We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thakadu River Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Thakadu River Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thakadu River Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Cape Town
Reviewed 19 February 2016

OK, so this might not be a lodge with a 5 star rating, but it gets 5 stars from me for the amazing time we had there! As South Africans we find the prices at most places prohibitively expensive so I was thrilled to book a 3 night stay here at an affordable rate. We flew into Lanseria and hired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaj362
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear rebeccaj362. I still remember all the excitement welcoming the group back after the elephant experience, I think that is why most of us love the bush so much. One never know what to expect around the next corner. It was a pleasure hosting you and the Thakdu Team would love to host you as returning guests .

Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We visited Thakadu in January and stayed for three nights. This was our first safari experience and it was just wonderful. From the moment we arrived we were treated with such warmth and kindness. It was lovely to have a freshly made cold drink waiting for us after a long drive and to have lunch served straight away! The food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tamzyn
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Tamzyn Thank you for a great review and recommending Thakdu River Camp to friends and family. It is exciting to see that that you enjoyed your first safari experience and we hope that this one was the first of many at Thakadu River Camp and Madikwe Game Reserve.

Gloucester
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic base for a safari, a wonderful welcome awaited us when we arrived, friendly staff always with a smile! The game reserve driver (Lazarus)was exceptionally knowledgable and very very helpful! The tented suits are well equipped and very comfortable, Food was good, a fair choice of starter and mains! All in all, highly recommend Thakadu is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ade1971Gloucester
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear ade1971Gloucester Thank you for choosing Thakadu River Camp for your Safari experience. The team are trilled to see that you enjoyed your stay and can not wait to host you as returning guests on your next visit to Madikwe Game Reserve.

Pleasant Hill, California
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Our family had a spectacular time. Our ranger, Jerry, was very knowledgeable and willing to please. We saw the big five and lots of other bonus animals. The staff was very friendly, and the food really good. We were sad to leave, and would like to go again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peterdebbiee
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear peterdebbiee We would gladly host you again and hope that you will soon get a chance to visit Madikwe and have another great Safari experience at Thakadu River Camp.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

I spent 3 days at this River Camp and I wish I had extended my stay. The entire stay was absolutely amazing from the time we arrived to the moment we departed. The huts were superb, the dinning facilities were great (with amazing food), and the outside lounge is breathtaking. Early morning is followed with coffee and tea and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank San F
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear San F Thank you for your review. We strive to give our guests a unforgettable Safari Experience and it is very rewarding to here we succeeded. We will gladly host and take good care of each person you recommend Thakadu River Camp too.

Buntingford
Reviewed 7 February 2016

We are frequent travellers to South Africa and this time we treated ourselves with a trip to Madikwe, a private reserve, and selected to stay at the Thakadu River Camp for a tented camp safari experience and were not disappointed. Booking was easy via Veronika at Biggestleaf Travel, the directions to the camp were spot on and the route is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caff_H
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Caff_H Thank you for your detailed review and comments. It is very rewarding for the Thakadu Team to hear that you are planning to visit us again. It will be our privilege to host you as returning guests to Thakadu River Camp.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2016

The staff was very friendly, but without any doubt the total experience lacked a professional edge. We were not given any information on the park (size, camps, what to expect to see) or on additional activities(such as in room massages) or possible walking safari's EST. Additionally our game ranger missed various sightings where we had to stop and show him....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielvO6524IJ
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear danielvO65241J Thank you for your review. Please except my apologies for us not totally meeting your safari expectations. We strive to give our guests an unforgettable Safari experience, more than their expectations. We appreciate your comments and will work on mentioned suggestions.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 February 2016

I started communicating with Thakadu weeks and weeks ago. Given this is my first trip to South Africa, I wanted to make sure that I could get transfers to/from JNB before I booked my trip. While the woman I was corresponding with said she would "enquire" about transfers, she never did get back to me. I finally found a transfer...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GriswoldSalute
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear GriswoldSalute Please except my apologies for the manner in which your booking inquiry was handled. I would appreciate it, if you will forward your booking details to gm@thakadu.co.za.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 January 2016

This was my 3rd time I coated The camp. And as every time: everything was amazing. The rooms, The massage, The food (really good) and The staff made it an amazing Experience. Special thanks to Lazarus. I met a lot of rangers in The last couple of years and Lazarus amazed me every day. We had amazing sightings and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 207elisabethh
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear 207elisabethh It was great to receive you back and a honour to host you again. We feel privileged to share Madikwe splendour with our guests. We are looking forward to your next visit to Thakadu River Camp.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

Thakadu Camp is a small lodge with only a few tents. The tents are camouflaged in the bush and therefor you have a lot of privacy. The tents are luxurious. The food is outstanding, but the wine was sometimes a little bit warm. Ranger Lazarus is one of the best rangers I ever met. He grew up nearby, knows everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wvstraten
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear wvstraten Great news to hear that you would like to visit Thakadu River Camp again, we are looking forward to welcome you as returning guests. Please except my apologies for the wine that was not cold enough, we will address this problem.

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (259)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (173)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
17.9 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
416 reviews
20.1 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
318 reviews
5.0 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
393 reviews
18.6 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#11 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
252 reviews
4.1 km away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Thakadu River Camp

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 18,872 - ₹ 25,881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thakadu River Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Thakadu River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thakadu River Camp Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room was ok.”
 of 5 bubbles Messina_Nicola, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles 15lon, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“lower numbers are closer to the main building”
 of 5 bubbles hillysim, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Patience as your Game Ranger! Get a room close to the lodge as the rooms can be quite a walk.”
 of 5 bubbles PhillipM54, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“family room are spacious and nice- tent 1 was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles evelb20162016, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay