We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Riverside Estates

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Riverside Estates
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 225: English reviews
Start your review of Riverside Estates
 Click to rate
Suilly-la-Tour, France
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We stayed a few days at Riverside Estates, and we enjoyed our stay very much. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the dogs, and the swimming pool. Beautiful decorated spacious rooms. Very clean. Breakfast was good. We had delicious cheese cakes in the garden. World Of Birds is the neighbor! We definitely would recommend Riverside Estates.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fillouse
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Hi Mr Fillouse, It is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. I took some awesome photos of your kids and the dogs. Soon we will start the coffee shop your wife wants us to have. We look forward in hosting you next year again. Hope yu survive the winter. Greetings from a sunny South Africa. Rob,...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Excellent atmosphere and friendly staff, the hotel is nice and quiet. The breakfast menu is very appetising. The outside breakfast area is very romantic. I recommend this for couples and kids have a nice swimming pool to swim in

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SchalkPienaar
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Mr Pienaar, Many thanks for your review on our guest house. I hope you share with your friend about the great time you've had in Hout Bay. I have already made your next provisional booking and I will make sure to escourt you and your wife to "club 69". The act is high standard and they change every two...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We spent a wonderful night in this amazing guest house. Well worth it. Everyone was friendly, you felt like you had your own private space even thought the guest house was fully booked which was great. We will definitely be back. Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laraf33
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Lara, Many thanks for your beautiful review and what a great idea of your parents to send you and your to be Prince to us... I am already planning your wedding. Look forward to our discussions next week. regards, Robert, Nathan, Jessie & Team.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Very helpful when I was suffering from heatstroke, the rest of the family was able to enjoy the peaceful surroundings mor fully.Excellent breakfast.Unfortunately due tonwater restrictions and cold weather we were unable to try out the pool.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J6388XQclairea
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Claire, I hope you are feeling much better. The re-hydrate sachets are handy and I am glad we could be of help. Your children enjoyed the dogs and kept them busy the whole time while you were in bed. The South African sun can be very harsh and one tends to forget about it while having fun time. Glad...

Dubai, UAE
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Lovely big, clean rooms. Garden is amazing with playground. Super friendly staff and six dogs keep the kids amused for hours. Breakfast is great. Good atmosphere, feels very secluded but also close to town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamRobbbo
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Sam, Thank you for your kind words and I will convey the thanks to our security team and they would be honoured to feel they are partaking in letting you relax and just love children and yours especially. Until next year. Rob & Team

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Warm and friendly service from the minute you arrive. Nothing is too much for the staff. Fabulous gardens to walk around and relax in and very beautiful rooms. The accommodation is very tastefully done and to a very high standard. Freshly cooked breakfast made to order and a beautiful buffet too. Our special thanks go to Wesley he has really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 176melanied
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Melanie, Many thanks for your kind words. Our dogs are indeed our children and enjoy guests extremely. They still go to the tree house to see if you are there. I was wondering who fed Jag so much. We look forward to your next visit. Blessed Festive season! Rob, Nathan & Staff

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Such a beautiful place. Great decor, clean rooms and a gorgeous location. It's a pity nobody at the establishment seems to know how to manage it or deal with people. Poor communication and lot's of confusion.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Leanne, Many thanks for your thoughts on our venue & we sincerely hope that one day we see you again. We'll work on the service in the meantime. Robert

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 October 2016

You arrive and are braced with this gorgeous Victorian entrance, stunning gardens, greenery and flowers! We parked our rental and we know we had found paradise! The gardens and tranquility, the service and comforts where incredible! I Have to say this place made our Cape Town Stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad_Smith101
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Brad, Many thanks for the review. It was great to meet you and share with you the story of Hout Bay. I hope you could get around to all the things mentioned on the list when travelling through the Garden Route. Just a reminder as well to extend your stay next time when in Cape Town in order to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The venue is beautiful, my room was spacious and very comfortable. However, the service was very poor and my breakfast experience was terrible. The scrambled eggs were cold and had developed some kind of crusty layer on top. The pork sausages were cold. I ended up not eating anything at all. I would like to recommend two things. Give people...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dieterw170
Nathan W, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Good day Dieterw170, Thank you for your extended feedback & also for choosing Riverside Estates as your first review (pity it is on a rather negative note) However, I would thank you for the positive compliment with regards to our newly re-furbished rooms as comfort was one of our main goals we hoped to achieve with this. I went back...

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Excellent in everything, room, location, service, staff, You will find that all Cape town know Robert the Owner because of his beautiful smile and positive energy you get from him, I promised that I will come back with my family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahmed_cdm_2010
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Ahmed, Many thanks for your beautiful words. We are looking forward when you will be visiting with the family. Please know that when you contact us that you will receive a loyalty discounted rate. Best regards, Robert, Nathan & Riverside team.

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
19.9 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.0 km away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
133 reviews
1.6 km away
Tarragona Lodge
Tarragona Lodge
#11 of 61 in Hout Bay
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 61 in Hout Bay
237 reviews
0.5 km away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 61 in Hout Bay
64 reviews
1.1 km away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Riverside Estates, an elegant guesthouse, function and conference venue, an established haven of tranquillity, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town's jewel, the beautiful valley of Hout Bay. Our core values include eco-sustainability, the greening of our establishment, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay Community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment, of romance, of guests who become friends. Experience the magic of Riverside Estates today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Estates

Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range: ₹ 7,863 - ₹ 11,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Estates Hout Bay, Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Estates staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sun rise facing room is the best i think”
 of 5 bubbles Brad_Smith101, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some of the bungalows outside the main building can get quite chilly.”
 of 5 bubbles msmaki3, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They all looked good and in very different positions.”
 of 5 bubbles TedH6, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The room upstairs :-)”
 of 5 bubbles andrev860, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The self catering cottages are very well equipped and affordable.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahEmilySA, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5