We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thakadu River Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Thakadu River Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 243: English reviews
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had 4 nights at the Thakadu River Camp over New Year 2017 and we had the most fantastic time. I never usually write reviews but am doing so on this occasion because I wanted to share with others. We had a driver from Johannesburg Airport, which was expensive and while at Thakadu we met several others who had driven...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannabenedictf
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear joanabenedictf Thank you for your fantastic review. It inspire the Thakadu Team to go to an even higher level of taking care of our guests. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back as returning guests at Thakadu River Camp.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the moment we arrived (on the most inconvenient day of the year - 31 December 2016) we were treated to staff that was friendly and always helpful. The rooms - tents along the river - were fantastic - well appointed and secluded with everything one could want yes for a tent even an air conditioner, a bar fridge would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dieselblade
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear diedelblade Thank you for the review. I could not help laughing by myself. We level the rack in the curio the afternoon after you departed, every time I past the rack I am thinking about your comment. Thank you for your suggestions. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

London
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for theee nights in the second week of Jan. We looked at a few other lodges but, as we had left it quite late, the reasonably priced ones had already been booked. We were greeted exceptionally well on arrival at the Thakadu River Camp, it had been raining a lot before so the final stretch (after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mishy77
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Mishy77 It was a great pleasure hosting you. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your whole Safari experience at Thakadu River Camp. The game viewing in Madikwe was excellent over the last couple of weeks and it is a privilege to share it with our guests.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This lodge offers fantastic value for money - with a lovely permanent tented accommodation, really high standard food, excellent service and not to mention fantastic game viewing :-) We're a family of 2 adults and 2 children 8yr and 5yrs. As children understandably need to be 6yr and over to go on main drives...we were unable to take our 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellinghamfam
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Ellinghamfam The Thakadu Team are looking forward to your next visit. We would love to share more of Madikwe Game Reserves beauty and our hospitality with your family.

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service at the arrival was very poor. we had to fight to get our first game drive, which was really a shame. However the room, the environment and the overall experience are fantastic. There are no words for that. Amazingly beautiful!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tessav486
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear tessav486 We realise that you were upset when you arrive to hear that the game drive vehicle have already departed. Unfortunately you did not made it in time for the game drive, your family were not our only guests on the vehicle and we can not expect guests to wait for arriving guests that were not able to arrive...

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Aamazing time at Thakadu River Camp, wonderful rooms (luxury tents), great views from the lodge with herds of elephants coming to bathe in the water whole, good food, super friendly and helpful staff. Our ranger Gery was excellent, great tracker and wit him, we got to see the Big 5, followed a pack of wild dogs on their hunt, spotted...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N8052MMrobertv
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear N8052MMrobertv We are glad that to see that you had a trilling adventure and good memories of your Safari experience at Thakadu River Lodge. It was a privilege hosting you and we are looking forward to welcome you back as returning guests.

Oxford
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place really is great value when all things are considered. We found the food in particular and caring staff really made our stay so special. The drives were equally great. The rooms aren't luxury but they are very nicely done out and are very comfortable as well. Seems some rooms have a much better view from their balcony than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imjustthemessenger
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear imjustthemessenger It was a pleasure hosting you. Except for clearing the pathways to the tents we try to leave the environment as natural as possible. Our friends the elephants are the only ones allowed to trim as they which. The Tents with better views in summer might not be as nice during the winter months. We are glad to...

Blythburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose Thakadu River Camp as it represented excellent value for our Christmas and New Year break. The welcome was warm, and the staff were unfailingly friendly during our extended stay. Accommodation is in large permanent tents, set on wooden decks along the river. The tents have large patio windows that lead on to a covered deck area overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Blythspirit68
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Blythspirit68 Thank you for this very informative review. Much appreciated. It was a pleasure hosting you and it was quite strange for the first couple of nights not to have the late night chat on the Pool deck. It is always inspiring to meet people like yourselves that really love the bush and will do anything to spend time...

Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're after great food and accommodation and a quick sighting of the big 5, this is the place for you. If you are more for the unspoiled experience, pay a little extra and go elsewhere. Too many roads, fences, power lines, traffic and buildings on each of our four game drives. I know how beautiful Madikwe is, so felt...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vschulz2017
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. All our game drives are in the larger Madikwe Game Reserve and are planned that our guests see most parts of the reserve, obviously depending on the amount of days you are staying. Our rangers concentrate first on the areas where the most animals are at that specific time. It was a pleasure...

Buhl, Germany
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Our guide Lazarus was very friendly and has a good knowledge about the animals and their behaviour. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious. We enjoyed the sundowners during the afternoon safari.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jochen Bianca O
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jochen And Bianca Thank you for your stay and positive feedback, the chefs are trilled about your comment on the food. It will be a pleasure for the Thakadu Team to welcome you back as returning guests.

270 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (174)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
17.9 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
427 reviews
20.1 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
322 reviews
5.1 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
404 reviews
10.5 km away
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
#20 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
162 reviews
18.6 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#11 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Thakadu River Camp

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 19,715 - ₹ 26,741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thakadu River Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thakadu River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thakadu River Camp Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Thakadu River Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms were wonderful. Although it was a tent and therefore felt very romantic; they were very clean and absolutely beautiful. There was a gorgeous bath with brass taps, very comfortable beds and a lovely balcony. There was brilliant air conditioning and mosquito nets to keep out the insects. The rooms couldn't have been more perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles joannabenedictf, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The are all great, but if you want a good view of the river ask for the higher numbered rooms”
 of 5 bubbles dieselblade, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The bed was amazing! My compliments!”
 of 5 bubbles tessav486, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 7 and other rooms for the same price definitely had better views from their balconies”
 of 5 bubbles imjustthemessenger, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Tents are numbered from 1 to 12, with lower numbers closer to the main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles Blythspirit68, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay