Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Traveller (146)
Room & Suite (51)
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#14 of 19 hotels in Franschhoek
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Hiking
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

33/34 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690 South Africa
283Reviews16Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 198
  • 67
  • 9
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gr1970Gr wrote a review Jan 2021
South Africa288 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Every year for our wedding anniversary we go to some great location in the western cape for a couple of days. Enjoy good food and great locations. This year with a bit of nervousness we chose a Protea hotel. We wanted to be in the town of Frranschoek, so this seemed to be beat located to get around by foot. It was a great choice. A fully restored and modernised traditional building. First class rooms and hospitality. Because of the COVID-19 pandemic there were only a few couples and one family in the hotel. Which made it quiet and tranquil. We loved the modern and sophisticated decor. The hotel has a Husser Grill in the hotel. This is used to serve breakfast and any other meals or in room dining requirements. I travel a lot and liked the breakfast. Not the normal buffet breakfast. Starts off with a continental platter of fresh foods, followed by ordering any hot breakfast. I couldn’t manage a hot breakfast as the continental breakfast was enough.
We also had a great dinner at Husser Grill.
Easy to get around in town on foot from the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Responded 20 Jan 2021
Dear Gr197Gr Thank you for rating your stay and for sharing your overall experience. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay experience. We greatly appreciate you support. We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you to Franschhoek. Best regards Jennifer and TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynn wrote a review Aug 2021
Somerset West, South Africa151 contributions162 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We live in Somerset West, but went to a friend's house warming lunch in Franschhoek and we wanted to stay over. So we only stayed one night at this beautiful hotel, but it will definitely be our hotel of choice for any future Franschhoek stays. The hotel ticks all the boxes, from the friendly security detail when we drove into the parking lot, to the professional and warm welcome at reception. The room itself was spacious, spotless, light and bright, with a hugely comfortable king-size bed, block-out curtains and a stunning shower in the bathroom. We had such a good sleep, as it was so quiet and peaceful. All the staff I encountered were lovely and this is such a pretty hotel. I would definitely recommend this and we will be back. Also, the Hussar Grill is onsite so we enjoyed a lovely dinner without having to drive anywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Dear lynnie07peter Thank you kindly for rating your stay and for sharing your experience. We are pleased that we did not only meet but also exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your support and wish to welcome you back soon. Best regards Jennifer and TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roedig wrote a review Nov 2020
Stellenbosch, South Africa1,282 contribution284 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a gem. Ample secure parking, friendly staff and a great welcome. The rooms are spacious, fantastic beds and linen. There is an in-house restaurant, a chain group which offers breakfast. All made to order, so as fresh as you want it. The same place is good for dinner. This hotel has an excellent location for wine tasting or just a stroll through the historic village with its many restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Dear Roedig Thank you for rating your recent stay and sharing your experience with us. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we appreciate your support. We wish you well on your travels and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Jennifer and TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Davidbignose! wrote a review Jan 2020
Woodstock, Vermont2,307 contributions438 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked in for a four night stay and found my room at the rear of the hotel on the first floor to be quiet and provided good wi-fi. I slept well overall, however on one evening there was a large wedding party which did challenge my first impressions.

To be honest no hotel can manage any client and overall the party group were simply enjoying themselves. However I felt the need to complain as I had not been informed that a large party would be staying and they were joyous late into the night. Any hospitality business is in my opinion as a former hospitality business owner, can be judged by the way they deal with a problem. On that evening little positive happened and the front desk receptionist tried hard to resolve my issue along with the complaints of several other non wedding clients.

The next morning however the hotel manger took responsibility, quickly apologised and offered me a suitable solution. This impressed me. I will return.......

Overall the establishment offers good value and if you are sensitive to noise ask for a room at the rear of the property. The pool is a little small but all the staff seem to have a big heart and I deduce this style comes from the management leadership.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JRJennyJR, Management assistant at Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear Davidbignose, Thank you for choosing the Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek as part of your recent travels. We sincerely appreciate your great feedback and are happy that we could come to a solution that pleased both parties regarding your complaint. One of our main focuses at the hotel is providing our Guests with excellent staff service, thank you for acknowledging this. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind regards, Management and TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JDN wrote a review May 2022
Navi Mumbai, India192 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A well located hotel with spacious rooms
Beautiful wallpaper of flowers on the walls of the room . Room was spotless , clean and neat . Large doors with plenty of light in the room .Warm and well insulated with a good heater.
A common verandah that faces the lawn and poolside. Large and well equipped bathroom .

The hotel had a good generator so the guests don't feel the 2 hour powder cut that most hotels in South Africa have to face in the evening time..

A short walk away from the hotel you will find some shops and restaurants. We got some food from the grocery store which we decided to eat at the hotel. The receptionist was extremely courteous and arranged plates and cutlery for us to eat outdoors by the pool .

Breakfast is amazing.... each dish is well presented with a good variety of options The restaurant is done up like an English Pub . The service is great . Steve, our waiter was polite, friendly and always smiling .
A lovely hotel and would recommend it to stay for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tifosi678 wrote a review Feb 2023
Exeter31 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a lovely small hotel that enjoys an excellent location just off the main road in Franschhoek. You can easily walk to the wine tram, restaurants, etc from here.

I was looking forward to my stay as I was a returning guest to this hotel. Unfortunately, I experienced a very serious problem at checkin and noticed that another guest had the same complaint:

My confirmed rate for four nights was R8,433.50. However, on check in, the hotel charged me R12,468.52! Nearly 50% more than agreed!

To be fair to the hotel, they did put a refund through for the extra R4.035.02 when I produced my confirmation email and challenged them. Had I not done this, I would have been severely overcharged. The problem was blamed on a computer error. As mentioned above, another gentleman was complaining at the desk about the same problem whilst I was being attended to - so I advise everyone to check their charges carefully!

I also note that, despite the refund being put through within minutes of the charge, it has still not hit my account at the time of writing and so I remain out of pocket. I have the confirmation slip for the refund, so hopefully it will not prove necessary to open a dispute with American Express…

Why, then, after such a serious problem would I still award four stars?

Simply because I’m satisfied that this was a mistake (rather than a calculated ripoff) and because the hotel itself is beautiful and comfortable with a perfect location, as mentioned above. It’s the perfect place to stay in an absolutely stunning part of South Africa.

Most of the rooms face out onto a beautiful garden with a small swimming pool, with floor to ceiling windows and privacy curtains. Fresh decor, comfortable bed and smart TV in the room. Well-appointed bathroom with both shower and bath.

Load shedding is a big problem everywhere in South Africa at the moment, but this hotel does have a generator to ensure everything stays powered up for an extra hour at night. Lights and WiFi still work after this.

Breakfast is very good with plenty of cooked and continental options served in the adjacent Hussar Grill (which has a door into the hotel lobby)

Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble.

So, it would have been five stars without the severe overcharging. I hope the refund will hit my account soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Carefully check your confirmation against your bill to avoid overcharging. Try to get a room...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Responded 8 Feb 2023
Dear tifosi678 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is welcomed and we appreciate the positive notes made. We had experienced a systems fault whereby rates updated when rooms were moved, thus overriding the original rates and this caused the cost to inflate. This error was not picked up at the time of your arrival. I am however pleased that the difference had been refunded speedily. The banks sometimes takes time in releasing funds back to clients as refunds are vetted. However should the funds still not reflect in your account please let us know for us to raise this with our bank. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for your support and kind words. We wish to welcome you again soon. Best regards Jennifer and TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
recordable wrote a review Feb 2020
Clitheroe, United Kingdom276 contributions137 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good central position close to many wine farms,restaurants and local shops.We had requested a wheelchair friendly room and it was large and roomy with a walk in shower.The addition of a couple of grab rails and a plastic stool or chair would have made the room perfect for wheelchair users.
Rooms were set on two floors around a patio/garden/pool area which was very pleasant but there was a lack of privacy on the ground floor with people walking past the room’s windows.The room (number 1) had all you might expect and a plus was a very comfortable king-sized bed.
We had a problem with the flushing mechanism on the toilet and it took a couple of attempts to fix it but reception and other staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was the usual buffet and was ok if not the best.
Overall it’s a good place to stay in this fabulous little town.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JRJennyJR, Front Office Supervisor at Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear terry d, Thank you for choosing the Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek as part of your travels. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we appreciate you sharing your insights as Guest feedback is extremely important to us. Please note that your comments have been noted at the highest level. We hope to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back to Franschhoek. Kind regards, Management and TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ezuri wrote a review Jan 2020
Munich, Germany34 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everyone from the hotel was very helpful and accommodating, from the parking attendant to the check in person! The executive housekeeper personally inquired about our wellbeing ....
Also, the restaurant offered a good breakfast.....dinner a must which great steaks offerings!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: A great large room, especially clean...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JRJennyJR, Management Assistant at Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Dear ezuri, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback It was a pleasure to serve you, as a Team we strive to make our Guests experience as pleasant and memorable as possible. Your comments have been shared with the rest of the TEAM as a way to understand how we can continue to deliver great service to our Valuable Guests. We hope to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back to Franschhoek. Kind regards, Management and TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Xavier Nene wrote a review Feb 2023
Gardens, South Africa3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the apartment hotel and it was awesome. It is centrally located to town, restaurants are walking distance away. Amenities are fantastic and the showers are massive and not cramped which is a huge plus….The tram station is walking distance away so you enjoy the wine tram to the full and still make it home safely

Loadshedding does not dampen your stay as you still have lights and wifi….

Wifi is first class….
.
Looking forward to go back there again….
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Responded 3 Apr 2023
Dear Xaviernene Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay and for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your support and generous feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Best regards Jennifer and TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zack C wrote a review Dec 2022
Chicago, Illinois8 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here over the Christmas holidays and had a positive experience. We would definitely return here.

Pros:
—Centrally located in Franschhoek, easy to walk from one end to the other to visit shops and restaurants. Also really easy to get Ubers to visit the wine estates.
—Rooms were spacious and had every amentity we needed
—Pool area was really nice.
—impacted by load shedding but reception clearly communicated when we’d be impacted daily.
—No fitness center but they will give you a complimentary pass to the one a 5 minute walk away

Cons:
—The restaurant attached to the hotel is the Hussar Grill not affiliated with the hotel. Breakfast service was a little slow each morning.
—Since our room was in a building apart from the main one, we had to change the Wifi password in our phones each time we switched buildings.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer Reichgelt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Responded 3 Jan 2023
Dear ZackC194 Thank you for taking the time to share you experience had with us. Your feedback received is greatly appreciated and teachable moments are derived from this. We thank you for your support and wish you well for the New Year! We look forwarding to welcoming you back. Best regards Jennifer and TEAM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah Geneux asked a question Mar 2024
Virginia Beach, Virginia23 contributions10 helpful votes
When will I be able to book your hotel over Christmas?
Sheila S asked a question Nov 2019
San Francisco, California199 contributions41 helpful votes
Hello. I am a titanium member and will be using points to stay. Will breakfast be included?
Answer from JRJennyJR
Cape Town Central, South Africa26 contributions6 helpful votes
Dear Sheila, As a Titanium Elite member your are entitled to our continental breakfast when you book using points. Kind regards, Shané
Mackenzie K asked a question Nov 2019
Chicago, Illinois85 contributions16 helpful votes
Hello! Are there any spas near the hotel, or does the hotel recommend any spa facilities? Thanks!
Answer from JRJennyJR
Cape Town Central, South Africa26 contributions6 helpful votes
Dear Kenzerbenzer, We have got quite a few spas in Franschhoek, 2 of which are just a few minutes walk away from us. And our Guests often make us of a mobile spa that comes to the Hotel which i would definitely recommend as all our Guests are quite happy with them. i hope this has helped. Kind regards, Shané
recordable asked a question Nov 2019
Clitheroe, United Kingdom276 contributions137 helpful votes
Hi can you tell me how suitable your hotel is for wheelchair access?
Answer from Sandra K
Edinburgh, United Kingdom22 contributions23 helpful votes
They have ground floor rooms and the Restaurant & Reception are both Ground Floor however I would check with the Hotel direct to see if they have accessible rooms
Answer from N123567
Cape Town Central, South Africa92 contributions15 helpful votes
Hi There are a few you can walk to - but each will take you 15 minutes or more. Rickety bridge is close, so too is Branson's farm. I suggest you look at a map and decide (I dont have one at present)
Michelle M wrote a tip Mar 2024
9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Washing machine in apartments which are fully equipped"
Read full review
Hedley Prynn wrote a tip Mar 2024
Zurich, Switzerland19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious, modern and comfortable. They have modern power outlets everywhere. The bathrooms are modern"
Read full review
FredeFromTheBlock wrote a tip Feb 2024
Cape Town Central, South Africa21 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The apartments are fully equipped with washing machines, fridge/freezers, oven, hob, kettle, microwave, everything you need to self cater"
Read full review
DollyMalolly wrote a tip Dec 2023
Wilderness, South Africa196 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms overlook the pool so its a win/win... Appreciate the staff - they are AMAZING... :)"
Read full review
CW69 wrote a tip Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom225 contributions89 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The location is excellent"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Franschhoek area.
PRICE RANGE
₹11,196 - ₹11,697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeFranschhoek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Which popular attractions are close to Protea Hotel Franschhoek?
Nearby attractions include Franschhoek Pass (0.4 km), Terbodore Coffee Roasters - Franschhoek (0.2 km), and Huguenot Fine Chocolates (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Protea Hotel Franschhoek?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Protea Hotel Franschhoek?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Protea Hotel Franschhoek?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Protea Hotel Franschhoek?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Protea Hotel Franschhoek?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hussar Grill Franschhoek, Le Bon Vivant Restaurant, and French Connection Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Protea Hotel Franschhoek?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Protea Hotel Franschhoek have airport transportation?
Yes, Protea Hotel Franschhoek offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Protea Hotel Franschhoek located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 km away from the centre of Franschhoek.
Are any cleaning services offered at Protea Hotel Franschhoek?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Protea Hotel Franschhoek offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
All Franschhoek HotelsFranschhoek Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FranschhoekHotels near Protea Hotel Franschhoek
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire