filthy, many of the clientele suspect. Service is terrible. On top of everything else an electronic device was left there and we still cannot get the Manager to return it after 3 weeks despite repeated calls. Expedia was also no help with this issue. Avoid this place like the plague.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phillipfrazier
Management response:

First off, I completely understand your dismay with the hotel. I have read many reviews very similar to yours, however, the hotel is now under new ownership/management. We have a lot to do to revive this place. One of my first duties is to reply to all these reviews, mostly negative. We are in the process of making many changes....

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I picked this place for it's location to downtown and even read the reviews, but I was totally taken by surprise. The first "non-smoking room we checked into, totally wreaked from cigarette smoke and pet odors. They were nice enough to change our room when I called the desk. I made my way to the reception area, but had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spongie J
Management response:

I am so sorry for your awful experience at this hotel. There are no excuses for all these disgusting things. When you check into a hotel room, you expect it to be at least clean. I wanted to let you know that the hotel is under new ownership and we are remodeling the entire place, from floor to ceiling. The...

Willis, Texas
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Booking.com overbooked the place but that wasn't the worst part. The housekeeping staff supposedly didn't show up for work and so the rooms were not ready at 3:00 pm when checking began. It took 2 hrs to check in with a long line because we were not allowed to check in before 3. There was ONE person running the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackiehickman
Management response:

Well this sounds simply awful. I can't even imagine such an experience. This will never happen again, as the hotel is now under new ownership and everything is changing. The staff, front desk, housekeeping, laundry, breakfast, etc., are all being retrained and rebuilt. Our top priority is "Customer Service", and we do not take this lightly. I feel terrible that...

Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Of our many destinations on a 20 day trip so far, this was a good, clean, comfortable room at a good price. Nothing special, but when you're on the road for an extended period of time, costs add up quickly and this was a good find! The location is fine relative to everything in town.......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1sawmiller
Management response:

Thank you for such a nice review. The hotel is now under new ownership and we are remodeling it, such as new carpet, furniture, paint, in general, everything. I hope if your are ever in the area in the future, you will stay with us again. Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. Sincerely, Cody K. guest relations

Questa, New Mexico
Reviewed 13 August 2016

the bosses here are horrible they treat their workers very bad and the they give you nasty looking old used towels and bed sheets that looks like they've been used for years. the way they treat their housekeepers is very unfair

 Report
Helpful?
Thank panda123467
Management response:

I've read your review and I am horrified. We have recently purchased the hotel and are in the process of retraining and rebuilding our staff. Our primary goal is " Customer Service". Had we owned the hotel when you were a guest, you would never have been treated in such a way. I cannot apologize enough for this dreadful behavior....

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.1 km away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
338 reviews
3.3 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.2 km away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
346 reviews
1.2 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,090 reviews
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly owned, operated, and renovated! ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Camino Lodge

Address: 615 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5228
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Price Range: ₹ 4,880 - ₹ 6,685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Camino Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your El Camino Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Taos
Paragon Hotel Taos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Camino Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from El Camino Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room on the 2nd floor in the back. Quiet, with parking lot in front.”
 of 5 bubbles 173bernadettel, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is no good room at this motel”
 of 5 bubbles 76carlar, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there!”
 of 5 bubbles MJB19, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“If you don't care if your room is dirty, choose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Fira123, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The best tip I can give travelers is to stay away from this hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 204angelo, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5