We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Madikwe Game Reserve 2128 South Africa
Booking.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (220)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (9)

About

#20 of 23 Specialty lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Full view
Contact
Madikwe Game Reserve 2128 South Africa
Getting there
Sir Seretse Khama Intl Airport38 kmSee all flights
Lanseria Airport217 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
207Reviews5Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 153
  • 30
  • 16
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mch wrote a review 10 Sep
1 contribution
The 3 days stay at the Buffaloridgesafari Lodge in the Madwike reserve was amazing . The place is unique, the staff extremely kind and attentive. The lodge architecture beautiful. I was there with my son of 5 years and we had peaceful and unique stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Rightford, General Manager at Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback Marie-Caroline. Even better that you had such a good stay at Buffalo Ridge. Take Care and Travel Safely.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GeraintIsitt wrote a review Aug 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates8 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I stayed at Buffalo Ridge for 6 nights the first week of August. We're both quite seasoned safari goers, and have stayed at a range of camps from eco-lodges to high-end 5*+ camps, and Buffalo Ridge ticks all the boxes that we like when we are on a safari trip. As mentioned in another review, this lodge would not be great for someone with mobility issues, but this, fortunately, does not affect us. The entire camp is set within the hills, which provides stunning views into the valley below from the lodge, from your patio, or even from the glass enclosed shower. The resident family of klipspringer made an appearance outside our room several times over the stay, and judging by the amount of dung around, they weren't the only animals to see the lodge as a great place to wander. As such, at night and early morning, you do need a guide/staff member to escort you to and from your room. Each day saw a fixed menu, something I appreciate. It seems many places since lock-down have been steering away from buffet meals. Mind you, most lodges I've stayed at have had a fixed menu each day. The food was also first class. Cooked perfectly, great portion size, and enough diversity during the week to not get bored. Bring an appetite as you'll have two courses for lunch and three for dinner. The staff were wonderful, and all from a local community, which was one of the main reasons we booked to stay at this lodge. From the maintenance staff, to the waitresses/waiters, front of house staff, and the chefs, we were made to feel like family and it was tough to leave. Our guide for the game drives was Israel, and he is one of the best guides I've had. Always calm, always communicating about what he had planned for us, always asking if we had seen enough at any sighting. I was really impressed with his dedication to not upset or stress the animals out, and his ability to read situations. When we were there the male elephants were all rather grumpy for a number of reasons, and Israel's knowledge and skills saw us out of what could have been potentially difficult situations. Overall, Buffalo Ridge is an excellent place for a short stay or longer stay. My wife Sarah and I are already planning our return visit next year. We know we'll get the same warm welcome and leave happy. Definitely a lodge everyone should look at.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Rightford, General Manager at Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Geraint, thank you for your feedback. Its always good positive or negative and we appreciate the time taken to write up about the lodge. Looking forward to your next trip. Take Care.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonestribe2012 wrote a review Jul 2022
Shropshire, United Kingdom63 contributions65 helpful votes
+1
Lodge is on the ridge and surrounded by bush. This lodge is not suitable with visitors with mobility issues as its all stairs from the carpark to reception to the dining room to the bedrooms. Steep stairs. Having said that the rooms are clean and the outside shower lovely. Mosquito nets over the beds but Madikwe is a malaria free area. Meals were average - not fine ding but substantial. A few animals seen from the deck but mostly on game drives.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you have a mobility issue this lodge is not for you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CCWestFinchampstead wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We have just returned from our first stay at Buffalo Ridge, knowing that it will be the first of many (for as long as the finances allow). We have loved Madikwe ever since our first visit 11 years ago. With our regular lodge not yet open we decided on Buffalo Ridge, in part because we wanted to experience an as yet unvisited part of the Reserve. We are very pleased that we did. Great location with extensive view, spacious lodges, extremely experienced guides, and a group of people determined that your stay will be both memorable and enjoyable. The lodge is owned by a local community, with everyone working there coming from the same village. This means they have known each other for all of their lives, and they work as part of a large family, always with smiles on their faces, and doing whatever they can to ensure that you have a great time. They succeeded! Around the lodge we saw elephants feeding just by the main deck, while klipspringers rested on the steps leading up to the vehicles for the game drives. On the game drives we had great close-up sightings of cheetah, elephants, lions, and so many other creatures. This was very much down to Godfrey who looked after us so well. With his great knowledge, many years of experience, and great people skills, you couldn’t ask for more in your guide. We thoroughly recommend Buffalo Ridge to anyone wanting a top-end experience without having to pay top-end prices.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
EliseM4321 wrote a review Aug 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa5 contributions1 helpful vote
15 women, all old friends, visited Buffalo Ridge this past weekend. What a wonderful gem in the beautiful Madikwe reserve. The staff, who are all from the community that owns Buffalo Ridge, are delightful - from the amazing rangers (Franco and Israel), the chefs (Tshepo and Julia), Penelope, Lucas, Grace, Godfrey, Priscilla and all the others. They indulged our every whim and ‘madness’. The game viewing is spectacular and the camp really lovely. I can highly recommend a visit and will definitely be back myself.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nichola R wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
A group of women, who have all been friends for decades, gathered at Buffalo Ridge for the trip of a lifetime. It’s difficult to decide what my favourite thing about it was - the staff? the game viewings? the lodge location? the food? The price? Well actually, they were all exceptional. In particular, I think I have to mention the staff - they could not have been more charming or helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble. Oh, wait, there was also the leopard sighting, the lioness with cubs, the cheetah with cubs, and the waterhole sighting of the various gathered herds that made me feel as if noah’s ark had just docked in Madikwe. It was all spectacular. An unreserved 5* experience!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
naomik263 wrote a review Aug 2021
Pretoria, South Africa5 contributions1 helpful vote
Very basic accommodation, not luxurious (at all) as advertised. Water pressure is very low and we even struggled to flush the toilet properly (every time). Not child friendly, especially for young children (our youngest is 3 years old). Nothing for children to do (my other children are 10 and 12) except for the game drives and a swimming pool (which was ice cold and dirty with leafs and dirt on the pool floor). The children's meals including the starter, main and dessert were exactly the same as for the adults. Even the portion size was same, which was a complete waste of food. Our 3 year old hardly enjoyed any of her meals as it was all gourmet style “adult food”. The staff in the dining area were friendly but not over enthusiastic to assist us. There is a big lack of professionalism and finesse, had to call them time and again to order drinks or if we needed something. Food was served before drinks, dirty plates piling up, extremely hot plates were put in front of our 3 year old etc. Food was nice but we had no choice but to eat chefs choice, no meal options to choose from. Our napkins as well as the breakfast food cover mesh were worn out and had holes in it. Hot water for coffee was stored and served in a CADAC camping flask. There is a nice boma area which we were looking forward to having a classic South African braai but to our disappointment, the boma was never used. The lodge does not look well maintained. The thatched roof needs some TLC, the furniture in the communal sitting area looks old and dirty and the patio covers zips were damaged and couldn’t be closed properly when we were getting cold at night. It was also torn in certain places. Our bathroom wall corners are badly chipped. There was no tv (as advertised) and we had to watch the Springboks vs Lions rugby game on our cellphones. Our game ranger was friendly but not spontaneously interactive (comparing with other lodges we’ve been to). We mostly had to ask questions before he would share information. Here and there he would share 1 or 2 facts but we were definitely not overwhelmed with lots of interesting information. Also the game viewer vehicle was dirty and the vehicle itself looked like it has seen better days. There were rubbish from the previous day in the seat pockets. There was also no sign of management at the lodge. As this is a community project, I hope management reads this and take heart. Although we received special rates, we expected more value for money. Expect to pay 5 star rates and receive 3 star accommodation and service. We will not return anytime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Rightford, General Manager at Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge
Responded 10 Aug 2021
I am extremely disappointed in your experience at the lodge. We are aware of some of the maintenance issues due to the lengthy periods of closure due to Covid and the lack of business, it however does not excuse the lack of attention to detail as you have expressed. I will address this urgently. Kind regards Chris Rightford
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karin T wrote a review Jun 2021
Pueblo Nuevo de Guadiaro, Spain39 contributions5 helpful votes
This was a good surprise. The lodge is nestled on the top of the ridge. It's cosy, comfortable and quaint. The rooms are big and with a nice terrace. it's not big luxury but it is very pretty and the style adds to the bush experience. There is a nice pool with fantastic views. They have a resident couple of klipspringers that is too cute. It's also full of birds! The food was absolutely amazing so is the staff. They really go the extra mile! Our guide, Franco, was the best! He was knowledgeable, hard working, and fun. I loved the time spent on the drives. The only minor problem is that the Wifi didn't work at all. But am not going in the bush to be on my phone.. I will definitely go back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Rightford, General Manager at Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge
Responded 22 Jun 2021
Thank you for the feedback Karin, glad you had a good stay. Take care and hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick W wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne199 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
My wife and 2 teenage daughters stayed in rooms 2 and 3 at the charming Buffalo Ridge for 6 nights from 17th January 2020. Our ranger was Franco who was exceptional as were the rest of the staff. Franco tried very hard to show us many animals: only the leopard eluded us but this was compensated by very special sightings of other animals. E.g. giraffes play fighting; a solo elephant having a shower; a lion roaring etc.... The food and accommodation were wonderful and the staff very friendly. Franco kindly took us on a tour of the staff's village Lekgophung. We dropped into the primary school and gave them a few things. I encourage others to do the same if you get the chance. The view was amazing and we saw elephants, rhinos and other animals whilst eating our meals. Importantly the vehicles are allowed to go off road in Madikwe, unlike other game reserves we looked at. Our vehicle was open but had a roof. This was important when it rained one morning. We saw vehicles from other lodges that didn't have a roof. We drove ourselves to Madikwe from Johannesburg. (We spent 3 nights in Hunter's Rest which was wonderful too). The drive was easy. Overall I cannot recommend Buffalo Ridge highly enough. Thank you to all of the wonderful staff, especially Franco!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Droz4079 wrote a review Jan 2020
Victoria, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
This was such an amazing safari. The whole experience was positive and memorable. That kind of trip that you don't want to end. I would recommend Madikwe at the Buffalo Lodge for your trip if you plan to come to South Africa. The staff is friendly and Franco was a great guide. Be prepared to have the best adventure of your safari life.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms were fabulous
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris R, Managing Director at Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Thank you for your positive response. So glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$731 - $778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceMadikwe Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Madikwe Nature Reserve (7.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Buffalo Ridge Safari Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.