We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macaron Boutique Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
12/07/2017 13/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Macaron Boutique Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Start your review of Macaron Boutique Guest House
 Click to rate
Camps Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We often stay in Franschoek and booked Macaron based on TripAdvisor reviews and proximity to a birthday dinner we came to attend. You can see that part of this guesthouse has been recently renovated and the first impression of the lounge and breakfast area were good. The reception efficiency is ok but didn't blow us away. We saw no management...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarvBlonde
Macaron_Karen, Manager at Macaron Boutique Guest House, responded to this review

Dear MarvBlonde Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It is thanks to constructive criticism that we can improve our service. The adapter has been replaced, we are getting an extra light and we are keeping a closer eye on the restocking of our Charlotte Rhys products. The reason you might not have seen management...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our last stop in South Africa. This room was dark and dingy; very disappointing. We did change rooms that was better, but charged the difference. Would expect a change with no fee. The staff, location were great

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristend117
Macaron_Karen, Manager at Macaron Boutique Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Kristen We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the other room. The reason that you were charged the difference is that you upgraded from a standard room to a superior room. We would however invite you to come back to us some time, and if you stay for three nights you will get one for free to make...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our experience at Macaron was a great one, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is also a huge plus as you are reallyclose to all amenities in the town. Breakfast was great aswell. An overall good experience

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandabR9799QM
Macaron_Karen, Manager at Macaron Boutique Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Amanda We are happy to hear that you had a great experience at our guest house, thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We hope to see you here again some time. Kind regards Karen & the Macaron team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything about our visit to Macaron guesthouse was fantastic. Huge loft room with beautiful view, gorgeous pool and gardens, lovely friendly staff and perfect location less than 2 minutes to main Street. Really cannot fault anything - would stay again in a heartbeat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali D
Macaron_Karen, Manager at Macaron Boutique Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ali D What a nice review, you make us blush! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate it a lot, and it's wonderful to hear that you had a lovely time. We are looking forward to seeing you here again! Kind regards Karen & the Macaron team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

De rooms are small, but that doesn't matter. You can sit and relax in the beautiful garden. There are several places in the shadow or the sun to chill or read a book. People in the hotel are very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 782leontineb
Macaron_Karen, Manager at Macaron Boutique Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Leontine Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review, we appreciate it! It's always great to hear that guests enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you here again. Best wishes Karen & the Macaron team

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love the guesthouse and great location to center of town. Loiusa was wonderful as day manager. The breakfast each morning was wonderful. Would love to come back! Would like to try more vineyards next time. Looking forward to planning another trip there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 134geoffh
KarenMacaron, Manager at Macaron Boutique Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Geoffh Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review, we will be looking forward to your next stay here. Franschhoek is an amazing location to visit vineyards so visiting more of them will definitely be a good plan. Kind regards Karen & the Macaron team

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Wonderful guesthouse with fantastic staff and service. Note that they have changed their name to Macaron however so you don't end up driving up and down the street without finding them. Gorgeous room, great breakfast and Lovely setting. We will definitely return!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emli3360
KarenMacaron, Manager at Macaron Boutique Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Emli Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review. We are changing the name online as soon as possible, the delay of the launch of our new website has held us back until now. Great to hear that you will be returning, we will be looking forward to this! Kind regards Karen & the...

Reviewed 30 March 2017

Now called the Macaron. Stayed in a large garden room, huge sitting area and o much room in the shower. Central location, helpful staff, parking available. Buffet breakfast with freshly cooked eggs/ omelette if wanted. Fabulous place to see vineyards from, great restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nursteach
KarenMacaron, Assistant Manager at Macaron Boutique Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Nursteach Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Karen & the Macaron team

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the Alchemist. The breakfast was fantastic. A real treat. The staff were absolutely brilliant. Friendly, attentive and very professional. We would happily stay again. Next time in SA, we will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
KarenMacaron, Assistant Manager at Macaron Boutique Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Mike We appreciate you taking the time to write this kind review, thank you so much! We're happy to hear that you had suck a lovely time and we'll be looking forward to your next stay here. Kind regards Karen & the Macaron team

Hampshire
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Now called the Macaron, this guest house is in a great quiet location just off the main street close to the centre. The garden area and breakfast terrace is superb, as is the breakfast buffet. The service is polite and friendly and you have two pools to choose from with towels provided. The room didn't have air conditioning but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wild1s
KarenMacaron, Assistant Manager at Macaron Boutique Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Wild1s Great to hear that you would come back here, we'd love to have you here again! Hopefully by then we will have had the time to update the bathroom and install air conditioning in all rooms; they are on our to do list for the near future. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (1)
12/07/2017 13/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 km away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
520 reviews
0.5 km away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
561 reviews
0.9 km away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 63 in Franschhoek
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
557 reviews
9.9 km away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 63 in Franschhoek
352 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#21 of 63 in Franschhoek
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a restored Victorian homestead, Macaron Boutique Guest House features an outdoor swimming pool and panoramic views of Franschhoek Mountains. The rooms at Macaron Boutique Guest each offer a private entrance and free WiFi access. They are also equipped with tea-and-coffee-making facilities, room safe and satellite TV. The en suite bathrooms have bathrobes and free toiletries. Some rooms also include a seating area or terrace. Guests can relax in the garden, by the swimming pool or in the lounge area inside. The guest house also offers a daily maid service and free private parking on site. Macaron Boutique Guest House is located within a 10 minutes’ walk of nearby restaurants, the Hugenot Memorial Museum and Monument, and the Franschhoek Wine Tram. Cape Town International Airport is 60 km away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macaron Boutique Guest House

Address: 28 Van Wijk Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly de Alchemist Guesthouse)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: ₹ 6,848 - ₹ 11,950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Macaron Boutique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Macaron Boutique Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms appear good.”
Nursteach, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a garden view room, as our mountain view didn't really exist! Other rooms may be better than the one we had.”
Wild1s, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Although our room was on the road it is a very quiet location and very peaceful nights sleep”
jlw5558, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
3 of 3
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates