Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa

Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa

1 Vergenoegd Road Vergenoegd Löw The Wine Estate, Faure, Stellenbosch Wine Route, Somerset West 7130 South Africa
Traveller (40)
ducks
Room & Suite (21)
Breakfast dinning room
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 1 resort in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated on one of the oldest working wine farms in South Africa in a unique position between the Helderberg Mountains and False Bay, Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa is the perfect base to explore all the major attractions of the Western Cape region. Comprising three bespoke 5* accommodation options, all the rooms, suites and cottages are nestled in blissful seclusion within manicured vineyards and gardens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car park
Wifi
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German, Italian
36Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 34
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nafeesa V wrote a review Oct 2023
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Exquisite spa day at Vergenoeg today with my two teen daughters.

We welcomed at the door by warm smiling face and seated where we received refreshing welcome drinks and a hot towel while we’re being signed in. I love beautiful smells and the spa smelled divine as you entered. All the staff were welcoming and friendly which is great.

I had my own big spacious, exceptionally beautiful room with shower facilities. Nikki my therapist is one of the best therapists in this country. She takes her time and I dozed off during my facial and during my massage. Such attention to detail. It’s unreal.

The two girls were in their own double room where they had fabulous facials and massages followed by a luxurious milk bath. I joined them when I was done and we all devoured the delicious cheese board. They had sweet treats for the girls as well.

Elmarie was a gracious host and said farewell to us!

When we were done we had coffee and lunch at the cafe.

An extremly relaxing day indeed!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Dear Nafeesa, Thank you for taking the time to review your day at the Spa and I am glad to read that the girls and yourself had a wonderful time. I hope that on your next visit you can spoil yourself and family to our luxury offering of different accommodation in our Boutique Hotel. Warmest regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris VN wrote a review Nov 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Vergenoegd Löw for 3 nights and it was a stay to forever remember. Possibly the best hotel stay we ever experienced. The communication prior to our stay was already excellent as we had a package delivered. We were welcomed by the team with so much enthusiasm and hospitality. Purely impeccable service with the kindest people working here. We stayed in the Presidential Suite. It had everything you ever hoped for and dreamed about. Breakfast was good and dinner at Clara's Barn was so tasty. The winetasting at Vergenoegd Löw was something else, as the rooms where you do the tasting are beautiful, with impressive art on the walls and lovely relaxing music playing in the background. And the wines were absolutely magnificent, especially the Cabernet Sauvignon and the Chardonnay. The sommelier did a fantastic job, making us feel at home explaining the wines and telling the stories behind them. It was wonderful and we will return, no doubt.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Dear Christiaan, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a through review. I am glad to read that we have exceeded your expectations and and made a nice contribution to your honeymoon. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Estate in the future. Warmest regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel and Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bains320 wrote a review Mar 2023
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were welcomed so kindly and let to our beautiful room which was so tastefully decorated and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was spacious and elegant with superb amenities. We loved the outside jacuzzi. Also load shedding was no problem and air con stayed on all nice which was a big plus. Close to airport yet further enough to feel you are in the winelands. Would love to return. Laras Barn is an excellent restaurant on the property and we loved the ducks every morning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 Sept 2023
Dear Bains, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and I am glad to read that your exceptions were met. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Cape Winelands. Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jillian Livingston wrote a review Jun 2024
Aspen, Colorado
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was invited to stay there on my last night in town. We enjoyed a wine tasting on the patio as the sun set on the patio, Sommelier Charlie expertly guided us through the estate's wine offerings.

Our evening continued with a beautifully prepared dinner at Clara’s Barn, a beautifully appointed restaurant housed in the oldest barn in the Western Cape. The ambiance is a modern take on a South African farm kitchen. We enjoyed the five-course menu crafted by Head Chef Drikus Brink. As we were the only ones in the restaurant, we were disappointed that Chef Drikus did not come out to say hello so that we could complement him on the excellent meal. Even the ceramic plates were beautiful and we wanted to know where they came from.

The modern rooms with wooden floors and a sitting room, were situated in a restored farm manager's house and were spacious and clean, each with their own hot tub and bathtub with salts. There were complimentary bottles of wine in the room and a fully stocked limited complimentary minibar fridge. The bedding was wonderfully soft, with 300 thread count percale linens, allergy-free down pillows, fine fiber pillows towels with the beautiful lion crest, and velour bathrobes.

In the chilly morning, we headed to Geuwels (Gables) Restaurant for another incredible meal. With a wooden stove wonderfully warming up the beautiful room, we ate the authentic South African cuisine, prepared with fresh, seasonal, and indigenous ingredients.

I would feel irresponsible if I didn't mention that we only found out after the tasting that, due to it being winter, the staff would be leaving and we would be the only ones staying the night on the property. With the vineyard not being in the town of Stellenbosch, and with no car, we felt isolated, and while there was security, we were not informed that they would be checking our doors hourly to ensure they were locked. Being alone on the estate with our door rattling every hour was quite unsettling. If you plan to stay there, we recommend inquiring whether staff will be present on the property during your stay, and make sure that you have a direct line to security. The line in the pamphlet did not go through, and the emergency contact number was not answered.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Make sure your hot tub has been cleaned.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Jillian, thank you for taking the time to throughly review your short stay with us and I hope United Airlines managed to find you a seat on your scheduled day of departure. I have noted with concern your last paragraph, and as explained during our breakfast conversation, we will ensure that different procedures are put in place to avoid a reoccurrence of such unpleasant situation. I hope that the unfortunate incident will not deter you from recommending our property or re-visit in the future. Warmest regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris P wrote a review Jan 2024
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night after arriving on an early morning flight from Europe. We treated ourselves to the Presidential Suite which has its own swimming pool. On arrival Kyle and Patrick were very pleasant and showed us to our room. The manager showed little interest. The Suite is stunning but the pool was dirty and the pool robot stayed switched off and in the pool our entire stay. Nobody checked on us during our entire stay - there were crickets in the room that kept us awake! If you’re charging top Dollar for one night (as much as a week in top class B&Bs ) then you need to deliver world class service. Restaurant is good but breakfast very average - small paper napkins not acceptable. At this price there is so much better in SA.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear Chris, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations; your comments are taken seriously and will react upon. However I would like to clarify few things. I am extremely proud of my Team and so glad you have experienced the hospitality extended bt Kyle and Patrick; the manager who showed little interest (busy at the time with other issues hence Kyle and Patrick taking care of you) spent 15 minutes chatting to you whilst you were enjoying a wine tasting and also proceeded in arrangement a picnic dinner for you and your guests for the evening. After your departure we have realised that the pool pump had ceased operating and it was replaced at the weekend; it is an unfortunate situation and for that I do apologize. We effectively communicate with our guests, once they have checked in, via Whataspp; the Estate is vast and accommodation is scattered amongst 187 hectar of land therefore we have a Lodge approach when communication with guests; in addition we do not want to intrude in their privacy but any requests received are taken care of in 10 minutes. It is unfortunate that you experienced a cricket in your room; our rooms are set amongst vineyards and open land, therefore it can inevitable, however we have a night manager on duty who can assist with spray or chemicals to eliminate any cricket; it is not the first time that it has happen and unfortunately it wont be the last. Your request of an early check in was taken into consideration; we generously allowed you to check in very early and also check out two hours after our normal check out time; I take that courtesy as a delivery of world class service. I sincerely hope though that your unpleasant stay with us did not deter you from having a relaxing holiday in our beautiful country. Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe K wrote a review Apr 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights for a wedding on the grounds. The room was large and comfortable. The restaurant stayed open for guests despite a significant storm, and our server/bartender and chef still put together an excellent meal paired with wine and creative drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Apr 2024
Dear Joseph, thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you had an excellent stay and that we are able to trade as usual despite the unprecedented storm that hit the Western Cape that weekend. Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mlaine272026 wrote a review Dec 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely place with excellent food and tasty wines combined with friendly and high-quality service.
All facilities were beautifully designed and in excellent condition.
We really enjoyed our stay in Vergenoegd Low Boutique Hotel & Spa and would recommend for anyone looking for relaxing time with great culinary experiences in a beautifully environment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear Mlaine, Tahnk you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so glad to read that you had an excellent one and enjoyed all the that the Estate has to offer, from its culinary experience, the rooms, the service provided without forgetting our wines. We hope to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel and Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leroy S wrote a review Jan 2023
Paternoster
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a 2-night stay for my wife birthday in January 2023. We had an amazing experience. The staff is kind, helpful and keen to assist.

Our room had a small pool and dazzling view of the vineyard. The picnic that was served in our room poolside was delicious and well enjoyed.

The grounds at Vergenoegd Low are spectacular! The ducks made their infamous run in the morning on the occasion of our stay.

My claim to fame is that I was the first guest to use the Gym! The only improvement is the breakfast felt a little of an aside, I must also mention that since we left very early the next morning, they packed a big bag of the breakfast for us which worked better as a road trip meal than a meal enjoyed on the immaculate premises.

I even forgot an item of clothing, which they shipped to me. We loved our stay here! The staff are next level. This new hotel is deserving of all the accolades that are sure to follow.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 Sept 2023
Dear Leroy, thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and your wife celebration was full of surprises and nice moments to take away. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marlène D wrote a review Nov 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a fantastic stay. Everything was perfect. The size of the room, the bed is very comfortable.
Plus there is some little attention as you arrive
The wine dégustation was great and the lady was very professional.
Breakfast is great and of course the running duck were so cute
The only thing is that the hot tub outside was dirty
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear Marlene, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Firstly, apologies for one aspect of your stay which did not meet your expectation, the jacuzzi not been up to standards. We have addressed it with the Team and are alway find solutions for this type of incidents not to occur, sometimes challanging if it is windy, but neverteless it should not happen. I hope that this small incident will not deter you from using our property in the future. Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaromir V wrote a review Jan 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Congratulations to Tina, Angelo and Kalu!!!
They’ve been able to create one of the first-class places to stay in Africa in a short period of few months. All the hospitality and professionalism their guests were used to in the old place is now here at the Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa. You can choose from the different styles of suites, world-class fine dining options at Clara’s Barn, very well-organized wine tastings and lovely spa. I’m sure all Boutique Hotels lovers can easily find their own paradise spot at the Estate.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 29 Mar 2024
Dear Jaromir and Oldich, apologies for the late reply but Thank You so much for taking the time to throughly review your stay with us. You have summarised it so well and it was really a pleasure to have you on our Estate for two weeks. You look forward to seeing you again in 2025 for for memorable experiences. Kindest regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Jillian Livingston wrote a tip Jun 2024
Aspen, Colorado49 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure your hot tub has been cleaned. "
Read full review
Wanderer399911 wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"be on parade at 9 am to see the duck run"
Read full review
Tanya wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You must pre-book dinner and experience a culinary delight!"
Read full review
Mauritz16 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Pretoria, South Africa17 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The vineyard room has a great pool, but if you rather want a jacuzzi the deluxe rooms have the best jacuzzi's."
Read full review
Culture52441804259 wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book for more days! You wouldn't want to leave. :)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Somerset West area.
PRICE RANGE
₹21,604 - ₹30,732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownSomerset West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VERGENOEGD LÖW BOUTIQUE HOTEL & SPA (Somerset West, Cape Town) - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include 18 Gangster Museum (5.3 km), Meerlust Wine Estate (1.8 km), and Avontuur Wine Estate (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cavalli Restaurant, The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, and Giovanni's at Eikendal Winery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, and Afrikaans.
All Somerset West HotelsSomerset West Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Somerset WestHotels near Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire