We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The King's Place

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The King's Place
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
jhb
Reviewed 6 February 2013

what a lovely place ! we stayed in the cottage for our honeymoon it was peacefull and quite and the staff was so helpfull and friendly , Kim and Ian thanks for a lovely 10 days at a affordable luxuray well furnished appartment we will recommende it any time , its close to cape town and other places, its not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugene v
Uyuni
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The King's place is great! We stayed in the Valley house and all was perfect. There is so much space in all the rooms, the living area and the kitchen. And it gets even better outside; the gardens and pool are fantastic. We would def recommend staying at The King's Place if you are looking for accomodation in Houtbay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank triptrip49
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We weren't an easy group - 10 teenagers and 3 grown-ups. We stayed in Cape Town for the South African Junior Chess Championships. The house is spacious and beautifully decorated. Excellent accommodation. Attention was given to our needs. I will recommend it any time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adriaan K
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review

Congratulations to all of you on your excellent achievement here in the Cape! We were pleased that you were so successful! Thanks for the lovely review and hope to have you back with us when you compete in Cape Town again!

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Fabulous stay, so comfortable and spacious, wonderful owners A pleasure to host our family from USA at Kings Place in their magnificent property. From the time I corresponded with Kim she was a pleasure to deal with, nothing was too much for her to organise. It was a pleasure being in a "home" with such a well equipped kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Hope your USA guests enjoyed there time in Cape Town and spread the good news of our beautiful city ...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed in the Pool room which was very fresh and nicely furnished. The owner was very friendly as were the staff, we felt very safe. Highly recommended if you plan to explore Cape Town and want to avoid staying in the city centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachius
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 15 January 2013

2 weeks of absolute Bliss – the place is absolutely stunning – Cleaning service was amazing, polite and efficient - a real home away from home – has everything you need at your fingertips and with peaceful surrounding, beautiful trees and plants surround the place and fresh air is perfect – it’s a truly amazing place to stay! Access to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CristinaDSW
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We were attending a wedding in Houtbay and were looking for a place that could accommodate more than 15 people. King’s Place was ideal for this. Everyone in our group was pleasantly surprised with the excellent accommodation and facilities. I will recommend it any time to family and friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danie H
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! It was lovely meeting you and your amazing family and sharing in the BIG DAY!! I'm so pleased you all had a great stay and look forward to seeing you in the future!!

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My husband, three children and I were all excited to stay at the King's place as we had read so many great reviews. We made reservations 4 months in advance for the busy holiday season of Easter. We received an email a week later saying they had changed their minds and realized they didn't want to split up the weekend....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Belgian5384
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review

As we said before, we are really sorry for the inconvenience! However, your review is slightly ambiguous and gives the feeling that you had booked your accommodation 4 months before we came back to you with our problem when in fact it was 5 days after your initial email. I do feel the need to put the story into perspective....

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Wow ! Where do I start ?What a beautiful place indeed! So tranquil and serene especially the view of the mountain and trees from the patio with the sounds of the birds and horses in the background. The tennis court and swimming pool kept the kids quite busy. Accommodation was fantastic with a fully equiped kitchen(incl. dishwasher and auto maid),spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abdul d
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review

Thanks for a GREAT review! We really enjoyed meeting you all and hope you'll be back very soon!!

Secunda, South Africa
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The apartment at the King's place was great and spacious, truly home away from home,superb service and have everything you'll need when on holiday for self catering,and will definately stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 332Meo
Kim K, Owner at The King's Place, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had a good stay! Look forward to having you stay with us again!!

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.0 km away
Whittlers Lodge
Whittlers Lodge
#17 of 57 in Hout Bay
47 reviews
1.8 km away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#26 of 57 in Hout Bay
29 reviews
2.1 km away
Hout Bay Lodge
Hout Bay Lodge
#27 of 57 in Hout Bay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#13 of 57 in Hout Bay
245 reviews
0.7 km away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 57 in Hout Bay
68 reviews
0.4 km away
Thulani River Lodge
Thulani River Lodge
#7 of 57 in Hout Bay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The King's Place is a small holding set on 8 acres of prime agricultural land in the lush seaside valley of Hout Bay, Cape Town. We are surrounded by magnificent gardens with views of the back of Table Mountain, the Constantiaberg and the renowned Chapman's Peak. We have 5 self-catering units: 2 one bedroom cottages, 2 x 2 bedroom, 1 x 5 bedroom and an 8 bedroom house. It is the perfect venue for a couple, a family reunion, a small conference or business group or a family getaway. All accommodation at The King's Place is self-catering. It is a luxurious country experience enhanced by carefully selected furnishings and fabrics. Each place has its own entrance and private BBQ area. There are 2 large swimming pools and for the energetic, there is a tennis court. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The King's Place

Address: Valley Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range: ₹ 5,637 - ₹ 5,831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The King's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King's Place Hout Bay, Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The King's Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Each of the different self catering units is completely different The Kings Apt has a great view not sure about the others”
PASM64, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“private and away from other people - the cottage”
Eugenev890, 5 Feb 2013 | Read review
“Valley House 2 is perfect for families! plenty of space for everyone and very comfortable”
  • Walking out to this view every morning was Bliss
CristinaDSW, 15 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Any room will do ! Trust me!”
abduld956, 9 Oct 2012 | Read review
“All the suites are wonderful. It depends on your group size only”
JanineG84, 9 Apr 2012 | Read review
5 of 5