We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Val d'Or Guest House

Agoda.comUS$ 127*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 147*
US$ 127*
Great Deal
US$ 143*
US$ 147*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Val d\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
Start your review of Val d'Or Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service was great. But the kitchen cleanliness was horrendous, When going there to warm something inside the microwave, the microwave was so dirty it caused us to forego our breakfast each day even though it was included in the price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nabilah510
ValdOr_Estate, Manager at Val d'Or Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We will check on the microwave, as it is equipment we do not use, at all for breakfast, but non the less unacceptable. Kind regards, Suzette

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 5 nights in the farmers cottage at Val D' Or during April 2017. The location of the property is excellent. about 8 kms from Franschhoek, 12 Kms form Boschendal. We also enjoyed cycling ( own bikes) around Berg River Dam. We were two families each with one child so the cottage was ideal with onsuite bathrooms. It...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kobusb225
ValdOr_Estate, Manager at Val d'Or Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Suzette

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The venue was really tranquil & peaceful. Food was excellent, staff very friendly & helpful. Will definitely be back.great for families with children & pets. Location was close to CBD & easy access to restaurants & tram wine excursions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joslynm2017
ValdOr_Estate, Manager at Val d'Or Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Suzette

London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Set in a very pretty estate, we stayed in Val d'Or for a couple of nights, in two adjoining rooms on the top floor of the main buildings. These were the only two rooms in the main building, so we had a lot of privacy which was nice. The rooms were spacious, and the bathrooms were very large. There was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
ValdOr_Estate, Manager at Val d'Or Guest House, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed our stay with us and thank you for your kind comments! Best regards, Suzette

Accra, Ghana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very beautiful premises and garden. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK in terms of diversity, staff will come and ask you which hot plate to have (eggs...) and serve you with hot beverage (coffee...). Very large rooms. Room service and cleanness was above expectation: bed sheets were arranged when we went out for the day, and then again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZiadOrfali
ValdOr_Estate, Manager at Val d'Or Guest House, responded to this review

thank you very much for your comments, they are appreciated! Kind regards, Suzette

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Nice place to stay with great room space and the kitchen facilities were good for self catering. Beautiful views outside and pieceful environment. Curtains and room decorations could be better quality to match the quality of the environment!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 663fredam
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Visited Val D'Or with my husband, son and parents - we stayed in a 2 bed villa in the grounds which are beautiful. The accommodations are wonderful and very comfortable. Lovely gardens and pool area, superb views and location. Very attentive staff who do a wonderful breakfast. We spent one evening having a braai by the pool which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
ValdOr_Estate, Manager at Val d'Or Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your most welcome comments, they are appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Suzette

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 6 April 2017

The estate is perfectly located to city center and yet far enough to enjoy the serenity and peace of the place. Beautiful landscapes. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms. Excellent value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smita J
ValdOr_Estate, Manager at Val d'Or Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Best regards, Suzette

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Was one of the final bits of our roadtrip. Great service by the gentleman that checked us in on the evening of our arrival. He was very helpful (suitcases / calling a farm nearby for fly-fishing, etc.). Room was really big (2 adults + 2 kids), with option to connect to more rooms in the house. This the only slight...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 322zeldad
ValdOr_Estate, Manager at Val d'Or Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much, your comments are appreciated! Kind regards, Suzette

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Always lovely to visit Val d'Or. Great location in stunning, tranquil surrounds. Good sized, comfortable rooms with clean, excellent quality linen. Satellite TV was great to have. Hearty, full breakfast. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanoudts
ValdOr_Estate, Manager at Val d'Or Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much, it is always a pleasure to hear such great comments! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Suzette

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
4.9 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
8.3 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
639 reviews
4.0 km away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 63 in Franschhoek
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
6.9 km away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
519 reviews
12.1 km away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the foothills of the Western Cape's magnificent Franschhoek mountains, is a boutique Guest House, Val d'Or Estate. Minutes from the centre of the Cape's culinary capital, lies Val d'Or where the welcome is warm, the tranquility tangible and the ambiance geared to your comfort. Val d'Or Guest House is one of Franschhoek's most luxurious places to stay, offering easy access to all the Winelands' many attractions and an idyllic country setting to shed city stress. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Val d'Or Guest House

Address: R45 | next to La Motte, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: ₹ 7,692 - ₹ 12,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Val d'Or Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Val d'Or Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Val d`Or Guest House Hotel Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Val d'Or Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Val d'Or Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Barn House is perfect for views and tranquillity”
AgustinaT260, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a family room which had the advantage of double internal doors which separated the sleeping areas.”
pauliner180, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room above the bar is a bit noisy as the fridge makes a racket! They will turn it off at night if you ask though.”
louisam82, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Keep away from reception”
549joanm, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The Barn House Suite and the adjacent rooms have great views. The Manour House has tranquility. The Owners Cottage is perfect for families.”
AgustinaT260, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 127* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 143
Booking.comUS$ 147
Expedia.comUS$ 143
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates