We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (362)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (16)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good17%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“luxury tents”(10 reviews)
“tented suite”(4 reviews)
“game drives”(100 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Thakadu River Camp
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
240
58
16
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
240
58
16
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury tentstented suitegame drivesmarico riverfudgecommunity runwild dogsthe reservelocal communityelectric blanketsbush experiencegame drivermosquito netair conditioningthoroughly enjoyed our staya king size bedthe main lodge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017

This is one of the best camps I have stayed in South Africa. The tents are fantastic and even in mid winter it's warm and cosy if you have the air con and electric blankets on. The staff are helpful and friendly and the food...More

Thank johnB2911
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 30 June 2017

Dear johnB2911 Thank you for your review, it is very rewarding for the Thakadu Team to see that our guests did enjoyed their stay and safari experience with us. We are looking forward to host you as returning guests to Thakadu River Camp.

Reviewed 12 June 2017

Althoug we knew, that this is a "tented camp", it was too cold in the rooms and the lobby / dining area to feel comfortable. The landscape and the wildlife are beautiful and we saw a lot of different animals.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank reinard2017
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 30 June 2017

Dear reinard2017 It was a pleasure hosting you. We are looking forward to welcome you back at Thakadu River Camp during summer.

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Road to lodges was the worst we have had. 4x4 is a must to reach the lodge. Staff is not professional and helpful like in other lodges. They have not been learned how to deal with guests ( management issue) Every morning monkeys entered the...More

1  Thank robert s
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Robert S Thank you for your review. Please except my apologies that we were not able to meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will action accordingly. We hope to see you back at Thakadu River Camp.

Reviewed 30 May 2017

My husband and I visited Thakadu River Camp to have our first safari experience. As a 5-month pregnant lady, its location in a malaria-free area was important to us, and we were encouraged by the community-run aspect of this lodge. Our experience was fantastic! The...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johannas917
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 4 June 2017

Dear johannas917 We are glad that the Thakadu Team managed to make your first Safari Experience a memorable one. It was a pleasure hosting you and we can not wait to welcome you back and meet the baby.

Reviewed 28 May 2017

If you're really lucky you'll experience the bush with a very knowledgeable, fully interactive guide. Unfortunately this doesn't always happen which can spoil the overall experience somewhat. The hotel staff are wonderful, right from your early morning wake up call to the last good night...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gill G
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Gill G Thank you for your review and on going support of Thakadu River Camp. The Team are looking forward to host you and your friends / family in August.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Madikwe Game Reserve
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 444 - US$ 676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 444 - US$ 676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (362)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (16)
Pool & Beach (15)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dani L
25 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Elle D | Reviewed this property |
Yes yes. There is a game drive in the morning and afternoon. Just phone the lodge and confirm the times. Their customer service was great.
1
Vote
Mishy77
6 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Hanlie L | Property representative |
Connection is not always strong but you will be able to connect with 3G.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"As the rooms are like pearls on a chain along the river - it would be good for people with limited movement..."
Read review
"The room was perfect... though the only issue we had were marks on the head board of the bed. Probably where..."
Read review
"If you need to be close to reception nd facilities, you need to stick to rooms 1 to 4 max. the rooms are..."
Read review
"We were given Tent number 2 as requested - a manageable distance from the Lodge/swimming pool/pick up area..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing