We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Jl. Raya Tulamben, Tulamben 80853 Indonesia
eDreams
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
Trip.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (132)
Pool & Beach (32)
Room & Suite (27)

About

#1 of 18 Specialty lodging in Tulamben
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bali Reef Divers is a PADI 5* Dive resort. We've been operating since 2008, offering quality PADI dive courses and day trips at very reasonable rates. Our new Tulamben Dive Center with 8 private rooms and 1 dorm room, just recenty opened up in July 2016 and we look forward to offering you a great diving experience in our new, cosy dive center! Wifi available, Restaurant, Pick up serviced and customized dive trips.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Room features
Air conditioning
Clothes rack
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
214Reviews1Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 189
  • 17
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
John L wrote a review Jul 2020
Singapore, Singapore3 contributions1 helpful vote
Came during the low season, lesser people around. Room was clean, air conditioned and has hot showers. Clean sheets in the room, soft bed, room overlooks the interior of the dive centre. At the back, awesome view of volcano and landscape. Morning breakfast was substantial as diving with a full belly is a no no for me. Managed to visit all the popular dive sites in Tulamben and Amed. Clear vis 20-30m tropical waters, colder at deeper depths. Komang was my dive guide, couldnt thank him enough as he helped me with my gear when navigating through the rocky shores as I have a bad back. Slow and relaxed dive, spotting nudiis and critters along the way. Having a good laugh at bad divers passing by. Overall an awesome 4 days of diving at BALI REEF DIVERS!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
paulrowland65 wrote a review Jan 2020
Adelaide, Australia11 contributions3 helpful votes
Totally enjoyed my time diving with Bali Reef Divers . The staff and guides were very knowledgeable and helpful in every way . We visited many shore based dive sites and had a ball . wouldn't hesitate to book with them again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
ivan t wrote a review Jan 2020
Cairns, Australia40 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights and had two dives during the day. Awesome little place with delightful rooms overlooking the pool next to the dive centre. Also connected to the restaurant which serves the best breakfasts which is included in the price. The rooms are super comfy with king beds, aircon and super showers. The best part was our dive tour guide Koma. Very knowledgeable and pointed to so many animals and features we would have missed if not guided. The prices for diving and staying over was amazingly good value for money. We will be back and thank you for this amazing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
rrray123 wrote a review Sep 2019
Singapore, Singapore39 contributions42 helpful votes
I completed PADI Advanced Open Water and Nitrox with Darta as my instructor. The guiding and experience was great. Communication was easy. Dive equipments were well-maintained. Darta was knowledgeable about the dive sites and pointed out to numerous unique sea creatures. Managed to dive at Tulamben and Amed! Accommodation was relatively clean. During booking, communication with Komang was easy and hassle-free too. Food at the restaurant was good and the prices were good too. Overall, the whole experience with Bali Reef Divers at Tulamben was excellent and memorable. Thank you. Highly recommended if you are looking to complete PADI courses at Bali!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room at ground floor provides easy access to the dive shop
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Ayush G wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions
We had an amazing experience here. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. Stacy (our instructor) was very patient with us, given we never did this before. The ship wreck coral reef was an out of world experience. Would recommend this place in a beat to anyone who is is in Bali.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Ricardo T wrote a review Jul 2019
Greymouth, New Zealand55 contributions13 helpful votes
We did our advanced open water course + nitrox + fundive and accomodation at Bali reef divers. We chose this school as it had really good reviews. To begin with: the initial Whatsapp contact with Komang was really good and easy. When we arrived at the center they were very welcoming. We got a drink and everybody was really friendly. The room and bathroom were the best we have seen so far. The rooms were big and clean with an own fridge! Next day we started our advanced course and unfortunately this was disappointing. - We thought there was already a dive in the nitrox and on top of that a fundive. This was'nt the case. The fundive was the one with nitrox. - the website says the course is 3 days, but was only 2. - the o-valves were worn 2 times, so equipment is not the best. - a half wetsuit is really too cold - the isnstructor was'nt too open for discussion, Etc. Etc. The food was awesome, the people really friendly and the acommodation perfect. So if you only need that: go for it. For the diving I would'nt recommend to be completely honest.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from BirgerFinaut, General Manager at Bali Reef Divers
Responded 15 Jul 2019
Dear Ricardo Thank you for choosing to stay and dive with us! I'm delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed our accommodation, food and staff. I am surprised to read that you didn't enjoy the diving course however, as this was not the impression we had while you were here. Trying to figure out what went wrong and talking to your instructor Darta and to Melik the dive shop manager, they both were surprised for this review. Especially since both have spent time with you and asked you repeatedly how things were and they both had the impression that you were happy. But I want to clarify some things in your review as well. The website does not say that the course is 3 days. You booked a 2 nights, 3 day package. Day 1, you arrive, day 2 and 3 you do the course. The package is a PADI advanced course and a Nitrox course, combining this saves your around 40 euro/50USD over booking it seperately. The PADI Advanced course includes 5 adventure dives. The Nitrox course is actually a dry course, but we include an additional dive with Nitrox, so you get 6 dives in total in 2 days. The o-rings were not worn out. Upon reading this, I thought they busted, which can always happen, but Darta confirmed that there was just a small leak from the first stage. Given that we do shore dives here and the sand is very fine and gets into everywhere, it is quite normal to have a small leak around o-ring connections. If the o-ring would have a problem, it would be impossible to dive with. We always try to avoid this of course, but sometimes it is inevitable. It is in no way a sign of bad equipment nor does it put anyone in any kind of danger. The water here is 27-29 degrees Celcius warm. We use 3mm shorties, like most other dive centers do. Given that we are in tropical waters, I really believe this is adequate. As for the instructor not being open for discussion, again, this is not what both Darta and Melik have said. I know Darta to always be open to answer any questions. And Melik confirmed he sat down with you guys and answered your additional questions and more. We're sorry that we couldn't fully satisfy you. We just wished we would have known this when you were here so we could correct it or explain better directly, instead of reading about it weeks later.
Read more
Claire W wrote a review May 2019
16 contributions1 helpful vote
I was at Tulamben alone for diving -- I hadn't booked anything before hand and since I couldn't dive for a day because of my flight times, I decided to scope it out once I got there. There are many diving centers in Tulamben, both SSI and PADI. I have visited about 4 dive centers around there. The price at Bali Reef was most reasonable and most importantly, I didn't have to worry about small little fees that added up. It was a package deal with everything included. If you want to do a night dive or go to other places such as Amed, there are additional charges and they are upfront about it so no surprises. Simon was great at setting me up with dives and administrative stuff. They are also very flexible. I originally wanted to do all my five dives in Tulamben but decided that I wanted to go to Amed the next day, and they were able to accommodate that right away, which I am so thankful for! I got to dive with Komang and Darta for my 5 dives -- Liberty Ship Wreck (Day & Night), and Drop off with Komang then Bunutan (Amed), and Pyramids (Amed) with Darta. They are both super fun loving instructors and found cool things under water for me to see. I felt very safe with Komang and Darta and also with the equipments that they provided. Thank you, Komang, Darta, and Simon, for making my trip to Tulamben so unforgettable!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Sassyartistworldtour wrote a review Feb 2019
San Diego, California29 contributions1 helpful vote
I had such an amazing time snorkeling with these guys and touring the island! They are so sweet and friendly and their English is excellent. I would highly recommend diving, snorkeling, and touring the island with them! I’ll definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Alexander M wrote a review Feb 2019
7 contributions
Hi have spent 5 days at Bali reef divers tulamben for the second time! I really enjoy the quiet, family-like atmosphere at this dive resort (in Tulamben in general). My instructor Alix was very friendly & helped me improve my diving/rescue skills. I did also some fun dives with Komang who showed me on every time some new macro sea life, I have never seen before. He is a very relaxed, knowledgeable dive guide! Their dorm room is nice & spacious. I had the luck to have it for myself due to low season ;) The food is good and the rest of the staff also very friendly. Thanks to the whole team, Alex PS: Do a night dive at the liberty, it's so impressive due to the easy diving & abundance of things to see!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
boshk wrote a review Jan 2019
6 contributions10 helpful votes
Excellent PADI dive centre in Tulamben. Car journey itself is long, expect at least 3hrs, more if you have stayed in Kuta/Seminyak area before hand. We planned to do our Advanced Padi course with the extra Nitrox module. E-learning is available beforehand. On the day we arrived, weather was pretty average, we were given an explanation by the manager Alix who was also our instructor about the course and what she suggested we do. She was very professional and helpful, explaining Navigation and Deep Dive were the 2 compulsory modules and the other 3 she suggested Buoyancy, day Wreck dive followed by the same wreck for the Night module. We studied 3-4 of the modules that night but in the morning, we were told all centres had cancelled dives due visibility and large waves. She emailed/msg me a good 90mins before scheduled meeting. Alix was very professional about it, stating we could do 1 dive later in the afternoon if conditions improved and she would treat it as an Adventure dive or the start of the course. Long story short, we never got to do the Advanced course due weather and because I got sick. We got credit towards our Advanced course, 1 dive Buoyancy, logbook stamped, very enjoyable dive. Visibility was pretty average, safe at all time. Wish we could have finished it but safety first. Equipment were in good conditions: -wetsuits are shorties only, very new -Dive computers available for rental. -DIN tanks are in less supply, bring your Din-Yoke adaptor if you have your own regulator in case the din tanks are not available. -Toothpaste available for defogging mask, no baby shampoo. -BCDs are in very good conditions.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from BaliReefDivers, Manager at Bali Reef Divers
Responded 26 Jan 2019
Hi Ezra and Bosco, Thank you again for choosing Bali Reef Divers to take your PADI advanced open water course + Nitrox with us. Unfortunately, we learnt the same morning that no dive centers were going out and everything was cancelled. After looking closely to the weather conditions, we gave it a go for an afternoon dive and we could complete the Adventure Peak Performance buoyancy dive. The weather was better the day after but as you were a bit sick and worried about the conditions, you chose to post pone the course which I completely understand. It is a pitty we couldn't continue the course together as you were wonderful students, eager to learn and comfortable in the water. Hopefully, we will see you again later to complete the rest of the course with Bali Reef divers and finally discover the beautiful USAT LIberty wreck. See you very soon ! Alix Dive Base Manager Tulamben
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$19 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliTulamben
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bali Reef Divers
Which popular attractions are close to Bali Reef Divers?
Nearby attractions include USS Liberty Shipwreck (0.2 km), Tulamben King Transport (0.3 km), and Suci Place (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bali Reef Divers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Bali Reef Divers?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Bali Reef Divers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Safety Stop R&B, Chops & Hops, and Matahari Tulamben Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bali Reef Divers?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Bali Reef Divers have airport transportation?
Yes, Bali Reef Divers offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Bali Reef Divers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting USS Liberty Shipwreck (0.2 km).