We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
R24, Madikwe Game Reserve 2876 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$601
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Hotels.com
$601
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Agoda.com
$502
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Extra 3% off with AGOTA1222
Travelocity$601
ZenHotels.com$553
Orbitz.com$601
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (363)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (36)

About

#19 of 23 Specialty lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Madikwe River Lodge is positioned in the heart of Madikwe Game Reserve and offers attractive comfort in sixteen split level suites with an outdoor dining boma located on a central Island,accessed by a wooden bridge,this luxurious Lodge invites guests to enjoy the sights & sounds in mother Africa's land of brilliance. Surrounded by 75 000 hectares of malaria-free African sand veld.Each suites is individually decorated to create a rich African feel,and offers en-suites bathroom with a full range of guests amenities as well as a private wooden viewing deck overlooking the river. Madikwe Game Reserve, is world of breathtaking scenery and endless African bush. At Madikwe River Lodge the guided game drivers and trails are thrilling to be a part of with Africa offering you and incomparable experience in the wild.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Family

Location

Full view
Contact
R24, Madikwe Game Reserve 2876 South Africa
Getting there
Sir Seretse Khama Intl Airport53 kmSee all flights
Lanseria Airport206 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
315Reviews5Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 216
  • 62
  • 19
  • 12
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JapieCla wrote a review Mar 2022
Beaufort West, South Africa13 contributions3 helpful votes
I had a booking with Madikwe River Lodge for overseas clients. Due to Covid they have to cancel trip and with all other things in SA they are not interested to come to SA any more. But now I struggle for more than a year to get the deposit back. The GM just answer emails when she wants and there are always excuses. Wonder if someone knows who is owner that I can get in contact with them
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kmanhuwa wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
If you want a relaxing hide out with a potential to see all the big five plus a bonus for the magnificent 7, then Madikwe is t place. The food was just delicious, Can’t wait for our 2nd anniversary, we are definitely going back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
elizef355 wrote a review Sep 2021
Rustenburg, South Africa1 contribution
This was one of the most amazing experiences for us in the bush. Great service, food and assistance and the bush trips was excellent. We have learned so much about the animals. Great guide and superb service and food.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Reece B wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
Travelled with my wife for a weekend getaway in October of 2020. About 4-4.5 hours by private vehicle by road, of which 45mins+ is on a gravel/dirt road. Comfortable accommodation - not fancy or luxurious but definitely clean, comfortable and honest. Food was probably the weakest part of the weekend, its ok just not great. Drinks are priced reasonably for a safari/lodge experience. The real winner here is the game, unbelievable viewing experiences with knowledgable, responsible and enthusiastic. guides. Special shout out to Amos for being a real gent and great guide. All in all highly recommended, worth 2-3 nights easily.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 7 is the luxury room, all other rooms are kinda the same
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sightsee45364047489 wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
We spent 2 nights at Madikwe River Lodge and we were blown away with the service we received. The package that we received provided incredible value for money as all meals and 4 game drives were included in the deal. We were pleasantly surprised with the standards of accommodation. It is definitely better than a 3-star hotel. It is more in line with a 4-star hotel - the rooms are spacious, bathrooms are great and the food was good (as a vegetarian I was very well catered for). The service received from all the staff really made the trip exceptional. Special shoutout goes to Pride, our game ranger. He went above and beyond to make sure we had a good experience on all our game drives. He has incredible understanding of how the animals behave. He has respect for the animals, which made us comfortable being so close to lions, elephants, cheetah, buffalo, rhino etc. Service received from Julia and Battalion at the lodge was also very special. I would definitely return. It is an authentic experience. The only drawback is the roads into Madikwe. If you are leaving from Joburg, account for at least 5 hours as the last 40 - 50kms are gravel roads where you have to drive very slowly. The Derdepoort gate also closes at 7 which I didn't know.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pertunia Matshidiso, Other at Aha Madikwe River Lodge
Responded 3 Nov 2020
Dear Valued guests Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us after visiting our lodge. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the services you have being offered. We are so overwhelmed and also appreciate the fact that you chose to visit our lodge and experienced an exceptional service as intended by our Management and Staff. Thank you so much again for you positive feedback, we really looking forward to host you again in future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheBajanQueen wrote a review Mar 2020
Wilmington, Delaware182 contributions74 helpful votes
I have gone to this lodge at least five or six times in the past 10 years--each time with a group of college students. The experience never disappoints--from the staff, the food, and the property to the game drives--everyone was spellbound by their experience. It was hard to get them to leave at the end of our three day-two night visit. Some saw all of the big five--which is exciting. Definitely reommended for those who want a more authentic "game lodge" experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If you want an outdoor shower, ask for room 17.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PMatshidiso, Marketing Assistant at Aha Madikwe River Lodge
Responded 21 Mar 2020
Dear Valued Guests Thank you so much for taking time to write and to share your experience after visiting our lodge. We are so overwhelmed and appreciate the fact that you chose to visit our lodge over again and experienced an exceptional service as intended by our Management and Staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the serviced that you have been offered. Thank you again for your positive feedback, we really looking forward to host you again in future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeppe V wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
When you’ve never been on a safari before, but you feel like you don’t even need to visit other lodges - that’s when you know you have found the perfect place. Madikwe River Lodge was exactly like that for us. We were a little suspicious when booking, as the pictures were not great, however, we decided to try it out. Thank god for that. It’s authentic to the African spirit and culture and combines this with the most profound hospitality and luxury. The staff sang and danced for us the first night, and made an unforgettable experience with a Boma Dinner the next night. But that wasn’t even the best part. The game drives were truly memorable thanks to our ranger Benson. It is so rare to meet a person that is so nice, fun and KNOWLEDGEABLE. He is so skilled and has huge knowledge about everything in the bush. He is THE MAN! Food was great. Good selection of wines. Nice, clean, updated rooms. Beautiful, authentic main lodge area. Utmost tranquility with the Groot Marico River running just past the lodge and all of the chalets. Conclusion: Words and pictures just don’t do Madikwe River Lodge justice. YOU JUST HAVE TO GO HERE! I cannot stress this enough. Thanks to all of the staff members, Benson, Belinda and Henry, Werner, Sabrina and Anna for an unforgettable stay! Hope to be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PMatshidiso, Marketing Assistant at Aha Madikwe River Lodge
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Dear Valued guests Thank you so much for taking time to write, to share you experience after visit our lodge. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the services you have being offered. We are so overwhelmed and also appreciate the fact that you chose to visit our lodge an experienced an exceptional service as intended by our Management and Staff. Thank you so much again for you positive feedback, we really looking forward to host you again in future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnnRydh wrote a review Feb 2020
Stockholm, Sweden1 contribution
The feeling of sitting 10 m from wild lions in an open jeep is almost unreal! Waking up early in the morning and going out with the jeep to see the animals in their environment. At the same time, you know that you cannot leave the car without ending up on the animal's breakfast menu! That feeling is surreal but a memory of a lifetime! Thanks to our guide Takura!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The beds were very comfortable
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PMatshidiso, Marketing Assistant at Aha Madikwe River Lodge
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Dear Value Guests Thank you so much for taking time to write, to share your experience after visiting our lodge. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the services you have being offered. We are so overwhelmed and also appreciate the fact that you chose to visit our lodge and experienced an exceptional service as intended by our Management and Staff. We believe that hospitality is personal and its all start with dedicated and caring team. All thanks to Takura for making your stay with us as memorable as possible. Thank you for your positive feedback and looking forward to welcoming you again in future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Krachelwood wrote a review Jan 2020
Beckenham, United Kingdom28 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We were lucky enough to stay 4 nights at the river lodge. It was a trip of a lifetime and it really didn’t disappoint. The main building, food, service and staff were top notch. My children tried lots of the different types of food. We appreciated the lovely pool to cool off in between morning and evening safaris. The staff put on a lovely party for New Year’s Eve. The outdoor evening meals by the fire pit were also special. The accommodation was nice but a bit of a squeeze for a family of 5 in one room. The best bit was Amos our guide. He knew so much about the animals, was able to spot cheetahs, lions with ease. His experience shine through. My husband and I did a safari in Chobe but this was far better. Less trucks and more respect for the wildlife. We would love to return one day.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PMatshidiso, Marketing Assistant at Aha Madikwe River Lodge
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear Value Guests Thank you so much for taking time to complete our questionnaire and to share your experience after visiting our lodge. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the services you have being offered. We are so overwhelmed and also appreciate that you chose to visit our lodge and experienced an exceptional service as intended by our Management and Staff. We believe that hospitality is personal and its all start with dedicated and caring team. Thank you for your positive feedback and looking forward to welcoming you again in future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
X7547CWbruce wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
Lots of places have good service and food, but what sets Madikwe River Lodge apart is the fantastic game ranger Benson, his knowledge of the park & animals blew our minds, we never expected to get so close to a lion vocalising.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PMatshidiso, Marketing Assistant at Aha Madikwe River Lodge
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear Value Guests Thank you so much for taking time to complete our questionnaire and to share your experience after visiting our lodge. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the services you have being offered. We are so overwhelmed and also appreciate that you chose to visit our lodge and experienced an exceptional service as intended by our Management and Staff. We believe that hospitality is personal and its all start with dedicated and caring team. All thanks to Benson for making your stay with us as memorable as possible. we are looking forward to welcoming you again in future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$444 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
madikwe river hotel madikwe game reserve
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceMadikwe Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AHA MADIKWE RIVER LODGE (Madikwe Game Reserve) - Lodge Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aha Madikwe River Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Aha Madikwe River Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Aha Madikwe River Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Aha Madikwe River Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aha Madikwe River Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Aha Madikwe River Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.