We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge

CancelonUS$ 512*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 619*
US$ 512*
Great Deal
US$ 619*
US$ 617*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015

I stayed overnight here in mid February. I did two game drives which were superb. Ernst the ranger managed a fantastic leopard sighting and great lion. The lodge is being renovated currently so 5 rooms are occupied max. A great , reasonable price option for this part of the reserve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben U
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback,we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Stuttgart
Reviewed 8 February 2015

My husband and I have been to South Africa a lot of times during the last 20 years. We always had wonderful accommodations in different lodges and therefore good experiences to see the differences. We were booked in at the Madikwe River Lodge for three nights in October 2014 and due to the website and the high-price segment of this...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SJH33
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may caused you.

Reviewed 20 January 2015 via mobile

Having seen the number of poor reviews of this lodge, I feel the need to provide a review based on a number of stays I have had here. There are few places in Africa that I have returned to a number of times, yet this is one of them. Whilst agreeing that the lodge is rustic and could do with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hayley F
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Reviewed 11 January 2015

Having secured a "confirmed booking" over two weeks prior to our New Year stay, we were informed the day before the visit was due to start that this contract could not be honoured on the second of two nights. Being New Year, we now had few options to go elsewhere with our adult son who was visiting from the UK....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Michael W
Nick V, Internal Marketing Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Gaborone
Reviewed 8 January 2015

This lodge was most enjoyable and there were only a few steps to navigate around the lodge (for anyone with a knee problem!) The well trained staff were helpful but not interfering. Comfortable rooms with efficient aircon and fans and a proper door on the bathroom. The food was good and the game drives were excellent, with some extraordinary sightings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flea F
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

West Byfleet
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

We have done many safaris and were somewhat disappointed here. The rooms are great as is the location, we did see lions and elephants which made up for where this place is lacking. So to start: the food was very disappointing, we had booked about 8 rooms for our entire family with varying diets. It was also NYE and nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Khyan
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 December 2014

The Madikwe Game Reserve is the fifth largest game reserve in South Africa. The Reserve has seven things going for it: it is large (750 square km); it is malaria-free, which is very important, particularly when travelling with kids; it is close to Johannesburg and Pretoria (about a 4 hour drive); it has around 30 lodges to choose from at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelOften1968
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 December 2014

I visited the hotel for the first time in September for 4 nights and returned again end of November for another 3 nights. Yes, I agree that the hotel does need a bit of revamping (which has just started and will be complete by middle December) I found that the room are comfortable and lack nothing. I am far more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redberryridge
Nick V, Internal Marketing Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 28 October 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Lodge in October which is a fantastic time as it is not too hot or too cold. I agree with some of the earlier reviews that the Lodge is in desperate need of an upgrade. My wife and I have travelled to numerous game reserves across South Africa and whilst the location is amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donovan S
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

johannesburg
Reviewed 25 October 2014

Yes, the hotel is old but we enjoyed the old feel. Keep in mind the it was the first lodge to be built in Madikwe. No, there is no one to greet us on returning from the game drives with cold towels and Amarula liqueurs and there are no messages or water bottles in the room - Madikwe River Lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KrugerToKalahari
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (147)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
5.6 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
566 reviews
13.6 km away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#15 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
308 reviews
22.1 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
343 reviews
26.2 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
276 reviews
8.9 km away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Madikwe River Lodge is positioned in the heart of Madikwe Game Reserve and offers attractive comfort in sixteen split level suites with an outdoor dining boma located on a central Island,accessed by a wooden bridge,this luxurious Lodge invites guests to enjoy the sights & sounds in mother Africa's land of brilliance. Surrounded by 75 000 hectares of malaria-free African sand veld.Each suites is individually decorated to create a rich African feel,and offers en-suites bathroom with a full range of guests amenities as well as a private wooden viewing deck overlooking the river. Madikwe Game Reserve, is world of breathtaking scenery and endless African bush. At Madikwe River Lodge the guided game drivers and trails are thrilling to be a part of with Africa offering you and incomparable experience in the wild. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge

Address: | P.O. Box 17, Madikwe Game Reserve 2876, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 30,552 - ₹ 43,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe River Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Denver, Colorado

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All have excellent views.”
289willl, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick a different game reserve”
dwh24, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for your room not to be too far from the dining area if you don't like walking in scorching heat !”
201sylvainb, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Amazing staff, great deserts, free wifi, peaceful location, abundance of wildlife, great game viewings, off road driving, great rangers”
  • Bathroom with a view over the river (Photo by Drive South Africa, #TrekSouthAfrica)
  • Bedroom with a view over the river (Photo by Drive South Africa, #TrekSouthAfrica)
  • View of the river (Photo by Drive South Africa, #TrekSouthAfrica)
DevonKrantz, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“excellent views to the river”
mhz1303, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$ 512* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 619
Hotwire.comUS$ 617
Expedia.comUS$ 617
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates