We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Karoo Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Karoo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not arrive before 14.00. Elsabe greeted us warmly. After a long hot drive this is a sanctuary...shaded garden and cool plunge pool. Her husband George is an excellent cook and his neck of lamb is to die for. Breakfast is also very good. 2 nights perfect. Found in the town the very best massage ever had by Rachelle. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJFP17
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Elsabe proved to be a welcoming, helpful and friendly hostess. The guesthouse is centrally located in this most charming of villages. The room was spacious and contained all we could need for a couple of nights. The breakfasts were excellent. The whole establishment is beginning to show its age.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cardaft200
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived at Karoo lodge mid afternoon in 32d heat. Our hosts Elsabe and John soon had us in our large airconditioned rooms. Everything was perfect. The furniture , the kingsize bed, the bathroom with shower and bath. There was a bar fridge that was ice cold, we had a comfortable sofa and DSTV. There was wi-fi. It was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank propguy2014
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The facilities (kingsize bed, bathroom ets) were awesome. The entire layout and positioning of the guest house was perfect. The gardens were well keps and most enjoyable to sit in and relax. Breakfast was great with most of the fruit from the gardens too. Will most definitely be back again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edster58
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Excellent breakfasts and hospitality by this family-run establishment, spacious comfortable rooms, lovely garden and pool and most importantly aircon. Highly recommended and great value for money. Will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki360
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Karoo Lodge is a gem in the Karoo town of Prince Albert. Situated in the Main Street it is near all the attractions. Karoo Lodge offers very spacious rooms with air conditioning which is a necessity in the summer months. The pool is refreshing!! The owners is hands on and attend to all your needs from a cold beer at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeonPE
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent. Spacious clean rooms, a great pool and staff that went out of their way to ensure you enjoyed your stay. The bed was also fantastic...extra large with crisp sheets and it felt brand new. Best bacon for years. Loved it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Friendly owners and large room with clean linen does unfortunately not qualify this establishment to retain a 9.1 TripAdvisor rating it achieved in 2014! More like 6.1 to my mind.The place is in need of maintenance and refurbishment.We stayed for two nights. Pity no dinner available on both Thursday and Friday nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wicus P
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Wicus, Reading all of the Karoo Lodge's recent reviews prior to yours, this surely stand alone in criticism. Here I award you the 9.1 I am also aware that you had spread this criticism to various internet booking sites aiming to ensure injury as wide as possible and now wonder what joy do you achieve or is it suffering...

London
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Arriving in Prince Albert via the scenic Marienpoort pass as the sun was setting we were enchanted by the contrast with the wine towns of Stellenbosch and Franschoek that we had just left. Many of the lovely buildings seem to date back to Victorian times and the town is very tranquil. Our stay was only one night but we enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller077
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The hosts are very kind and helpful! The room is big, clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed the big garden and the pool. Absolutely quiet accomodation. Also the breakfast was great: Müsli, joghurt, eggs, bacon, bread, juice, fruits. Just great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hiltraud A

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
1.7 km away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Prince Albert
239 reviews
0.3 km away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
106 reviews
0.1 km away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
93 reviews
0.5 km away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
95 reviews
1.1 km away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#1 of 20 in Prince Albert
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Karoo Lodge Bed & Breakfast, Prince Albert, is situated Town Central and surrounded by a hectare (2.5 acres) of lush and tranquil garden with various established Grape Vines, Fruit - and Pecan Nut trees...more than 150 "Old World" fragrant rose bushes....Free WiFi.....Free onsite parking..... Free Breakfast.....Cool swimming pool......Four spacious (45sq m) suites with Lounge Area/Separate Dressing Area... Bathroom with separate shower and bath... Private Entrances off the garden.... One Standard Suite (30sqm) Bathroom with separate shower and bath. Separate Toilet....Private entrance off Pool Deck....All Suites with...Private Deck......King Bed/Twin Bed option...... Modern silent Air Conditioner and Ceiling Fan...... Coffee/tea making facilities......Under-counter Bar Fridge.(not stocked)......International Electric Plug Points....... Hotel Boutique TV Chanels including sport channels....Individual Solar/Electric Hot Water Supply. Fully Licensed in-house Restaurant and Cocktail Bar "At 66".....Serving...Karoo, Cape Traditional and Cape Malay (Halal) Cuisine..... Wide Estate Wine selection from Local, Little Karoo and Breede River Valley....Manicures by professionally trained personnel ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karoo Lodge

Address: 66 Church Street | P O Box 228, Prince Albert Municipality, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Price Range: ₹ 4,702 - ₹ 5,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Karoo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perfect Prince Albert Stay”
 of 5 bubbles Edster58, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Corner room with patio”
 of 5 bubbles sheridanr2013, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“each room is wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles 226hildegards, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is huge and has an amazing en-suite.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewhI7018KW, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
“We were in room 1 - a very nice large and modern suite with all amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles 23DaveG, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5