We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Almondbury Guest Farm

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robertson
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Almondbury Guest Farm
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Vredenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2016

What a lovely quaint place and peaceful, wonderful reception and care when you arrive and when you leave. I will defnitely go there again. We enjoyed the birds in the mornings and the frogs at night, took the most beautiful photo's of sunrise over the pond. Really worth the stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda E
Almondbury, General Manager at Almondbury Guest Farm, responded to this review

Thank you very much,Amanda, your comments are much appreciated. More 

Worcester, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We really had a wonderful relaxing stay at the "Old Barn" on 2 October 2016. The house was neat, clean and very comfortable. Furnishings are beautiful antiques and perfect for the house. We also loved the gardens and braai area outside Thank you for a very memorable stay. We will definitely come visit again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Q4356JVnatalied
Almondbury, General Manager at Almondbury Guest Farm, responded to this review

You are most welcome,we are glad you enjoyed the stay and look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This is such a beautiful place to stay, but you should know that the road there is really not pleasant. In order to get there you drive through a really dodgy area and the gravel road to the farm is past a quarry. Once you get there though it is tranquil and you're thrown back into time... :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Martinetdb
cape town
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had a superb weekend at Almondbury. It was very well equiped and we wanted for nothing. Loved all the wooden furniture, old character and history that the Old Barn had to offer and great value for money too. Thank you Mark, we will visi again soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mikewO6348PK
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The personal touch was appreciated. The Old Barn was something special. We enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and the roomy accommodation. We would really visit again and have already recommended the guest farm to friends and family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank iceman_andre
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

We got there after riding a very poor dirt road. Then got showed toe a wooden cabin well you cant even call it that it looked like the place is going to fall apart. My husband in and it was moving like one was on a ship. The place you can smell wasnt cleaned properly you can smell dust. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank tersiag
Robertson62, Manager at Almondbury Guest Farm, responded to this review

I feel it pertinent to provide an answer as I am amazed at the way the facts have been twisted, as the only complaint was that of an allergy at the time ! Firstly our directions explicitly detail the road becoming a dirt road which in fact is in very good condition.It is maintained and graded by the local Langeberg... More 

Travellers are raving about these Robertson hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2015

We felt as if we were transported to a different time, where one had the luxury of staying in a villas for month long exotic vacations. We had everything we could want for. We will definitely return and stay longer next time .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beth B
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2015

The Old Barn had lots of character and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and gave us apricots. The accommodation was good value for money and was clean. The wine farm nearby was beautiful!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danielfynesclinton
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Awesome place to stay. Accomadation was beautiful and attention to detail was great. Tasteful and neat. Very well equipped and everything was thought of. Will definitely recommend Almondbury guest farm to family and friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vanessagQ4571GF
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Mark has been wonderful to accommodate my Team while they have been on site in Robertson. It has been an absolute pleasure working with him and he has made my team feel very welcome. We will certainly use his place on future projects.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CedeGreenhouses

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
1.6 km away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#3 of 24 in Robertson
407 reviews
10.0 km away
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
#3 of 18 in Robertson
42 reviews
1.6 km away
De Oude Opstal
De Oude Opstal
#7 of 24 in Robertson
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
2.0 km away
The LemonTree House
The LemonTree House
#12 of 24 in Robertson
34 reviews
10.6 km away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated between the picturesque Langeberg Mountains, just a mere 6 kilometres from the centre of Robertson. This is the ideal getaway if you are wanting some peace and quiet for your soul, we offer rustic but comfortable shabby-chic self- catering accommodation in the form of The Old Barn which can sleep 8, as well as 2, two bed wooden cabins. We do also offer a further residence at select periods of the year, capable of sleeping 6-8 people. This is the perfect setting for small functions such as weddings or birthday parties of +- 20-30 people which we are able to accommodate in The Old Barn or outside in the garden. Facilities on the farm include a cement dam for swimming in the hot summers and walking trails through the veld and orchards. There are plenty of back roads for mountain biking, and hiking to a waterfall is not far off. Dassieshoek Nature Reserve is approximately 3 kilometres away. DSTV is available in The Old Barn, but you will need to bring your decoder and card for access. We do have Wi-Fi, however you will find the reception does fluctuate. Cell-phone coverage is also limited and only available at certain spots on the farm. Robertson and the surrounds offer many treasures, there is an 18hole golf course at Silwerstrand, many wine estates on your doorstep or the Klipdrift Brandy Distillery and of course the Breede River for cruises or pleasure. Horse-riding facilities and Birds Paradise are also available close by. Route 62 offers many small towns with arts and crafts to experience. You could also choose to visit the hot springs at Avalon in Montagu for a different experience. We look forward to welcoming you to our little slice of Heaven and we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. We are very easy to find, just out on the Dassieshoek Road. So what is included in your stay : we supply all bedding/linen and towels(not swimming towels) as well as tea, coffee, sugar and coffee creamer. You will really only need your personal provisions and wood or charcoal should you wish to braai. Braai's and grids are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Almondbury Guest Farm

Address: Paddy Road, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Almondbury Guest Farm Robertson, Western Cape
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Almondbury Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cabin nearest the dam has a better view looking out than the one next to it, but both have their own private seating areas with views.”
 of 5 bubbles SimonPT777, 11 May 2014 | Read review
1 of 1