We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wildside Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wildside Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wildside Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
potchefstroom
Reviewed 6 May 2015

Very pleasant and friendly staff. Excellent game drives. Overall value for money 11/10. Would not stay longer than 3 nights. Food was 8/10 and camp layout and tents was pleasant. I would vist this Reserve and camp at least once a year!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conrad p
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear conrad p Thank you very much for taking the time to review our lodge. We are delighted to hear about your pleasant experience and that you would like to visit us once a year. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Wildside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2015

My guests spent a few nights at Wildside and had a great time spotting animals on the game drives. The accommodation is tented accommodation and a bit rustic but this contributes to the lodge atmosphere. The tents are clean and stocked with tea, coffee & milk satchels with a kettle. I found the staff to be friendly and help full....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YV28072015
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Henry Z Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Wildside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay, staff very friendly, Royal our guide was friendly-hope the wedding goes well. The drives were good with plenty to see, Cheetahs,lions,elephants,rhinos to name just a few.The drive through the mountains to the upper ledge was awesome.Food was good. Tent was good and made the experience even better. The only small negative was the pool,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith0468
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Keith0468 We are delighted to hear about your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for including the elements which made your stay extra special. Also, thank you for your note regarding the pool. None of our pools are heated, regardless of the season, however they should always be clean....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2015

I was so looking forward to this trip but left very disappointed. It is very clear that this camp has become tired, there is no feeling of being spoilt or any luxury at all. The food is very average, the buffets are not presented well and did not look appetising. We were there for 2 nights and on the second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joeybum
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Joeybum, Having received your review we were disappointed to read that your time with us was not the Legendary experience we strive to create. Your points have all been escalated to Executive Management and are being actioned accordingly. We apologise if the camp did not meet your expectations. Whilst Wildside is a much-loved camp by our guests, it is...

Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2015

My son and I experienced a fantastic 3 hour game drive from rhino and antelope on the upper escarpment to lion, wildebeest and lots of other game on the lower escarpment. A truly magical place in a stunning location and at only 270 rand per person it was great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Mark P Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and sharing your game drive experience with us. We will be sure to pass on your message to the Entabeni Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing stay at the Wildside 'luxury' tented camp where we received everything short of luxury. Unappetising food served at meal times. Badly maintained facilities. We were quite happy to pay the higher rates as we were sure to receive a worth while experience. But sadly we did not.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inwoodleigh
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear InwoodLeigh, We were disheartened to read your review, but glad that you also contacted us directly to give feedback on the issues raised. As per our direct communication, we apologise that your stay was not the Legendary experience we strive to create and that your current perception of our property is a not so positive one. We thank you...

Steinbach, Burgenland, Austria
Reviewed 4 March 2015

we have been here as a chill-down phase of 8500 km travelling some of the national parks in SA. Not self driving after 4 weeks is a perfect fading out!!! If you do not INSITS in having the big 5 on one picture you will find a lot of very special game experiences. The camp is very friendly with enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FranzReinisch7441
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear FranzReinisch7441 We are thrilled to hear about you experience at Wildside Safari Camp and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Wildside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Just came back from an amazing 10-day stay at Wildeside. The tents were clean and fresh, and housekeeping came twice a day. I loved staying in a tent and listening to the sounds from the animals at night. The male lion passed straight through the camp one night and we saw the tracks the morning after - exciting!! The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mgj_oslo
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear mgj_oslo We are thrilled to hear about your stay at Wildeside Safari Lodge! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with us, even including the details about your encounters with the animals. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Wildside Team and look forward to welcoming you back...

Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Lovely and clean tented chalets. Service friendly. Big 5 game drives was fantastic. Very good Rangers made a lot of effor to see al of the Big 5. Had a night game drive and saw lions at nights. Really tried to meet all our needs. Had a lovely breakfast outside one morning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julene2015
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Julene2015 We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Wildside Safari Camp and that you had such a fantastic time on your game drives. We will be sure to give your review through to the Wildside team and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

We (a family of 5, 2 adults, 2 teens and an 8 year old) stayed at Wildside Camp over New Year 2014/15 and had a fantastic time. The camp is traditional and both basic and luxurious. The views from the tent we were in (tent number 10) were breath taking and we could hear big cats in the bush close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toby C
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Toby C It is always lovely to hear our guests' experiences and thank you for sharing your time at Wildside with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the breathtaking views, wonderful safaris and your overall stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Wildside Team and hope to welcome...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (86)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
235 reviews
37.0 km away
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
#1 of 5 in Mokopane
27 reviews
0.0 km away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
209 reviews
0.0 km away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
8 reviews
23.6 km away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 15 in Mookgophong
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled against the majestic cliffs of the Waterberg Mountain lies Wildside Safari Camp where you can experience the wild side of the bush. Stay close to nature in tented chalets on wooden decks. Traditional South African hospitality and superior cuisine await you in the informal dining and bar area extending to the boma. Here, in the warm atmosphere around the campfire, you will experience an African night at its best. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wildside Camp

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Lower Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildside Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Wildside Camp Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wildside Camp staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Wildside Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family Tent No 11... is the best...by the outskirts of the lodge... peaceful and gives you the feeling that you are in the middle of the bush!”
 of 5 bubbles kerryf309, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tent nr 11 ( one of the newer tents) is best in our opinion. Great view of the bush and far enough from the restaurant and pool area ( Read: quite time)”
 of 5 bubbles 678gunterh, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure your bathroom has a door”
 of 5 bubbles Jaqueen2016, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Tent/rooms further away from the pool are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles ConnieMoxleys, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a tent with a outside shower, it's beautiful ”
 of 5 bubbles Paula2261, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5