We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at Dennehof for one night on our way to Bloemfontein. We were greeted by Ria on arrival and she made us feel right at home. She also offered to make us a dinner reservation. This is the most beautiful little farm style guest in the Karoo. The room as well as the bathroom was large, well kept and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trendytravller
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Trendytravller, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. We appreciate your kind and generous words. WE are absolutely thrilled that you would have liked to stay longer, perhaps on your next trip. In the mean time have a wonderful 2017. Best wishes Ria & Lindsay

Reviewed 1 week ago

We regretted we only booked this place for one night - we should've at least spent 2 nights here if we knew about how good it was beforehand! The room and bathroom were large, clean and bright. The building is old with a charm of wood and warmth, and a lot of thought was put into the details to make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kudu_Traveller
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Kudu_Traveller, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. We appreciate your kind words. We look forwad to seeing you back in Prince Albert and Dennehof in 2017 and wish you a prosperous year ahead. Best wishes Ria & Lindsay

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I spent a night here in early January 2017. It was actually a second choice after I found that de Bergkant lodge was fully booked. The layout of dennrhof is very charming, various rooms if different sizes scattered about in old farm buildings. My room was enormous, beautifully appointed, interesting and witty design, some lovely old pieces including light fittings,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Brain S, Thank you for taking the time for the beautiful review on Dennehof and your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed it even though we had some loader guests. Thank you for understanding. We hope to see you back at Dennehof and Prince Albert in 2017 and wish you a prosperous year ahead. Best...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our third stay at the beautiful Dennehof in Prince Albert. And this time we really had an exquisite room! Delicious breakfasts, pod coffee in the rooms, one request would be for fresh Gays Dairy milk instead of the horrid little triangles!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard K
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Richard K, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. We are thrilled that you enjoyed that which we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you all back in 2017. Best wishes Ria & Lindsay

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunning garden, lovely pool & very tasteful interior decor. The breakfast was the best quality we have ever had at a guest house! The hostess was hands-on, friendly & very efficient. Lots of special touches; e.g. the bath crystals, the "glass house" & paintings.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinesV6719NY
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear ChrisinesV6719NY, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. We appreciate your kind and generous words. We hope you have a wonderful 2017 and that we will have the honour of hosting you again. Best wishes Ria & Lindsay

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a short but wonderful time at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse. The setting is so relaxing and the beautiful cottages are furniture with lovely details. The hosts are very friendly and had excellent recommendations for dinner and outdoor activities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katharinas644
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear katharinas644, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recent stay with Dennehof Guesthouse. We appreciate all your lovely words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dennehof and Prince Albert in the near future. Seasons greetings Ria & Lindsay

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was our second time visiting Dennehof and we were slightly disappointed with certain aspects of service. We were accommodated well initially but level of service was not up to par for the tariff charged.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordon a
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Gordon A, Thank you for taking the time of reviewing your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. We appreciate the very generous tip you left the staff to thank them for all the hard work they did for you and your family. We are saddened to hear that due to the fact that you did not want to...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

we had an amazing stay at dennehof and were very sorry we only stayed one night. we had booked the wagon shed which is decorated in a lovely way and very comfortable! the entire setting of dennehof is beautiful and we can only recommend staying here for a couple of days. we chose to have dinner aswell and got served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rina3891
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear rina3891, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. We appreciate your feedback and value all your input. We are only to pleased that we can accommodate you and all your requirements, they were no hassle at all. We look forward to welcomin you back in the near future. Best wishes Ria...

Franschhoek
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Lovely welcome,lovely room.Nothing to dislike.Will definitely call again and recommend to fellow travellers.Prince Albert has developed nicely in the ten years i was last there.New Galleries and seems a "Hide-e-Hole" for artists.Take a look!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O3879SBpaulb
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear 03879SBpaulb, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. Your kind words is appreciated. WE hope you have a wonderful Festive Season ahead and that you will visit us in Prince Albert in the near (less than 10 years) future again. Best wishes Ria & Lindsay

France
Reviewed 27 November 2016

This truly splendid guest house is run by Ria and Lindsey with help from daughter Michele. It’s a one or two minute drive from Prince Albert, a cute town that offers some nice galleries, a few very good restaurants (The Gallery Café is our favorite), and some services. One cannot fail to feel relaxed at Denehof with singing birds, green...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia G, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Dennehof Guesthouse. Your kind and generous words mean so much to us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that we hope and aim to offer our guests. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prince Albert
17.5 km away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
150 reviews
1.4 km away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#4 of 21 in Prince Albert
99 reviews
1.6 km away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#3 of 21 in Prince Albert
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
De Bergkant Lodge
De Bergkant Lodge
#2 of 21 in Prince Albert
148 reviews
1.7 km away
Karoo Lodge
Karoo Lodge
#6 of 21 in Prince Albert
111 reviews
2.1 km away
Karoo View Cottages
Karoo View Cottages
#1 of 10 in Prince Albert
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the grandeur of South Africa's unexplored spaces from Prince Albert's oldest homestead, a serene & comfortable base at the foot of the Swartberg Pass. Ria and Lindsay, are your hosts. "We know that your visit to Prince Albert will be a memorable one and we are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us at our historic farmstead. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse

Address: 20 De Wit Street | Great Karoo, Prince Albert 6930, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert
Price Range: ₹ 5,529 - ₹ 9,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“garden rooms”
 of 5 bubbles katharinas644, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Honeymoon Suite was Splendid!”
 of 5 bubbles CynsontheRoad, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The wagon Shed room is great value. No shared walls, private and enormous.”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The wagon room was lovely. Bath is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles JaneNicolette, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles bridgebolton, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay