We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Tangala Safari Camp

    Thornybush reserve | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Lock in the lowest price from our partners
          US$ 348
          View Deal
          Traveller (180)
          Room & Suite (33)
          Dining (21)
          Thornybush Game Lodge
          344 reviews
          #1 of 12 Speciality lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
           
          Kapama River Lodge
          1,658 reviews
          #4 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
           
          Thornybush Waterside Lodge
          242 reviews
          #4 of 12 Speciality lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
           
          Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
          181 reviews
          #7 of 12 Speciality lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
           
          Overview
          • Excellent78%
          • Very good16%
          • Average6%
          • Poor0%
          • Terrible0%
          Travellers talk about
          “oil lamps” (10 reviews)
          “safari camp” (7 reviews)
          Free Parking
          Breakfast included
          Pool
          Non-Smoking Hotel
          Restaurant
          Airport Transportation
          Bar/Lounge
          Shuttle Bus Service
          Internet
          3.0 Star Hotel
          All hotel details
          Thornybush Game Lodge
          344 reviews
          #1 of 12 Speciality lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
           
          Kapama River Lodge
          1,658 reviews
          #4 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
           
          Thornybush Waterside Lodge
          242 reviews
          #4 of 12 Speciality lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
           
          Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
          181 reviews
          #7 of 12 Speciality lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
           
          {"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null}
          Write a Review
          Turn Your Opinions into Points!
          Turn your opinions into JPMiles
          Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
          *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
          JPMiles / Payback Arrow
          JPMiles / PAYBACK
          50
          Reviews (116)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          There are newer reviews for Tangala Safari Camp See the most recent reviews

          21 - 25 of 97 reviews

          Reviewed 12 September 2016

          My husband and I were at Tangala less than 2 weeks ago and we can't wait to go back!! We we met by the smiling faces of Nina, Kyle and Joe who took care of us for the next 3 days. We stayed in one...More

          1  Thank Sandra P
          Response from Kyle_Lewin, General Manager at Tangala Safari CampResponded 15 March 2017

          Thank you for the feedback it is highly appreciated. It is great to hear that the team's passion has rubbed off and that you enjoyed your time with us. Regards Kyle Lewin

          Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

          We spent a night at Tangala this past weekend for my husband's birthday. From our arrival where we were met by Nina and made to feel so welcome ,to the very informative and exciting game drives that Jaques and Caswell took us on, to the...More

          1  Thank Lucinda S
          Response from Kyle_Lewin, General Manager at Tangala Safari CampResponded 15 March 2017

          Dear Lucinda S. Thank you for the lovely review and for choosing us to celebrate your husbands birthday with. We hope to see you again for a longer stay. Regards Kyle Lewin

          Reviewed 16 July 2016

          We stayed at Tangala for two nights after a couple of nights in three other game reserves around Hoedspruit all arranged by the excellent On Track Safaris team. The view from the thatched, shaded terrace overlooked a waterhole and I spent many an hour relaxing...More

          Thank Tim R
          Response from Kyle_Lewin, General Manager at Tangala Safari CampResponded 15 March 2017

          Dear Tim R. Thank you for your review. Very glad that you had a good stay here with us. The team and I hope to see you again! Regards Kyle Lewin

          Reviewed 10 February 2015

          On returning to Tangala for our second visit we were not disappointed with the large amount of game on view. We saw all the Big 5 and could not believe our eyes when at least 15 elephants of all sizes came and drunk from our...More

          1  Thank Froghoppere64
          Response from Kyle_Lewin, General Manager at Tangala Safari CampResponded 21 March 2017

          Dear Froghoppere64 Sounds like you had some nice sightings at the lode. Sorry to hear about the management then, however the lodge has now been refurbished and has new management. I hope to see you at Tangala in the near future. Regards Kyle Lewin

          Reviewed 1 February 2015

          We were recommended this Lodge within Thornybush Game Reserve by friends who had previously stayed here. This was our first experience of a Safari and appealed particularly to my husband due to it's more traditional style i.e. no electricity and no mega "mod cons". During...More

          1  Thank Alison C
          Response from Kyle_Lewin, General Manager at Tangala Safari CampResponded 21 March 2017

          Dear Alison C Thank you for your review on Tangala. The lodge has recently had a refurbishment and change of management. I would recommend a higher vehicle if you are hiring to come to the lodge. Regarding the river crossing this only flows in extreme...More

          Thornybush Game Lodge
          344 reviews
          #1 of 12 Speciality lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
           
          Kapama River Lodge
          1,658 reviews
          #4 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
           
          Thornybush Waterside Lodge
          242 reviews
          #4 of 12 Speciality lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
           
          Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
          181 reviews
          #7 of 12 Speciality lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Pool
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Breakfast included
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Breakfast included
          • Shuttle Bus Service
          • Airport Transportation
          • Things to do
          • Pool
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$ 121 - US$ 1,459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Hotel class
          • Room types
          • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
          • Smoking rooms available
          • Number of rooms
          • 5
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Tangala Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • South Africa >
          • Kruger National Park >
          • Thornybush Private Game Reserve
          • Also Known As
          • Tangala Safari Camp Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (180)
          Room & Suite (33)
          Dining (21)
          Pool & Beach (14)
          Hotel & Grounds (144)
          Bathroom (2)
          Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
          Nearby
          Kapama Karula
          432 reviews
          7.00 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit
          388 reviews
          26.62 km away
          Potluck Boskombuis
          289 reviews
          42.11 km away
          Austrian Coffee Estate
          6 reviews
          42.21 km away
          Cala la Pasta Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria
          279 reviews
          26.69 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre
          774 reviews
          27.07 km away
          Blyderivierspoort Hiking Trail
          27 reviews
          37.29 km away
          Thornybush Game Reserve
          96 reviews
          9.33 km away
          Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre
          690 reviews
          12.61 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Flying4
          Hi- I understand the wifi is excellent here but was curious how you charged devices or camera batteries with there being any electricity. I plan on bringing a battery stick but it only provides one charge. Hoping to take lots of pics and may need a charge of batteries. Thanks for any input you may have to offer.
          19 April 2017|
          Answer Show all 2 answers
          Response from Kyle_Lewin | Property representative |
          Dear Flying4 At Tangala Safari Camp we have solar power. We are able to charge any device. Cameras, iPads, phones. The solar runs our fridges and lights for the lodge as well. Hope that helps you. Kind regards Kyle
          1
          Vote
          john c
          hi Loewe, can I please get your email address as I visited you this time last year and i would now like to enquire about a wedding, but i am having trouble finding you details. thanks, kent johnsonkent at hot mail
          4 February 2015|
          Answer
          Response from Christian N |
          They are to be found on the net, search for Tangala Thornybush
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "A tent overlooking the water hole"
          Read review
          "If we were to return I would choose one of the tents facing the watering hole."
          Read review
          "Great views from the tent cabins but no shade, can be too hot to stay in on a hot day. Fine at night."
          Read review
          "Tent 2 has the best views"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing