We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361 Indonesia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$158
View deal
Booking.com
$119
View deal
Hotels.com
$158
View deal
Travelocity$158
Priceline$119
travelup.com$177
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1077)
Room & Suite (489)
Dining (186)

About

#21 of 152 hotels in Seminyak
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
Spa
Concierge
Butler service
Wifi
Hot bath
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour check-in
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
905Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 712
  • 148
  • 30
  • 8
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ileana O wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
We stayed in this wonderful place full of peace ✌️, good vibes and sweet personal, always smiling and prepare to help anything you need, the room was always clean on time, plus the come back twice at day to make perfect, for sure we will come back, thanks to the personal for the good memories.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shaj M wrote a review Jan 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
We spent our Christmas Holidays in Bali and stayed at The Amala for the entire duration. It was one of the most pleasant lovely experiences of our entire life. The resort is immaculate and although located in one of the busiest parts of Seminyak, was idyllic with the trees and the waterfalls and the general calmness of the place. Everyone made a special effort to make our stay so delightful. We spent 8 nights there instead of moving from place to pace during our vacay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded 1 week ago
Dear shajm, Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your stay in Bali and for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are more than humbled to read your review and thrilled to know that you had a wonderful Christmas time with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your villa, our location in Seminyak, and the service experienced. Once again, thank you very much for sharing your honest review. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Kind regards, Roy Suer Cluster General Manager The Amala & The Amala Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tahir S wrote a review Jan 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa136 contributions107 helpful votes
+1
One of the best villas we could’ve have stayed at! Everything about the Amala was a dream. The service is personal and they are always going out of their way to satisfy their guests. The food is delicious. The rooms are super spacious and luxurious. The location is fantastic is Seminyak. Would highly highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just book the Amala!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded 1 week ago
Dear TahirS188, Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your stay in Bali and for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are more than humbled to read your review and thrilled to know that you had a relaxing time. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your villa, our location in Seminyak, and the service experienced. Once again, thank you very much for sharing your honest review. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Kind regards, Roy Suer Cluster General Manager The Amala & The Amala Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paul g wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
We just returned from a six day stay at The Amala in Bali. We stayed in room 4, a spa suite. We were exhausted after flying four and a half hours from Bangkok and enduring a one and a half hour wait o get through immigration a the airport. Our driver at the airport was ready when we came out after the really long delay at immigration. We arrived at the place after 3 am but the person who greeted us was truly cordial and showed us to our suite as quickly as possible. That bed was so comfortable and the room so beautiful we just fell right into it! I will include a video of our suite at the end. As others have said, the people here are so accomodating and just plain nice. That made the stay very enjoyable for us .I especially enjoyed talking to Sudi each morning at breakfast and I also enjoyed talking with Eka, the manager of the resort and Roy who manages both the properties in Bali. From the front office people to the massage therapist to the waiters they were all as good a s gold. On our first day there we walked around Seminyak for an hour or so and managed to get lost. We finally stopped and talked to a local who agreed to give us a ride to the Amala, which was three blocks away. Embarrassing! But he became our driver for the next three days and took us everywhere we wanted to go. His name was Wayan Rudi and his number is +62-81-337-411-504. We visited Ubud, Uluwatu, Nusa Dua and had dinner and sunset on the beach in Jimbaran. The charge for six hours of his service was 600,000 rupiah or $38.50, for 8 hours 800,000 rupiah or$51.36. He did a great job and was able to navigate amid hundreds of scooters and motorcycles on the road. I particularly enjoyed the full menu breakfast at The Amala. It was enough to keep you through the day until dinner. The breakfast was included in the package we bought from Travelzoo and so was one free massage for each of us. The massage therapists were very good and Balinese massage is great. Although it is a very long flight from Seattle I would like to visit there again. You won't be disappointed in either the Amala or in Bali as a destination.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The pool suites are a tad bigger than the spa suites but both are quite large.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DayTrip 799049, Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your stay in Bali and for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are humbled to read your kind review and thrilled to know that you had a lovely time. I am happy that you enjoyed our retreat in Seminyak, the Spa villa, dining, and wellness options! Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation for our staff, I will make sure to pass this along gladly to my team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us! Kind regards, Roy Suer Cluster General Manager The Amala & The Amala Estate Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cong L wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Fabulous and peaceful villa to stay at, with indoor swimming pool and beautiful Balinese garden and decoration. Staff are very friendly and greeting you all the time. Included breakfast was amazing, with a wide range of options, from bowl of fruits, pancakes, to main dish of choice of international or Balinese food. Fancy cocktails with happy hour deal. Professional massage therapists gives you the best and most relaxed massage experience!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded 28 Dec 2022
Dear Cong L, Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your stay in Bali and for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are humbled to read your kind review and thrilled to know that you had a lovely time. I am happy that you enjoyed our lush retreat, the villa, dining, and wellness options! Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation for our staff, I will make sure to pass this along gladly to my team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us! Kind regards, Roy Suer Cluster General Manager The Amala & The Amala Estate Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob B wrote a review Dec 2022
Holmfirth, United Kingdom29 contributions4 helpful votes
A little gem. Rooms nicely furnished in restrained manner. Very professional friendly staff. Service impeccable. Massages were excellent. Tried yoga, but not for me😆 A calm oasis. Didn’t give 5/5 due to road noise which is inevitable due to the convenient location to town & beach.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Hotel hastaxi service from airport, which, I understand is FoC. I got-price gauged by taxi bandit...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded 17 Dec 2022
Dear Rob B, Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your stay in Bali and for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thankful for your review and thrilled to know that you had a wonderful time. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the accommodation, the massages, and our indeed calm oasis in Seminyak with convenient access to Seminyak and the beach. We are glad you tried our Yoga offer at our Wellness Studio! Whilst all our Spa Villas, Pool Villas and Estates are tucked away in a calm area of the resort, we do our utmost to preserve a quiet wellness character. We hope the road noise you experienced was not too much of a bother yet acknowledge that some rooms may be affected at certain times of the day. Thank you also for your kind words of appreciation for our staff, I will make sure to pass this along gladly to my team! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us. Kind regards, Roy Suer Cluster General Manager and The Amala & The Amala Estate Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Antonio Araujo wrote a review Nov 2022
Porto, Portugal830 contributions91 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at teh Amala during our trip to Bali and we really enjoyed the 2 bedroom private villa. The place is really central and great to explore the area. The breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed waking up and going for a swim in our private swimming pool. On our second day we had a Yoga class and it was really good to relax. The place ins beautiful and quiet and if felt like the perfect base to stay after shopping and enjoyed the beach clubs in Seminyak. Recommended and hope to be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Dear AntonioAraujoPT, Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your stay in Bali and for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are more than humbled to read your review and thrilled to know that you had a relaxing time. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your villa, the location, and the service experienced. Thank you also for your kind words of appreciation for our staff, I will make sure to pass this along gladly to my team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us! Kind regards, Roy Suer Cluster General Manager The Amala & The Amala Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maddison Lambert wrote a review Nov 2022
8 contributions
We stayed at The Amala and we’re very impressed with the service, size & cleanliness of the villas! We also used the gym everyday and enjoyed swims in our big pool! The staff were lovely always with smiles on their faces! Stayed in a 2 bedroom villas would recommend here for couples or families :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Dear maddisonlambert, Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your stay in Bali and for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very humbled to read your kind review and thrilled to know that you had a lovely time. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your villa and enjoyed our newly opened, poolside gym! Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation for our staff, I will make sure to pass this along gladly to my team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us! Kind regards, Roy Suer Cluster General Manager The Amala & The Amala Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dinda k wrote a review Nov 2022
4 contributions
We stayed here with friends for the second time and the resort is even better than before. Excellent staff, took well care of us. Food was very good and the new gym near the pool was a nice change to out visit last year. Looking forward to be back again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded 3 Nov 2022
Dear 990dindak, Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your second stay with us. We very much appreciate your feedback and review here on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation for our staff, I will make sure to pass this along gladly to my team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us! Kind regards, Roy Suer Cluster General Manager The Amala & The Amala Estate Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bree wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Amala for 5 Nights. The service from one female receptionist was great however the other receptionists english was very poor. Our breakfast order was wrong on three occasions. The studio was poorly cleaned. The entrance to the studio was unstable and therefore unsafe. We had to call engineering to fix the wifi on 4 occasions. The outside toilet and shower is not ideal at all when it is extremely hot or raining. The hotel is very close to a main road therefore it was really difficult to sleep during the night- on night 1 we had to walk to the pharmacy to buy earplugs. The restaurant isnt formal at all - you need to ring a bell for service and the pool was mouldy and was not clean at all. Despite this - the daily complimentary 60 min spa was lovely and the only thing we enjoyed about this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded 3 Nov 2022
Dear bree15101998 Thank you for your review of your recent stay in our Studio room at The Amala. I have carefully reviewed your feedback on your stay. I am truly sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and that you have encountered inconveniences as you describe. I appreciate you enjoyed our Spa. Whilst The Amala features 22 villas (Residences and Estates with private pools with two- respective three-bedrooms as well as Spa Villas with plunge pools and One-Bedroom Pool Villas with large outdoor seating), our two Studio rooms are nestled inside the resort adjacent to our Bamboo Restaurant with access to our main pool. We usually are praised by solo travelers and young couples who are very much enjoying the Studio room option, making use of our facilities including the large main pool, gym and restaurant yet discovering Bali most of the day. I regret in your case we have missed a mark. Rest assured that I personally have taken actions based on your feedback with the WiFi (we offer complimentary high-speed internet access across the resort) and I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings with your room and the breakfast. Your feedback helps us to grow and to continuously improve. I regret we missed the opportunity to create a memorable stay for you as we usually pride ourselves on our attention to detail. After all, we want to make things right. Should you wish to discuss this matter personally with me, please feel free to contact me at roy.suer@theamala.com. I believe in second chances - and I would like to make up for our shortcomings. Kind regards, Roy Suer Cluster General Manager The Amala & The Amala Estate Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$95 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the amala hotel seminyak
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliKuta DistrictSeminyak
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE AMALA (Bali/Seminyak) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Amala
Which popular attractions are close to The Amala?
Nearby attractions include The Cheapest Travel Bali - Day Tours (0.1 km), Bawa Bali - Private Tours (0.4 km), and Eat Street (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Amala?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Amala?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at The Amala?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Amala?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Amala?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rev Bistro, Los Jefes Tequila Bar and Kitchen, and Makao Bali.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Amala?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Amala have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Amala offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Amala have airport transportation?
Yes, The Amala offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Amala?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Amala?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pura Dalem Sakenan Serangan (4.6 km).