We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wildside Camp

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Wildside Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of Wildside Camp
 Click to rate
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

What was supposed to have been a romantic break away from the city, ended in one disappointment on the other. To this date I have not received any response from Central Reservations about our complains. I have pictures to proof the poor state of the tent we were accommodated in at Entabeni Wildside Tented Camp. Poor, poor, poor. No cellphone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarthievDyk
Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the Entrance of Wild Side I was disappointed and started worrying I had made a mistake booking here. The Reception, Bar Area and Restaurant need huge upgrading and are definitely not up to the standard of other Legend Lodges. The wild life was a disappointment and other guests felt exactly the same. The food was nothing to rave about...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank taniacB1990VP
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Wildside Camp at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Good Day TaniaC, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and our apologies that your time with us was not the Legendary experience that we strive to create. Our main area within the camp has unfortunately been delayed due to the high occupancies since it’s reopening following the fire which destroyed most the camp. Our team have...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely stay, great overall experience, However the we were not informed when booking that there was a lot of construction IN camp going on as well as we stayed in Tent #17 - Very disappointing, in serious need of maintenance, all the zips to the windows broken, stitched together to keep closed, shower head needs replacing, door...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K4494MZmichelleb
MichelleBouic, client liason at wildside camp at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Good Day Michelleb, Thank you for your review. We are heartened to read your overall experience was a good one. The main area of the camp is unfortunately undergoing construction to have it finalised by mid-Winter. Whilst our team do their utmost to not disturb the guests, due to high occupancies the team are working to meet the deadline after...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our 3rd visit here over a 6 year period. The animal sightings and the rustic camp keeps us coming back. If you want luxury this is not the place. If you want a true African safari experience this is the one. The food is average but plentiful and the service is in African time but the staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neish
MichelleBouic, Public Relations Manager at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Neish, Thank you for your wonderful review! It is always heartening to read when our guests have the Legendary experience we strive to create. We have passed your compliments on to the team and their management. With regard to the tour guide mentioned, we have addressed this with the Camp Manager and trust that going forward he will assist...

Nuenen
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stayed 3 days at the Wildside Safari Camp. We had a very warm welcome when we arrived at the camp.The tents were very comfortable, have a nice bathroom, good beds and 'Peaceful sleep': which helps very good against mosquitos. There is a also small swimming pool. Food at the restaurant was good. We had two game drives per day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davina1960
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Safari Camp at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear davina1960 Thank you very much for taking the time to review Wildside Safari Camp. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food and friendly staff members, we will be sure to pass on your review to Gerardus and the rest of the Wildside Team. We...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed at Entabeni in Tent Nr 6 - the camp consists of detached tent-like structures. No luxury, but that was not exactly what we came for anyway; all required amenities were present. Staff was very friendly, kind and helpful. Great food. We very much enjoyed the game drives with our dedicated ranger, Terence. Entabeni was our first destination and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Peter S Thank you very much for taking the time to review Wildside Safari Camp. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food and friendly staff members, we will be sure to pass on your review to Terrence and the rest of the Wildside Team....

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Well worth making use of their specials. Full board and two(2) game drives daily. They've managed to rebuild all the tents after last year's devastating fire. The main building is still under construction. Considering that they don't have much to work with, the team was always friendly and very helpful. Meals are buffet style. Limited choices, however you will not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chrmnvntndr
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Chrmnvntndr Thank you very much for taking the time to review Wildside Safari Camp. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our accommodation and friendly staff members, we will be sure to pass on your review to Lorraine, Johanna and the rest of the Wildside Team....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Great spot to experience true nature...The diverse vegetation, scenery, mountains and plains give you such variation in your game drives. The Tents give you that feeling of closeness in the bush. A wonderful place for my children to experience their first bush lodge trip!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerryf309
MichelleBouic, Company Liaison at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear kerryf309, Thank you for your compliments and comments regarding your time with us. We are delighted to hear that your overall experience was a wonderful time for the whole family. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to contribute to the very special first memories your children will have of the bush. We will be sure to pass on...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed at Wildside tented camps over a weekend. The location is very remote, but this does add to the feeling of being away from the bustle of the big city and made for a relaxing time. From the time we arrived to when we checked out, the service was exemplary. Our ranger was very knowledgeable and went the extra...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 678gunterh
MichelleBouic, Company Liaison at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear 678gunterth, We are so happy to hear that you had a productive stay at Wildside Camp; we are also delighted to hear that the atmosphere was agreeable, and that the service fro your arrival to your departure was exemplary and that your ranger was knowledgeable; we have taken your comments seriously and have escalated them with management and hope...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I enjoyed my experience here. I do like more luxury/amenities, but quickly got used to it. The little huts we stayed in were cool, and had heavy canvas siding. We could sit outside on a little verandah which was fun. Nowhere to really hang clothes and few shelves. However the beds were REALLY comfortable and heated which was a treat....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivet M
MichelleBouic, Company Liaison at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jaqueen2016, We would like to thank you for the kind comments about your stay at Wildside Camp, we are delighted to hear that you found our beds comfortable and that the staff was helpful and the ranger knowledgeable, we will inform the chef of your kind comments about his cuisine; we have taken your comments seriously and have escalated...

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
43 reviews
6.5 km away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
239 reviews
23.6 km away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 16 in Mookgophong
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
9 reviews
36.5 km away
Marula
Marula
#5 of 10 in Mokopane
10 reviews
12.5 km away
Roundstone Mountain Biking & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled against the majestic cliffs of the Waterberg Mountain lies Wildside Safari Camp where you can experience the wild side of the bush. Stay close to nature in tented chalets on wooden decks. Traditional South African hospitality and superior cuisine await you in the informal dining and bar area extending to the boma. Here, in the warm atmosphere around the campfire, you will experience an African night at its best. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wildside Camp

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Lower Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildside Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Wildside Camp Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wildside Camp staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Wildside Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from Tent 17 - Very noisy”
K4494MZmichelleb, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All tents are detached; no preferred location.”
  • Inside view.
  • Tent.
josephineg891, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family Tent No 11... is the best...by the outskirts of the lodge... peaceful and gives you the feeling that you are in the middle of the bush!”
kerryf309, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tent nr 11 ( one of the newer tents) is best in our opinion. Great view of the bush and far enough from the restaurant and pool area ( Read: quite time)”
678gunterh, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure your bathroom has a door”
vivetm2017, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5