We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kruger National Park 1240 South Africa
3 people are viewing this hotel
Travelocity
$2,002
View deal
Expedia.com
$2,002
View deal
Trip.com
$1,886
View deal
Hotels.com$2,002
Booking.com$2,030
Priceline$2,060
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1493)
Room & Suite (321)
Dining (85)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#18 of 40 Specialty lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Family owned since 1933, this international award winning private game reserve spans across the world famous Sabi Sand Game Reserve and Kruger National Park. Lion Sands has four lodges; Lion Sands Ivory Lodge & Lion Sands River Lodge (Sabi Sand) and Lion Sands Tinga Lodge & Lion Sands Narina Lodge (Kruger Park). Each has a unique style, but is a reflection of Lion Sands' five-star signature of sophisticated interiors, unique experiences and service excellence.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Entertainment staff
Free airport transportation
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Airport transportation
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
1079Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 990
  • 56
  • 19
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
cdjvj wrote a review Sep 2022
New York City, New York916 contributions104 helpful votes
+1
Our visit to Lion Sands River Lodge was extraordinary. We stayed for three nights last October and we were fortunate enough to see a pangolin (very rare), in addition to seeing the Big Five (African lion, the African leopard, the African elephant, the Cape buffalo, and the white rhino). We also got to see antelopes, giraffes, a hippo, hyenas, monkeys, impalas, kudus and zebras. Besides the game drives themselves, we had so many wonderful experiences. We enjoyed many delicious meals, a special evening of wine tasting, sunset drinks at the Kingston treehouse and I enjoyed a fabulous massage at the spa, thanks to Theadora. There were a few people who helped make our visit truly special: our tracker Joe, who went out of his way to share so much great information with my husband and myself during each game drive; Modjadji, who worked at the front desk and greeted us each day with a warm smile and great conversation and our butler Johannes who has worked at this property for many years and was a wealth of knowledge. We did have a few hiccups during our visit, but, they did not outweigh all of the wonderful moments. I look forward to returning next year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Svetlana R wrote a review Sep 2022
Athens, Greece470 contributions95 helpful votes
The property was very nice itself. Food was tasty, good service, nice looking room. We booked a magical tree house experience and were very excited about it. It was actually the main purpose why we chose Lion's sands. Here all troubles started. We agreed to be transferred to the treehouse in the middle of the game drive to be there at 17:00, to see the sunset at 17:30. In fact we were delivered there only by 17:25 + ranger had to give a short briefing, so we completely missed the sunset, everything was in a rush. Dinner was cold and not good at all comparing to food served at the lodge. We were also told to get ready by 06:40-06:45 am top for the morning safari drive. But in fact we were picked up from the treehouse only at 07:25 after I lost my patience and called to the lodge... our guide took other guests (our neighbors in vehicle) for a safari instead of picking us up. What can I say? Treehouse experience itself was magical but with horrible organization, I'll never come back to this place. Game drives were quite average, so I'd definitely choose another hotel for this.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MORE Family Collection Lodges and Hotels, General Manager at Lion Sands River Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback. We do apologise for any miscommunication on our part with respect to the timing of arrival at the treehouse and capitalising on the sunset. This had a knock-on effect to the food. On the way to fetch you in the morning, we had guests on the vehicle and stopped for the leopard sighting that we mentioned on arrival. We had really hoped to show you that same leopard. We really hope you still enjoyed a magical evening under the stars, and we are pleased you enjoyed the rest of your stay at River Lodge. Your comments and feedback have all been noted by our team. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch should you wish to discuss further. I can be contacted at jopie@lionsands.com Kind regards, Jopie van Rooyen, General Manager, Sabi Sand, Lion Sands Game Reserve
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ALM wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions
Everyone & Everything was Awesome! Wish I could remember everyone’s names! The Safaris were Amazing…Thanks to God for Creating such Incredible Animals & Scenery!! Our Tracker Patrick & Guide Gino Were Fantastic! Also, Thx for the Ranger Coffee on the morning safaris! Yum!! This was a Trip of a Lifetime for my husband & myself!! An Amazing Experience! Thank You Lion Sands!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MORE Family Collection Lodges and Hotels, General Manager at Lion Sands River Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
We truly appreciate your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed River Lodge and your stay at More Quarters in Cape Town. We never fail to feel blessed in such an incredible environment and we are so glad that it was all you wished for. We hope it will be more than once in a lifetime. Looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jopie van Rooyen, General Manager, Sabi Sand, Lion Sands Game Reserve
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ThelemaWines wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This was my first trip to Sabi Sands and Kruger National Park. How blessed was I to stay at Lion Sands River Lodge. An unbelievable experience. The staff was amazing. Friendly and attentive. Our guide and tracker on the drives were very educated and insightful, and did we see amazing game. Can highly recommend for a visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MORE Family Collection Lodges and Hotels, General Manager at Lion Sands River Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are so pleased your first trip was all you dreamed of, and that we were a part of it. Thank you for your kind words. Hopefully, we shall see you again. Kind regards, Jopie van Rooyen, General Manager, Sabi Sand, Lion Sands Game Reserve
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt N wrote a review Sep 2022
Noblesville, Indiana2 contributions
Both Marataba and Lion Sands were absolutely amazing. The individual care and treatment received was world class and the game drives were spectacular. Words cannot express nor can pictures tell the story, you must experience it yourself. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in beautiful South Africa and the people at both lodges made us feel like family. Safari in South Africa and staying at a More Collection lodge should be on everyone's bucket list!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MORE Family Collection Lodges and Hotels, General Manager at Lion Sands River Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us. Thank you too for the wonderful compliments for our lodges. Both areas, Lion Sands and Marataba, are unique and it is definitely worth experiencing both. We do agree that it can be hard to sum up in words all the nuances of a stay. Hopefully, you will visit again. Kind regards, Jopie van Rooyen, General Manager, Sabi Sand, Lion Sands Game Reserve
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cynthia H wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
The staff at Lion Sands was very welcoming to us. Our field guide Mike helped us see all the Big 5. Our butler Philly was very accommodating to our needs. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and clean. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MORE Family Collection Lodges and Hotels, General Manager at Lion Sands River Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much. We are so pleased our team, and the wildlife, were able to create an unforgettable holiday for you. Do visit again - every stay is a new adventure. Kind regards, Jopie van Rooyen, General Manager, Sabi Sand, Lion Sands Game Reserve
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
deb n wrote a review Sep 2022
Colorado141 contributions101 helpful votes
Two couples traveling together stayed one night in the two treehouses. This was the most unique and wonderful stay that we've ever experienced. We were picked up while on safari and taken to the treehouses before sunset. The dinner was phenomenal and the location breathtaking. We had elephants surrounding us the entire night. We didn't sleep well but not because the bed was uncomfortable (because it was). This lodge did not miss a thing when designing these treehouses. What a COOL experience!! The second night we stayed at the lodge which was fantastic as well. The food was good, the service was great, our guide Lucia and spotter Norman were awesome and the safaris were out of this world. We enjoyed every minute we spent at Lion Sands River Lodge. Staying at Lion Sands has moved South Africa into the number one spot for favorite places to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MORE Family Collection Lodges and Hotels, General Manager at Lion Sands River Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
The treehouses certainly have a magic of their own. We are so pleased you all had such a wonderful time and that South Africa and Lion Sands captured your hearts. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jopie van Rooyen, General Manager, Sabi Sand, Lion Sands Game Reserve
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian B wrote a review Sep 2022
Morgan Hill, California138 contributions108 helpful votes
We spent five nights at Lion Sands in July 2022. This was our third stay here. The first time we thought, this was amazing. Second time, better than amazing! Third time we had concerns in advance as our guide from the first two, Francois, had left the company and he was awesome. No fear, third time was even better than previous two which we did not believe was possible! Our guide was Gus, tracker was Noel. They both did excellent jobs. Many times we were the first to a sighting which is one way we measure quality of guide/tracker. We had River Suite #1 which we have stayed in all three trips. Highly recommend it for view of river, many times animals close by and solitude. Our butler was James and he was great. Very friendly and good sense of humor. Felt like a friend. Game viewing was awesome. How about 15 feet away from a pride of 14 lions! Was great to watch the juveniles playing like little kids. And we saw them again coming back from our afternoon drive. Leopartd viewing was great and close. Got to see a pack of wild dogs close by and not running. Only other time we saw wild dogs they were running so viewing was quick. Male rhino and separately Mom and baby. Stayed at the Kingston Treehouse for the third time. Highly recommend this and recommend going there in the early afternoon so you can enjoy the afternoon and sunset. We have been to Africa five times so we have seen a lot of camps. While every camp we have stayed at has been excellent, the three stays at Lion Sands are at the top of the list. If you are going to Afica just once, Lion Sands should be on your schedule. We always schedule Lion Sands as our last stop. Otherwise our other camps won't seem as good if Lion Sands is first! We intend to be back in 2024 or 2025!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MORE Family Collection Lodges and Hotels, General Manager at Lion Sands River Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much. We really appreciate that you choose to return repeatedly. All our guides and trackers are incredibly knowledgeable and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with Gus and Noel. Your sightings were truly remarkable. We are in awe of our location every day. Definitely a great place to celebrate a birthday! We hope you will join us for many more birthdays and other special occasions. Thank you for this beautiful review. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jopie van Rooyen, General Manager, Sabi Sand, Lion Sands Game Reserve
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeanine W wrote a review Sep 2022
7 contributions9 helpful votes
We immensely enjoyed our stay at this beautiful resort. They certainly have service down to a science. Our server, James, was friendly, attentive and accommodating. The food was amazing, and we always left the table satisfied. Ozy and Heavy provided a one-of-a-kind safari experience, always friendly, informative and personable. We highly recommend this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MORE Family Collection Lodges and Hotels, General Manager at Lion Sands River Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you Jeanine. You summed up our touchpoints - superb service, great food, incredible wildlife. Glad we could tick all the boxes and that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words. We hope you will visit again. Kind regards, Jopie van Rooyen, General Manager, Sabi Sand, Lion Sands Game Reserve
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
This place is beautiful! Relaxing is an understatement. The grounds and our room did not disappoint! But what really makes this place special are the people (well, and of course the animals!!) Our guide Gino and tracker Rector were phenomenal. They were very knowledgeable and as someone who was nervous to go on safari, they both made me feel very safe. Rector even tracked a leopard and baby cubs eating after a recent kill! The food was phenomenal! Connie our chef even pulled together a private dinner for my husband and I that was award winning. She took the time to ask us what we liked and what our preferences were. She went above and beyond in helping me find a South African perfume. Keeping in touch with me to make sure I got it even after I left the lodge. She is such a bright light for the River Lodge. Billy and Philly were both the icing on the cake making sure we enjoyed our stay and had what we needed. My only recommendation would be that they take more care when cleaning the rooms and communicate the importance of putting away anything you cannot do without. The door to our room was apparently left open while housekeeping cleaned and a monkey came in stole my medicine. It was found somewhere on the property, but it had eaten some and had bite marks on the rest. They replaced it for me but apparently they like medicine and this has happened before. You know to lock certain things away, but I didn't think I would have to put my medicine in a drawer etc, esp. since we didn't see monkeys around the lodges on near the dining area. We went to another lodge after Lion Sands and they made sure to tell us to be careful with the doors because the monkeys like to steal things. Finally at the end of our stay we had a bill for premium liquor that we ordered. We were not made aware when we ordered it that it was not a part of the all included package. Overall we had a fantastic stay and highly recommend Lions Sands River Lodge!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MORE Family Collection Lodges and Hotels, General Manager at Lion Sands River Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review. The team truly appreciate the kind words - it means a great deal. We are so pleased you had a fantastic stay. What an amazing leopard sighting that was! Thank you for the feedback - we will continue our extensive training to ensure efficient communication. We hope you will join us again. Kind regards, Jopie van Rooyen, General Manager, Sabi Sand, Lion Sands Game Reserve
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$1,950 - $2,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lion sands river hotel sabi sand game reserve
LOCATION
South AfricaKruger National ParkSabi Sand Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lion Sands River Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Lion Sands River Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Lion Sands River Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Lion Sands River Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lion Sands River Lodge?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lion Sands River Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Lion Sands River Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Lion Sands River Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Lion Sands River Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Sabi Sand Game Reserve.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lion Sands River Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lion Sands River Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Lion Sands River Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Lion Sands River Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.