We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Camino Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Camino Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Start your review of El Camino Lodge
 Click to rate
Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is the worst motel we have ever stayed in. The carpet in the entry was shredded, and had holes in several places, besides being just dirty. There was 1/3 of a roll of toilet paper, no soap in dispenser, no amenities such as shampoo or lotion. There was a coffee maker, but no coffee pot or coffee making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KandJ80482
Management response:

I have read your review and I would like to apologize for your apparent bad stay at the hotel. We are still in the process of putting our team together and sometimes it just doesn't work like we planned. The carpet, I understand, as it is not being replaced till April/May. But the rest of it, is just unacceptable. Please...

Frisco
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the property's reply's to previous reviews on TripAdvisor I was under the impression that the new ownership was re-branding the property making vast improvements to the rooms and surroundings, retraining the housekeeping staff and making guarantees as to the quality of the new continental breakfast. I can unequivocally say I did not see any changes or improvements from my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MSMCIB
Management response:

I have read your review and I cannot apologize enough for your terrible stay at the hotel. I offer no excuses, all I know is we failed you and your party, completely. I just don't even know what to say. Everything you have read about updating and remodeling, is true. I cannot understand why we would have put you in...

Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We tried it because some reviews were positive. It is dirty. We had to go out and buy toilet bowl cleaner and clean the bathroom. Blanket on bed had a burn hole, stains on rug and walls. None cleaned the room during our 4 day stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jhenri_13
Management response:

Please accept our apology for your stay at the hotel. When you check into a hotel, at the very least, you expect to get a clean room. You didn't and we are so sorry. We've only just started on this project and sometimes it seems like you just take one step forward and two steps back. We are a work...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was absolutely amazing. The rooms were clean and provided everything you need for your visit. The staff was very friendly and was very helpful. The hotel breakfast was delicious and it was a great way to start your morning. All in all, a great experience !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dalibor Z
Management response:

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We love to read reviews like yours, I makes us feel like we are headed in the right direction. It also gives the staff an incentive to work harder to make our guests happy. Customer service is our prime concern. We hope to see you again, real soon. Again, thank you...

Reviewed 23 January 2017

When we first got to the room I noticed that there were some used tissues under the table, toilet paper in the bowl, and blue cleaning product that had not been rinsed out of the shower. This is the cheapest place in Taos, so I somewhat expected it to be less that impressive and forgave these offenses. However, when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanessa c
Management response:

I have just read your review and I wanted to apologize for your experience in our hotel. Yes, we are the new owners and we are working very hard at rebuilding the reputation the hotel has acquired over the years. We are in the process of retraining and rebuilding our entire staff. As you mentioned, they need more training. We...

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

I m staying over here for last couple of the days and i m working in taos ski valley mountain and the elcamino lodge is too good and the service which i got itz awesome and also the lodge is having with beautiful view ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avijit S
Management response:

I have just read your review and I am so pleased that you are enjoying your stay at our hotel. As you might know, we have just purchased the hotel and we are working very hard to update and remodel the whole hotel. We want it to be a place you will want to return to over and over again....

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

A beautiful lodge to live if you are in taos. With big and beautiful rooms. I'm here since last couple of months i'm loving this place. You should definitely choose this lodge to live if you're here.The facilities provided by this lodge is way more than how much they charge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Piyush C
Management response:

Thank you so much for your nice review. If you've been there for a while, then you must have noticed some of the work being done. We have just purchased the hotel and we are, " a work in progress". It's very exciting, even though we have a long way to go. I do hope, the next time you are...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Staff was friendly & very helpful. Breakfast was adequate but they kept running out of things. Staff replaced what they could & apologized when they couldn't. Room was clean & bathroom looked newly tiled. Walls were thin and the noise from other rooms & outside were bothersome. Overall it was ok for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank northerngirl58
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review. As you may know, we have just recently purchased the hotel, so a lot of work is being done. I hope it wasn't too disrupting to your stay. We are addressing the breakfast department, we don't like running out of food. I hope you'll accept our apologies. We have a long way to...

Reviewed 10 January 2017

This place is wonderful, under new ownership. Very pleased with level of service. Everyone is pleasant and accommodating. Room was clean and very well appointed. The hotel itself is quiet and has a great location! Would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tijana V
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review and your recommendation to others. That means a lot to us. Yes, we have just purchased the hotel and we have a lot of plans in store for this beautiful old hotel. We do have a long way to go, and as you might have noticed, we are a work in progress. Hopefully,...

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Great hotel staff is amazing and friendly. Rooms are nice and cozy great ambiance hot tub and pool are wonderful and is close by to great restaurants. Breakfast is awesome and a complimentary for the guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review. As you may have noticed, we are a work in progress. We've just recently purchased the hotel and are truly excited about the overall outcome. We do have a long way to go, but we love a challenge. Hopefully, next time you're back in the area you will stay with us and check...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.3 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.2 km away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
1.1 km away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
351 reviews
1.2 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,105 reviews
1.6 km away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly owned, operated, and renovated! ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Camino Lodge

Address: 615 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5228
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Price Range: ₹ 4,778 - ₹ 8,182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Camino Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your El Camino Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Taos
Paragon Hotel Taos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Camino Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from El Camino Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles MSMCIB, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the 2nd floor in the back. Quiet, with parking lot in front.”
 of 5 bubbles 173bernadettel, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is no good room at this motel”
 of 5 bubbles 76carlar, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there!”
 of 5 bubbles MJB19, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“If you don't care if your room is dirty, choose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Fira123, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5