We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garonga Safari Camp

Save
Traveller (622)
Room & Suite (100)
Dining (21)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent95%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“our honeymoon”(74 reviews)
“bush bath”(64 reviews)
“game drives”(88 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Garonga Safari Camp
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
332
14
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
332
14
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonbush bathgame driveswatering holeother gueststhe reservesafari campoutdoor showerdry river bedtree housesouth africaattention to detailan amazing experiencewhole experiencehis teamfood was amazingfrom start to finish
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
151 - 155 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2014

My husband and I really loved Garonga. We were warmly welcomed by the staff, helped to our lovely room and right away we felt relaxed. The meals are amazing and the staff keep you company during meals and are full of great stories. The game...More

2  Thank Denise O
Response from BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari CampResponded 12 January 2015

Thanks indeed for your kind words. The meals indeed are a very important part of the experience and happy indeed the Chefs provided an awesome culinary experience as well. The bush breakfast is always a great surprise for Guests and also by us all as...More

Reviewed 21 December 2014

Words cannot describe how magical this place is!!! We were lucky to stay in the Hambleden Suite for 8 nights so that we could enjoy our wedding and honeymoon at the camp, before moving onto other adventures. From the minute we arrived we were made...More

4  Thank adamandruth2014
Response from BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari CampResponded 12 January 2015

Many congratulations again on your special day! It was a pleasure having you here for such a memorable occassion and so glad you were well looked after and enjoyed the whole experience. Best Regards Bernie

Reviewed 19 December 2014

We stayed a Garonga for our honeymoon several years ago. It was recommended to us. We were not disappointed. We were promised good game on the reserve. Day 1 we witnessed a leopard eating it's catch 35 feet up a tree. Day 2 we saw...More

1  Thank YonkersJonkers
Response from BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari CampResponded 12 January 2015

It was a pleasure hosting you here and so glad you had a great time. The Game viewing has improved so dramatically of late as well, but you certainly seemed to have seen a fair bit. Best Regards Bernie

Reviewed 18 December 2014

We travelled to Garonga camp for the first part of our honeymoon and arrived to a warm welcome, fresh juice and cool towels after a 26 hour journey. After a quick check into our room we had a quick lunch and then headed out on...More

2  Thank Rickyw_80
Response from BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari CampResponded 12 January 2015

Thanks indeed for your very kind comments which I will certainly pass on to the Staff. Am chuffed you tried at least a couple of the activities during your 3 day stay. Best Regards Bernie

Reviewed 1 December 2014

We stayed at this fantastic place for 5 nights. It all started with a perfect planned pick-up at Phalaborwa airport. Our driver, Llyod, was very friendly, helpful and answered all the questions we had during the drive to Garonga. After he had dropped us off,...More

Thank Marcus H
Response from BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari CampResponded 12 January 2015

Thanks indeed for your positive feedback. I will let the Guides know of your report. It was a pleasure having you here. Regards Bernie

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Price range
US$ 762 - US$ 1,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 762 - US$ 1,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (622)
Room & Suite (100)
Dining (21)
Pool & Beach (18)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Michele I
9 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BERNARDO S | Property representative |
Good Afternoon Michele and Ian, Unfortunately we are closed throughout March. Tent 1 has the best view of the waterhole. Staying 5 days means much more chance of seeing all the Game, plus doing the Sleepout, massage, Bush... More
1
Vote
Michele I
9 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bdfaefife | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately we didn't get married there. We did however select Garonga to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. As a couple in our 40s we were the oldest couple for the first 3 nights with most of the other younger... More
1
Vote
Ailee S
3 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Fred K | Reviewed this property |
As beautiful as the safari drives are, they require physical agility to climb into and out of the safari vehicle, ride on unpaved, rough terrain for at least 3 hours and brave the cold in the morning or the sun in the... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"No. 6 is away from the lodge and looks down the creek bed."
Read review
"It not a hotel but an upmarket safari camp in a lovely part of the world."
Read review
"Either the lodge or the tents - the setting is fantastic."
Read review
"Mobility issues should ask for a lodge close to the main camp area. But every lodge is spectacular."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing