We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mont Rochelle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mont Rochelle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

485 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mont Rochelle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 424: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We were seeking a special solace while visiting the winelands of South Africa and our research lead us to this wonderful property. Given that this was a Sir Richard Branson property we were confident in our selection. We were not disappointed. Our reservation was made several months earlier with consistent follow up from the Management. The property is essentially a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David H
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear David H, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this very special review of your stay at Mont Rochelle. The entire team was so pleased to hear that Mont Rochelle provided the solace that you had been searching for. We loved reading about your wine tasting experience and hearing that you enjoyed the food so much,...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We were blown away by our experience at Mont Rochelle. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so special by the staff. Checking in was such a relaxing and easy experience as we sat and enjoyed the scenery and welcome drinks. The facilities were incredible (gym, spa, pool, living space), our room unbelievable and the surroundings breathtaking....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philwylie
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear philwylie, Wow, we were blown away reading these lovely words about your stay at Mont Rochelle! It was such an honour for us that you chose to spend your honeymoon at Mont Rochelle, so it was the very least we could do to make you feel special with a few little treats. Thank you for your lovely comments about...

Leeds
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Called in as part of our garden route tour and stopped the night. That was our only down side! Just a beautiful setting, very relaxed staff, very courteous and couldn't do enough but not in an in your face/repetitive offering kind of a way! Just a lovely, lovely experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Chris W, It was such an honour for us to welcome you as part of your garden route tour, even if it was just for one night so thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our entire team were blown away by your wonderful words about the service; we always want our guests to feel comfortable so we...

Buckinghamshire
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We started our stay with lunch at the Country Kitchen. A meat and cheese sharing platter and a glass of Chardonnay, whilst soaking up the view in the sunshine. The hotel is a little out of town but they do provide transfers at certain times of the day. We had a Shiraz room with a great view down the valley....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucyleopard
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Lucyleopard, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this fabulous review of your ‘home away from home’ stay at Mont Rochelle. It was such a delight to read about your first lunch at Country Kitchen; we think nothing says “welcome home” like sharing some delicious snacks and a glass of wine in the sunshine! The entire...

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We went for lunch today. We Ordered food from the bar menu. The food was so little that we had to go to another restaurant afterwards. Beautiful location for drinks but definitely won't recommend this venue as a restaurant. The food we had was ok. No taste sensation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PiicachuSmith
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear PiicachuSmith, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us following your recent visit to Mont Rochelle. Whilst it was lovely to hear that you thought the location was beautiful, I was saddened to hear that the food was not quite what you were expecting and I would like to assure you that your valued feedback...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We initially booked the Merlot room a few months prior but when we arrived, the hotel was closed for renovations. We were reaccommodated to the Manor, which was a really pleasant surprise for us. We were in the loft, a BEAUTIFUL room with the most luxurious amenities. It was spacious, extremely clean and very comfortable. It also has a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroltolenlaui
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear caroltolenlaui, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay at Mont Rochelle. We were so pleased that you found the Manor House to be a pleasant surprise; we must say the loft room is definitely one of our favourites! The team were delighted to hear that you found them to be...

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Great rooms,very modern and stylish and extraordinary views. Great staff, very pleasant and helpfull. Could hardly be better Restaurant not as good as franchoek best in terms of taste,but there are so many good restaurants only 2 mins away

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michel e
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Michel e, Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review with us of your stay at Mont Rochelle. It was wonderful to read your kind comments about your room and the team and we loved hearing the views referred to as extraordinary. It was a shame to hear that the restaurant did not quite live...

Reeuwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 June 2016

My TomTom had difficulty finding the resort and so it should be! Once we were cleared by the guard at the gate and drove up the driveway, we knew this was going to be special. The staff was lined up at the entrance to greet us. Everything about this place exhumes luxury and elegance. The staff is top notch and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ericv58
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Ericv58, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay at Mont Rochelle. We loved reading about the welcome you received, it’s always such a pleasure to say hello to new friends so waiting for you at the entrance is the very least we can do. You certainly know how to make...

Queenstown, South Africa
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We could fault nothing with our stay. The welcome was very warm and inviting. On arrival we received a glass of wine from the friendly team. The establishment is beautiful with the most stunning views of Franschhoek. The rooms are beautiful and exquisitely furnished. The toiletries provided were amazing and the complementary mini bar was truly the cherry on top...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TraceyPutzier
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear TraceyPutzier, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your stay at Mont Rochelle. We were overjoyed to hear that you felt that your stay had attention to detail all the way; we try to think of every little thing so all you have to do is relax and enjoy your stay. We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

This is hands down the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I wish I lived closer so I could go back. We were so impressed with our room, the staff, the grounds, the food, the wine, the location, the mini-bar, the spa... our entire stay was completely faultless. We went on honeymoon in May and it was absolutely fabulous....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PigRap
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear ShapCat, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this glowing review of your stay at Mont Rochelle. We would also like to thank you for sharing your honeymoon with us, we were so honoured to be part of your special trip. Like you, we just wish you could have stayed a little longer. It was wonderful...

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (340)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.5 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
2.5 km away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
453 reviews
1.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
141 reviews
1.2 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: ₹ 22,513 - ₹ 57,853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and South African Hotels so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mont Rochelle staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mont Rochelle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pinotage suite, upstairs”
  • Bathroom humour
  • Christmas 'goodies' on the bed
 of 5 bubbles MaryLewis747, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book early and take whatever is on offer. It won't be available for long!”
 of 5 bubbles RichardVUK, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pinotage suites are large and airy.”
 of 5 bubbles BsurreyUK, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All room at excellent just a matter of price which one you choose.”
 of 5 bubbles stevemY6175GS, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Garden views”
 of 5 bubbles 928judithd, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5