We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Madikwe Safari Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Madikwe Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Madikwe Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 505: English reviews
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This was a return trip to the Safari Lodge. The chalet was fine and staff cheerful and helpful. However Safaris very poor. Too many in vehicle, inexperienced Guide and no tracker. We were very disappointed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maddie A
MOREfamily, General Manager at Madikwe Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 'Maddie A', Firstly, thank you for choosing to return to Madikwe Safari Lodge. We enjoyed hosting you during your visit in 2014, and again now in February 2017. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the service you received at the Lodge, and were satisfied with your accommodation. I do, however, regret that you found our safari experience...

Durham
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We spent 3 nights at Madikwe Safari Lodge from 28th February until 3rd March,This was a first time safari for us and we were unsure what to expect but we were not to be disappointed. From the moment we disembarked from the Federal Air Flight from Jo'burg to be met by Johann and Mitchell and a welcoming glass of champagne...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningNEEngland
Zurich
Reviewed 12 March 2017

This was our second stay at Lelapa Lodge and we were so happy to return. Last time we used the Fed Air transfer and this time we chose to drive after a short stay at Sun City. The drive in was fun if a little challenging in arts purely because it was a hire car. We loved seeing the animals...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClarkeFamilyCH
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 6 March 2017

It was my seventh safari trip. I have been to South Africa, Kenya, Tanzania and India before for safaris but I have never met a ranger so impolite, aggressive and disrespectful as I did here. So, if a plan to visit Madikwe, go - but ask any ranger besides Gerard!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fabioalperow
MOREfamily, Operations Manager, MORE at Madikwe Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 'fabioalpero', Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We understand how critical a good Field Guide is to a successful safari, and take this aspect of our operation very seriously. We have investigated the circumstances surrounding your experience with Gerhard, and have included our feedback below. You spent a total of 5 game drives...

Paris
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Staff, facilities, landscape and the staff are so exceptionnel !!!! We have seen a lot of animals in a beautiful landscape For a family with a little children is very good very good. We make a strong recommendation

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lionelg956
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Great Place, Friendly people. Great Ranger! all the experience was beyond our expectations. We were there for 3 nights with our two children of 4 and 5. We all spend a great time. They were very flexible with us with a problem and that made our experience unique.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Y7161HWmarian
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Madikwe offered a paradise experience to me. The food is excellent. The staff more than friendly and helpfull. The game drives are a unique event. Twice a day you go out in the bush to go see the animals. The rangers are in good and constant contact to brief each other on game they saw and where to find it....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyobserver
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 25 February 2017

In this park there are many animals, the safari is worth the trip. For the price the lodges are in need of maintenance and cleaning. We had a rainy sason and after unpacking we needed to move to another lodge as the rain was leaking on our bed. Staff is friendly and good. Cleaning should be better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 8edwarda
MOREfamily, General Manager at Madikwe Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear '8edwarda', We appreciate the time you took to review Madikwe Safari Lodge. We are so pleased that you were well taken care of by our team, and that you enjoyed good animal sightings during your time with us. We've investigated the circumstances that impacted negatively on your stay, and have included our feedback below. The time of your visit...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Great place for both couples and families. All rooms have a plungepool which was great as well as Aircon and fan so all temperatures catered for. Little touches like a daily chat with housekeeping, boma dinner and treats on special days like Valentines Day were lovely. Staff are great, we were thoroughly pampered. Rooms are superb, loved the 'gym in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annette A
South Queensferry
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Just left today and we were there as a family group. Shawn was our lodge manager and ran behind the scenes expertly and arranged a stunning night dinner out in the bush. These people are often forgotten about but we recognised all the hard work he put in to make ours a special experience. JP was our safari guide for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShaneWasik

647 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (607)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (122)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (272)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.1 km away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
414 reviews
4.5 km away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
449 reviews
22.3 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
276 reviews
18.5 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
461 reviews
9.2 km away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The rich red timbres of the African earth are reflected in the warm tones of Madikwe Safari Lodge. Cradled between rolling hills, overlooking game-filled plains intersected by the Marico River and framed by the Dwarsberg Hills, just 20 suites are clustered in three intimate camps. With circular fireplaces at the heart of every suite, and big glass doors to blur the boundary between inside and out, Madikwe embodies the warm, bold heart of this spectacularly rugged corner of Africa. Spacious wooden decks embrace inviting plunge pools, and book-filled shelves in quiet corners entice and captivate, while large pizza ovens add a fun twist to meal times. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Madikwe Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 58,291 - ₹ 87,566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Madikwe Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madikwe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Madikwe Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Gold Coast

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Madikwe Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lelapa Lodge was amazing but did not see the other rooms.”
392jjb, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Every room is amazing!”
kathleenp2014394, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A magnificent room overlooking the African bush! The outdoor shower was well worth the experience Tranquility at it's best!”
stewartc711, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“i'm guessing all the rooms at Kopano are super and the other lodges within the group cater to different groups (families or others).”
MikeHSFO, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All suites face the bush and are completely private (except for inquisitive animals!)”
DiscerningNEEngland, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates