We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Dedale Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Dedale Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Dedale Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 220: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

This was our final stop of the garden route before heading to Cape Town and when we approached the gravel road leading to the estate, we were not sure what to expect – but this place did not disappoint. We were greeted by Angelo the owner, who came to introduce himself, arrange for our car to be parked in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Liz N
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this review

Dear Liz, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Grand Dédale. We appreciate that you enjoyed everything about it (we have since improved our WiFi) and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future so Angelo can tell you of his fantastic time he had whilst visiting your husband's native Cyprus. Warmest regards from...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

I visited here with friends, staying 3 nights. We have stayed in very many guest hoses in South Africa over a number of years and it would be difficult to find anywhere better than Grand Dedale. It is easy to see how it has won so many awards but very difficult to see why having had only five average reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol-Manchester
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this review

Dear Carol, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Grand Dédale. We are thrilled to read that you have placed us as the best Country House you stayed in during your numerous travels in South Africa. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Warmest regards from the Team at Grand Dédale

Cumbria
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Stunning property in the most beautiful location. It is off the beaten track but so worth it. If you are looking for a little peace and quiet then this is just wonderful. Our loft room was fabulous with our own little sitting room area both inside the room and then outside in the main area which you shared with 2...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol2360
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this review

Dear Carol, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and soaked in the beauty, peace and tranquility of our hot valley. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest regards from the Team at Grand Dédale

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We had a wonderful time at Grand Dedale. The bedroom was out of this world, the service was exceptional and the food delicious. Tina did everything she could to make us feel welcome. I would recommend it unreservedly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlie S
GrandDedaleCountry, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this review

Dear Charlie, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Grand Dédale. We are thrilled to read that you had a fantastic stay and we hope to welcoming you back on your next trip to South Africa. Kindest Regards from the Team at Grand Dédale

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 1 March 2016

If you are considering visiting Grand Dedale Country House, don't hesitate, just book in and enjoy the wonderful surroundings, beautiful rooms with every facility, excellent pool and convivial dining on the perfect South African stoep. You will be looked after at every turn by Angelo and his staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank russandmo2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Grand Dedale is a fantastic nice and quiet place to stay at. The staff was very nice and they gave very good service. It was a luxurious accommodation with luxurious rooms and it was close to everything. It was good food with some very good dishes Very good wines from Doolhof and especially their malbec. We had planned to do...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vanessa W
Tervuren, Belgium
Reviewed 15 February 2016

For the second time to find all good things of this world combinated. A personal and friendly treatment . A nice pool with natural cooling out of the sun with very old trees . A good dinner with a young cooking master who loves explaining her secrets of the kitchens specialties. We stayed in the Lady Anne Barnard room with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vandererve
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We stayed at the aGrand DeDale for six nights and found it to be quite a lot less than five stars, the first night we had dinner three courses no choice at 450r per person and it was poor, the breakfasts were just about OK even though they couldn't, make decent toast. We ate out at two local restaurants where...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank neil028
GrandDedale, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this review

Dear Neil, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Grand Dédale and we are obviously disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to clarify a few points which you have raised for the transparency of other reviewers reading guests comments Guests are shown the menu on arrival and at breakfast time in...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 February 2016

We attended a family wedding here in December and stayed for 2 nights. It was the perfect venue for a small wedding. The house is beautifully decorated, the food was wonderful, the staff were amazing, and the grounds are spectacular. The road to the house is not paved but it is well worth the trip. I highly recommend it as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
GrandDedale, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this review

Dear Lynda, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed everything thing about us and we are glad that Cameron and Dominique special day will be always remembered. We hope to welcome you and your family back in the future. Kindest regards from the Team at Grand Dédale

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2016

The Grande Dedale is in a lovely location, is well appointed and has a lovely swimming pool. Angelo was a good host and was very helpful. Compared to many other 5-star places we have been to in South Africa, it was expensive. Dinner was R450 per person and not particularly good (some main course dishes luke-warm and a pear dessert...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 447disappointed
GrandDedale, Owner at Grand Dedale Country House, responded to this review

Dear S and B, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are obviously highly disappointed that all not the boxes were ticked. We take all our reviews and comment very seriously ( you have indicated the same disappointment on check out with our guest rating questionnaire) and we have already addressed some of...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The historic Manor House on Doolhof Wine Estate has recently been restored to its former Cape Dutch elegance and houses six luxurious en-suite bedrooms and one free standing cottage. Spacious entertainment areas and landscaped gardens with a 15 meter pool guarantee relaxation. The 380 hectares of land are ideal for outdoor activities. Wine tasting, restaurant, function and conference facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Dedale Country House

Address: The Bovlei | Doolhof Wine Estate, Wellington 7654, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 12,180 - ₹ 21,704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Dedale Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Dedale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Dedale Country House Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grand Dedale Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lady Anne Barnard room has a gorgeous private terrace with great views”
davidbecker2017, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Garden Cottage is worth the extra expense”
OilandGas_13, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you like more privacy, try to book a room on the 2nd floor”
IvanWorldTraveler, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“This is not a hotel for families with kids.”
andrewkay2015, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Every room is beautiful.”
Kinellar223344, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5