We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 181: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Fantastic! My wife and I stayed in a suite. We were welcomed with a glass of bubbly. Our room was huge. We loved the decor. Views to die for. Staff were wonderful, friendly and attentive. Breakfast was first class. We can strongly recommend spending some time here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gogecko747
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Cynthia

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We consider ourselves blessed to have stayed here for 4 days. It is close to the village but off the noisy main road. Absolute lakefront hideaway with superb valley and mountain views. The peace, natural beauty and birdlife was lovely to come home to after a busy day lunching wining and touring. The villa is well appointed and has very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank takename
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is greatly appreciated and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Cynthia

Reviewed 19 June 2016

The location is fantastic and the accomodation and staff at the Chateaux are world class. I will be returning soon to experience the ambience and facilities that Lermitage has to offer. After having travelled widely acros the world, I believe that Franchhoek is indeed a world class destination and Lermitage a great place to stay to experience all that this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for the kind comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed blesses to live in this piece of paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Cynthia

Reviewed 19 June 2016

We recently spent a few days in the Chateaux and were so impressed with the decor, service and food. We think that this is the best kept secret in Franschhoek and will definitely be going back again soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milda T
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Milda Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property after your stay and for the positive feedback. We can only improve on our offering with feedback from our guests and it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Cynthia

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 19 June 2016

My wife and I spent 3 days at this beautiful hotel. It really is a spot in paradise and reminded us of being in France. The staff are friendly and efficient, the food is good and the rooms are outstanding. The setting is beyond beautiful and the hotel is timeless elegance. We will be back for more

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marshall878
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Mr Marshall Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Cynthia

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We stayed for four nights in a two bedroom villa with our parents/in laws - one bedroom upstairs and the other downstairs with balcony. The rooms were huge. Fantastic views of the mountains and overlooking the lake with ducks, birds and frogs - did I mention it was so peaceful! Wifi we had read was accessible only in the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneKiwi
69cynthia, General Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and the comments are greatly appreciated. We are currently working with the IT company on faster and better quality WiFi access in all the rooms and it will be resolved soon. The young lady is currently in training and I can assure you that she is already far...

Pretoria
Reviewed 8 June 2016

The place is in an awesome setting. Could not be better. It was cold and we were put in the honeymoon suit. Great! The air conditioner did not work. We were put in another Villa. Awesome and clean and comfortable. But no bath mats for bath and shower. The TV remote was without a battery. Dinner was so well prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marietjie W
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We have noted the comments and are disappointed that the departments did not report the faulty equipment and the our supervisor did not check that the villa was ready before changing the room. I have spoken to the heads of the various departments because we take the...

Za
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We had fast friendly service from reception who were also knowledgeable about the town and restaurants near by. The suite ( actually more like a small apartment ) we had in the chateau was enormous by usual proportions and quite luxurious. The bathroom too was huge with separate wash basins one of those oval baths that quite easily fit 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alangaryb
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely pass your feedback onto all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

In Franschhoek and very well located to get around all the wine growers. This hotel was good value with large well furnished rooms and very friendly staff. I will go back again as can't fault the hotel. We had a few meals in the hotel and the food was very nice as well.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LowePD
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the property. I can assure you it is greatly appreciated as only through feedback from our guests can we improve our offering. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 April 2016

The Good: What a beautiful setting and located just outside of town with sparkling wine excellence (Haute Cabrière) just up the road. The decor and space in the 2 beds units is great! Nice short walk around the dam. Pity I can't remember the one ladies' name, great service, but an anomaly. The Bad: Not sure if it was just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnBoyZA
69cynthia, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your stay at our property. Your comments about the service have been noted and has been discussed with the various departments. It is always upsetting to hear that one of our guests felt let down as we try to offer the best possible service but we will keep working on...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.5 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
552 reviews
2.8 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.8 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.4 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#4 of 11 in Franschhoek
412 reviews
2.4 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This lavish and luxurious accommodation in Franschhoek is ideal for both winter and summer visits as it is 100% equipped to offer the comfort that is required. Ideal for engagements, weekend getaways, special events as well as business trips, the beauty that the area beholds, and the luxury that the accommodation offers, makes it one of the very best experiences in the valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Address: Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: ₹ 10,986 - ₹ 27,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau And Villas
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take room 11”
 of 5 bubbles normanv178, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the man made lake.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnCapeTown, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upstairs villa overlooking the lake”
  • View looking over the lake from the upstairs balcony
 of 5 bubbles Houlihan2, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“best views, quiet, private”
 of 5 bubbles DRS69, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“View over water are great rooms”
 of 5 bubbles QuentinTomaselli, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay